ignition timing hot or cold ? - GT-R Register - Official Nissan Skyline and GTR Owners Club forum

Go Back   GT-R Register - Official Nissan Skyline and GTR Owners Club forum > General > Nissan Skyline > Tuning: General
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Notices


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 7th July 2009, 12:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
jaycabs is skint for a long time :-#(
New Users
 
jaycabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: in a cage !!
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 2,550
Send a message via Yahoo to jaycabs
ignition timing hot or cold ?

could some one please remind me for the setting of the ignition timing as recently i had taken the cam pulley cover off to paint it so have knocked the ignition timing out a small amount .

i thought i read some were a while ago that it was set at 20 deg when warmed up ? is that right or wrong ?

just that i know as the car goes through its warm up process from cold the ignition timing does change .


i have tried a search but not revealed any thing about temperature within the first 6 pages of the search.

cheers any one
__________________
jaycabs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 7th July 2009, 02:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
pupsi is RIPs BUILT TWEENIEROB INSTALLED AND MAPPED.
New Users
 
pupsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: West London
Cars owned: GTR R33.
Posts: 3,350
Your spot on.
__________________
pupsi is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 7th July 2009, 03:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
frostmotorsport is working for a living... how boring!
GTR Register User
 
frostmotorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wellington, NZ
Cars owned: '97 R33 GT-R, Evo 1 RS rally car, 3 Mk. II Escorts and many more!
Posts: 1,144
yup - always when up to operating temp. Also, the loop wire is notoriously unreliable - my turner has a custom ignition lead that goes between the #1 coil and the #1 plug - so he can plug the timing light onto this HT lead and get a true reading. I must get around to making myself one!
__________________
frostmotorsport is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 8th July 2009, 11:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
jaycabs is skint for a long time :-#(
New Users
 
jaycabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: in a cage !!
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 2,550
Send a message via Yahoo to jaycabs
cheers pupsi and frostmotorsport
__________________
jaycabs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 8th July 2009, 11:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
jaycabs is skint for a long time :-#(
New Users
 
jaycabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: in a cage !!
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 2,550
Send a message via Yahoo to jaycabs
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostmotorsport View Post
yup - always when up to operating temp. Also, the loop wire is notoriously unreliable - my turner has a custom ignition lead that goes between the #1 coil and the #1 plug - so he can plug the timing light onto this HT lead and get a true reading. I must get around to making myself one!
the timing shows on the hand controller with the power fc so dont need to muck around with the timing gun
__________________
jaycabs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 9th July 2009, 01:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
frostmotorsport is working for a living... how boring!
GTR Register User
 
frostmotorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wellington, NZ
Cars owned: '97 R33 GT-R, Evo 1 RS rally car, 3 Mk. II Escorts and many more!
Posts: 1,144
so.... firstly I meant tuner not turner - doh!

Also, I still assume you need to set the base timing - i.e. position the CAS, which would require a timing light - as the PFC only know's what you've told it.
__________________
frostmotorsport is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10th July 2009, 12:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
jaycabs is skint for a long time :-#(
New Users
 
jaycabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: in a cage !!
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 2,550
Send a message via Yahoo to jaycabs
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostmotorsport View Post
so.... firstly I meant tuner not turner - doh!

Also, I still assume you need to set the base timing - i.e. position the CAS, which would require a timing light - as the PFC only know's what you've told it.
even though when i took the cas off , the engine hadnt been moved at all and also just before i removed the cas i marked as close as possible the position of the cas for when i put it back on again .

it should only be marginally out , shouldnt it ?

it only looks like its a few degrees advanced more than before from a general look shortly after start up of the engine .
__________________
jaycabs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10th July 2009, 02:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
frostmotorsport is working for a living... how boring!
GTR Register User
 
frostmotorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wellington, NZ
Cars owned: '97 R33 GT-R, Evo 1 RS rally car, 3 Mk. II Escorts and many more!
Posts: 1,144
a visual is ok to start the engine, but GTR's are a bit "sensitive" to timing, and if your engine is tuned for more boost/power then I'd definately check base timing with a light. I'd be worried that while those 2 degrees may not do any harm a low revs/off boost, at WOT and full boost and extra 2 degrees could be the difference between having some fun and detting your engine to death!
__________________
frostmotorsport is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11th July 2009, 09:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
jaycabs is skint for a long time :-#(
New Users
 
jaycabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: in a cage !!
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 2,550
Send a message via Yahoo to jaycabs
Quote:
Originally Posted by frostmotorsport View Post
a visual is ok to start the engine, but GTR's are a bit "sensitive" to timing, and if your engine is tuned for more boost/power then I'd definately check base timing with a light. I'd be worried that while those 2 degrees may not do any harm a low revs/off boost, at WOT and full boost and extra 2 degrees could be the difference between having some fun and detting your engine to death!
the GTR is only being run on the drive at the moment and wont be on the road till after some more work carried out at RK TUNING including a new remap etc so that wont be a problem at the moment .

wanted to know though would taking the breather system of the rocker covers and going to a new catch tank venting to atmosphere plus removing the aircon system and going to a 120mm thick intercooler from a standard size one , alter the tickover ?

just since ive done all that and removed and put back the cas , no matter how much i try to set the ignition timing to 20 degrees the engine's tickover just wont balance as its a little up and down
__________________
jaycabs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 19th July 2010, 02:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
jaycabs is skint for a long time :-#(
New Users
 
jaycabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: in a cage !!
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 2,550
Send a message via Yahoo to jaycabs
tried putting a timing gun on it today and o know i got it some were near the 20 deg but with the revs fluctuating its to hard to say what actual figure .

also tried using a ht lead to get the reading but strangely i couldnt get any reading using my draper timing gun


i did read about the loop at the back of the engine as a pick up but also read that its quite unreliable so on the wiring going to coil pack no'1 i pulled back some of the outer black protective coating and were there is the 1 white thick wire and 2 thinner black wires ,i put the inductive pickup on the white wire as that gave the same reading as the 2 black wires together but not all 3 wires together would give a reading.



was hoping it would smooth things out a little but all the changes i made obvioulsy was too much , well just have to wait to the next time it goes to RK , ages and ages and ages lol
__________________
jaycabs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 19th July 2010, 10:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
jaycabs is skint for a long time :-#(
New Users
 
jaycabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: in a cage !!
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 2,550
Send a message via Yahoo to jaycabs
curious question , on the search i found mixed info about the timing marks on the crank pulley

on my pulley there are 7 marks and on one post some showed the timing had to be set on around the first 2 marks from the left but on other post ive read the 5th mark from the left

could some one clear that up for me please ?

isnt it the 5th from the left being 20 deg as its 0 - 5 - 10 - 15 - 20 - 25 - 30
__________________

Last edited by jaycabs; 19th July 2010 at 10:57 PM..
jaycabs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 20th July 2010, 02:45 AM   #12 (permalink)
pupsi is RIPs BUILT TWEENIEROB INSTALLED AND MAPPED.
New Users
 
pupsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: West London
Cars owned: GTR R33.
Posts: 3,350
Hi,
yes your absolutely correct. Starting from the 1st mark, 0, it then goes up in increments of 5, so yes the 5th mark would be 20 degrees. Your spot on.
Pupsi.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jaycabs View Post
curious question , on the search i found mixed info about the timing marks on the crank pulley

on my pulley there are 7 marks and on one post some showed the timing had to be set on around the first 2 marks from the left but on other post ive read the 5th mark from the left

could some one clear that up for me please ?

isnt it the 5th from the left being 20 deg as its 0 - 5 - 10 - 15 - 20 - 25 - 30
__________________
pupsi is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 20th July 2010, 11:51 AM   #13 (permalink)
jaycabs is skint for a long time :-#(
New Users
 
jaycabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: in a cage !!
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 2,550
Send a message via Yahoo to jaycabs
cheers pupsi , much appreciated
__________________
jaycabs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 20th July 2010, 08:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
freakazoid3 is on the lookout...
GTROC Member
 
freakazoid3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belgium
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 4,424
Maybe the fluctuation on idle is down to an airleak...
Just a thought
__________________
freakazoid3 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 20th July 2010, 11:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
jaycabs is skint for a long time :-#(
New Users
 
jaycabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: in a cage !!
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 2,550
Send a message via Yahoo to jaycabs
Quote:
Originally Posted by freakazoid3 View Post
Maybe the fluctuation on idle is down to an airleak...
Just a thought
i have been thinking about that as im a little uncomfortable with the 1 gasket under the twin turbo pipe and rear pipe gasket , are those the ones called "TURBO ELBOW - DOWNPIPE GASKET" ???

these
SKYLINE GTR R32 R33 R34 TURBO ELBOW - DOWNPIPE GASKET on eBay (end time 27-Jul-10 20:05:49 BST) ?

been a while since ive taken the top pipes off


wouldnt removing the aicon and having the twin turbo pipe with baffle and the larger intercooler plus putting the oil breather on to atmosphere from both rocker covers cause that bad idle ???

especially the oil breather as that changes the air going in to the engine ( more clean ) and would have thought changes air pressures going in too as the left inlet back to the engine from the left rocker ive blocked off and the right one that normally goes back into the rubber piping thats joined to the rear turbo ive blocked off too .

?????

weird thing is if you put it in 1st gear as the cars off the floor when the engine is running as the wheels are turning it hold the rpm fine on its own basically idles ok in gear
__________________

Last edited by jaycabs; 20th July 2010 at 11:47 PM..
jaycabs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the GT-R Register - Official Nissan Skyline and GTR Owners Club forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums