A/V problems...? - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GTR Owners Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GTR Owners Club forum > General > Nissan GT-R > Technical Chat
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 1st September 2010, 02:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
guycuthbert is animating data :)
GTROC Member
 
guycuthbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cambs
Cars owned: R35 GTR Premium Gun Metallic
Posts: 485
A/V problems...?

I've had a few strange electrical gremlins over the past few weeks - mostly relating to the A/V system, but with a few alarm incidents thrown in too. The issues are intermittent and include:
  • CD & MusicBox not recognised (Disc button does nothing & Source button on steering wheel skips CD/MB)
  • Steering wheel volume controls stop working
  • Steering wheel phone answer/drop button stops working
  • Alarm fires, even with car in garage
None of this affects the performance or grin-factor of driving the car, but I want to get it sorted out under warranty... so I sent it off to Marshalls (where I bought the car) to get it looked at... that's a whole other story, for another post on another day...

They have just called (again, I will resist commenting on the style and content of the call, for now) to say that they can't read the ECU... and are blaming it on a phone cradle I had installed a couple of months back. They also asked about the Cobb AP - the suggestion being that its use may have had some adverse affect. I fully expected the Cobb comment, and am now getting the wiring on the phone cradle checked...

... has anyone experienced any electrical issues after a Cobb remap? Does any of the above ring any bells? Just keen to know if I'm the only one (which suggests a faulty A/V unit, or a badly wired phone cradle) or whether others have experienced similar?

Thanks
__________________
guycuthbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 02:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chris956 is 420bhp RWD is interesting in the rain :-0
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Chris956's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Cars owned: From GTR To GT3 & Cayman R
Posts: 1,684
Do you still have the cobb map on the car or have you reverted it back to standard ?
__________________
Chris956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 04:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Elliott_GTR is driving a lot slower...
GTROC Member
 
Elliott_GTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 434
Marshalls tried to blame Cobb when they couldn't communicate with my gearbox at the time of optimisation. I didn't have ANY mods at that time.

Anyhow, turned out they didn't have the Consult 3 update for the 2010 EDM cars!!! (Mine was the first one they had AFAIK)

Cobb has sweet FA to do with the AV unit....

Last time I was at Marshall's I thought things were getting better with Gurbinder there... is he still there? Who did you deal with?
__________________

GTC Titan Race Zorst | GTC Titan Race Y-pipe | GTC Downpipes | GTC 80mm Intakes | GTC Tranny Cooler | ID 1000cc Injectors | GTC Custom Tune | GTC 4-Light Kit | Valet Magic wrap
Elliott_GTR is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 1st September 2010, 05:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
thistle is aware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
thistle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Cars owned: GTR, D4 S8, MkV GTI, E46 325ti, E46 M3
Posts: 1,210
The newest Consult III update did have trouble connecting to a car that actually had an AP INSTALLED (but not if uninstalled), but that has been resolved and will be corrected as part of a forthcoming mega update.

The vast majority of connection problems are related to Consult III updates, missing fuses (part of the PDI apparently) or user error though.

Phone cradle shouldn't have anything to do with the CAN BUS and connecting though. If a nav car, I'm not sure, but my phone cradle using the charles charlie method is just into the back of the 12V socket and antenna input to the radio.
__________________

Last edited by thistle; 1st September 2010 at 05:39 PM..
thistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 06:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chris956 is 420bhp RWD is interesting in the rain :-0
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Chris956's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Cars owned: From GTR To GT3 & Cayman R
Posts: 1,684
Thistle - in the "mega update " you mention , have I read it right that even if you have a custom cobb map installed , the consult III will still be able to talk to the ECU and update as normal thus making the business of putting the car back to standard for dealer servicing obsolete ????
__________________
Chris956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 06:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
thistle is aware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
thistle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Cars owned: GTR, D4 S8, MkV GTI, E46 325ti, E46 M3
Posts: 1,210
Yes.
__________________
thistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 06:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chris956 is 420bhp RWD is interesting in the rain :-0
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Chris956's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Cars owned: From GTR To GT3 & Cayman R
Posts: 1,684
short and sweet . . . . . . sweet

__________________
Chris956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 06:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
professor matt is unleashing Godzilla
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
professor matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Cars owned: R35 GTR BLACK EDITION R34 GTR V-SPEC/TURBOCHARGED 5 & 3 SERIES BMW
Posts: 1,603
I had a problem with mine
MFD failure to boot
__________________
professor matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 07:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
guycuthbert is animating data :)
GTROC Member
 
guycuthbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cambs
Cars owned: R35 GTR Premium Gun Metallic
Posts: 485
Thanks guys

@Chris956
I didn't revert the car back to 'normal' before Marshalls took it in. If the Consult III won't talk to the car with the Cobb AP installed then it sounds like the problem is of my own making... I didn't realise that it *had* to be rest before they can read it I know it's advised - but I thought that was for warranty protection rather than technical reasons).

I'm picking the car up tomorrow morning - tempted now to reset the Cobb as soon as I get it and get them to reconnect, but they were insistent that I had to get the phone cradle uninstalled (or at least 'unwired') before they would attempt to read the ECU again. I will check with them tomorrow when I pick it up - perhaps I can charm them into checking it while I'm there?!

@Elliot_GTR
I haven't dealt with Gurbinder (at least, not knowingly) - my initial contact was with Caroline on the service desk, and then I didn't get the name of the guy who called me back (noisy line), but he was referring to "Colin" as the GTR tech who had advised that the problem would be due to the phone. Ironically, the guy who called me proceeded to lecture me on using the Cobb AP, suggesting (almost insisting) that it would do damage whenever it was used. I thanked him for his advice.

@Thistle
Thanks - so the "must reset" advice relates only to the newest Consult III update? That's interesting and well worth knowing.

@professor matt
Thanks for the link - the self-diagnosis info is very useful - I will ask Marshalls if they tried that... presumably HPCs know about it?! having read the info I realised that I had used the "40 clicks" method to access settings when I first got the car, including renaming its Bluetooth name Will definitely try the diagnosis once I have the car back tomorrow.

Thanks everyone for the comments - very helpful
__________________
guycuthbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 07:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
thistle is aware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
thistle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: UK
Cars owned: GTR, D4 S8, MkV GTI, E46 325ti, E46 M3
Posts: 1,210
Originally the Consult III would talk to an AP car no problem, but then the Consult III got updated and the comms with an AP car broke, but will be fixed with forthcoming updates, unless Nissan change it again.
__________________
thistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2010, 08:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
guycuthbert is animating data :)
GTROC Member
 
guycuthbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cambs
Cars owned: R35 GTR Premium Gun Metallic
Posts: 485
Thanks Thistle - useful info
__________________
guycuthbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2010, 06:03 AM   #12 (permalink)
guycuthbert is animating data :)
GTROC Member
 
guycuthbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cambs
Cars owned: R35 GTR Premium Gun Metallic
Posts: 485
Thistle

Can I just check what I need to do with my Cobb in order to let the Consult III talk to the car correctly? You talk about an "uninstall" of the Cobb - is this just a question of restoring the original map, or something more fundamental? I can't remember seeing an uninstall option on the Cobb menu, but I'm sure there is something there if I explore fully...?

Thanks

EDIT: Just read the manual(!) and can see the full uninstall option
__________________

Last edited by guycuthbert; 2nd September 2010 at 06:08 AM..
guycuthbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2010, 06:24 AM   #13 (permalink)
Elliott_GTR is driving a lot slower...
GTROC Member
 
Elliott_GTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 434
You should come on the meet this weekend, so we can share HPC experiences....

EA Meet
__________________

GTC Titan Race Zorst | GTC Titan Race Y-pipe | GTC Downpipes | GTC 80mm Intakes | GTC Tranny Cooler | ID 1000cc Injectors | GTC Custom Tune | GTC 4-Light Kit | Valet Magic wrap
Elliott_GTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2010, 06:55 AM   #14 (permalink)
guycuthbert is animating data :)
GTROC Member
 
guycuthbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cambs
Cars owned: R35 GTR Premium Gun Metallic
Posts: 485
Elliot

Damn - should have noticed that before now... shame I'm tied up on Saturday. Would be VERY keen to swap notes on HPCs... have you got a future meet planned?
__________________
guycuthbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2010, 09:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
guycuthbert is animating data :)
GTROC Member
 
guycuthbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cambs
Cars owned: R35 GTR Premium Gun Metallic
Posts: 485
Update - car back from Marshalls today.

Downsides:
  • They washed the car, even though I had written in large letters "PLEASE DO NOT WASH THE EXTERIOR"
  • The 'handover' of my keys was from a distinctly surly service guy - more or less tossed them to me and walked off
Upsides:
  • Despite them not being able to "access the ECU" (their phrase, via phone yesterday), the gremlins haven't reappeared yet... I'm not holding my breath, but hey - who knows?!
  • They had cleaned the car very well - looks great, and no additional swirls... credit where it's due
I ran all the A/V diagnostics - as per the thread recommended by professor matt - and no errors are reported anywhere, at present. The error history (an option from the A/V diagnostics menu) reports 2 previous errors - DSP failing to connect to AMP, apparently - but none at present. I will keep an eye on these and check again if/when problems reappear.

I will be getting the car checked over on another Consult III (having uninstalled the Cobb AP) to see whether there are any lingering issues... and checking the phone wiring too, to be safe... and will head back to Marshalls with my findings if problems reappear, armed with evidence of the phone charger being safe!
__________________
guycuthbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd September 2010, 12:15 AM   #16 (permalink)
professor matt is unleashing Godzilla
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
professor matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Cars owned: R35 GTR BLACK EDITION R34 GTR V-SPEC/TURBOCHARGED 5 & 3 SERIES BMW
Posts: 1,603
Keep us updated how you get on
__________________
professor matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2010, 04:11 PM   #17 (permalink)
guycuthbert is animating data :)
GTROC Member
 
guycuthbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cambs
Cars owned: R35 GTR Premium Gun Metallic
Posts: 485
Not good news...

Alarm went off again in the night on Sunday night (went through the now familiar unlock/lock procedure from bedroom window). On starting the car yesterday morning, and ever since, I have no audio at all i.e.
  • Volume / on-off control does nothing
  • Source buttons do nothing
  • Steering wheel controls for audio (volume, source) and phone (call/end) do nothing
  • Phone still connects via Bluetooth but no sound via speakers
I have run the diagnostics listed in the A/V thread mentioned earlier in this thread, and a host of A/V errors are reported... I will post pics of the various screens later.

I'm off now to uninstall the Cobb AP, in preparation for servicing and full A/V diagnostics (via Consult III) at Litchfield on Thursday... wish me luck!
__________________
guycuthbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2010, 07:51 PM   #18 (permalink)
guycuthbert is animating data :)
GTROC Member
 
guycuthbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cambs
Cars owned: R35 GTR Premium Gun Metallic
Posts: 485
OK, here goes... my picture-posting skills are rather rusty, so this may take a couple of attempts (and apologies for the phone-cam quality, but they work - just!)...

1. Firstly, whilst I can't get any reaction from the audio system at all, the buttons (well, at least one of them) do work - because I can do invoke the self-diagnosis system... which requires:
  1. Switch audio off (easy for me!)
  2. Hold Settings button down
  3. Turn Volume control 40+ clicks clockwise
2. From this screen I run the "Self Daignosis" option, and get:


3. I then select the "Control Unit" box, which gives me:


4. I then backtrack to the more detailed diagnostics functions, as the image above suggests, and choose the "List error codes" option:


I'm not sure how readable that is, so just in case... the errors listed are:
  • DSP Connection Error 44
  • DSP Communication Error 40
  • AV COMM CIRCUIT 0
  • Internal Communication Error 0

5. I then go to the dedicated "AV COMM diagnostics" option and run that:


I think that's just about readable? Various checks come up as "Status = UNKWN" and "Count = 0"

6. I have also tried doing a Speaker Test... but nothing happens here at all.

Finally, before I uninstalled the Cobb AP, I ran its error code checker, and got:


Again, in case that's unreadable, there are four error codes under the "MultiAV" heading:
  • U1300
  • U121d
  • U121e
  • U121f

The Cobb AP is now uninstalled, and the car scheduled for a thorough inspection (including the phone charger install, blamed for the problems by my HPC) at Litchfield on Thursday... I will post again after.
__________________
guycuthbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2010, 07:33 PM   #19 (permalink)
Hazardous is unaware they can edit their status
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
Hazardous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brighton, UK
Cars owned: Zerosports Legacy GTB, WRX
Posts: 218
I've not been reading the forum recently, so thought I'd check in to see if there was any news. Sorry to hear about your problems Guy. In case, you didnt already work it out, the trouble codes show the following in the esm:
U1300 and U121F together indicate "Malfunction is detected in AV control unit power supply and ground circuits" and the possible causes and action to take is "AV control unit power supply and ground circuits".
U121D and U121E indicates "Internal malfunction of AV control unit (DSP connection error) is detected". The possible causes and action to take is "An intermittent error may be detected if the music box function operates normally. Replace the AV control unit if the malfunction constantly occurs".
I would ask for the supply and ground circuits to be checked first - perhaps there is just a loose connection?
__________________
Hazardous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 05:29 PM   #20 (permalink)
guycuthbert is animating data :)
GTROC Member
 
guycuthbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cambs
Cars owned: R35 GTR Premium Gun Metallic
Posts: 485
Hazardous

That's REALLY useful - many thanks. Would be great if it really is just a loose connection!! Can I ask how you know this... looks like you have access to some kind of diagnostic tool?!
__________________
guycuthbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a/v fault, cobb ap, ecu, warranty, wiring

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.