ETS-Pro Center Diff Torque Split Controller for R32 R33 R34 Skyline GT-R - Page 2 - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GTR Owners Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GTR Owners Club forum > For Sale & Wanted > Trade: For Sale
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Like Tree9Likes

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd May 2012, 07:03 PM   #21 (permalink)
gtr-loz is cold
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
gtr-loz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Benfleet, Essex
Posts: 1,150
I have placed an order but havnt sent the money yet as I'm waiting for an answer to my questions
__________________
gtr-loz is offline  
Old 3rd May 2012, 07:21 PM   #22 (permalink)
Steveline is [Too Long]
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
Steveline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Cars owned: R34 GTR V-SPEC UK --- BMW 740i M-sport
Posts: 688
Theres some really good questions here, and lots of confusion, but no clarity!! Can we please have some answers?

Like dose this replace the old parts, G-sensor, ECU, etc.?

Does this work with the V-Spec cars, especially the later 34s with the display etc.?

Come with instructions?

Works in the Rain?

Compatible with Skylab, or replaces it?

Come on, do you want to sell this, or not??!!
__________________
Build thread:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Steveline is offline  
Old 3rd May 2012, 08:17 PM   #23 (permalink)
wildboy is looking for more horses
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
wildboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lowestoft
Cars owned: R32GTR
Posts: 1,063
I know the answers to some of these questions, but I have actually read the threads about this.

It replaces the old g-sensor and Attessa ecu.

Full instructions will be provided.

Will work in the rain?

Works with vspec cars.

Manual mode seems very similar to Skylab, don't see much point in having both.

If you read through the info and links provided most questions are answered.
Surely a good idea to find out what something does before you shell out your hard earned on it?
__________________
wildboy is offline  
 
Old 3rd May 2012, 10:46 PM   #24 (permalink)
brett is in the left lane.
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: US
Posts: 98
Hey Gents...

Our apologies that Geoff has not responded to these questions, he must have lost internet on his honeymoon. Jon has been fielding what he can up to now. Geoff will be back in civilization next week, BUT I can answer a few of these questions. It DOES replace the stock sensor and computer, and it DOES NOT work with the MFD in the R34. (it may be able to be reverse engineered to send the correct information to the display, but not something Full Race has any experience with) It works rain or shine, but the purpose behind the unit is to have more control, and a more responsive ATTESA. It does come with instructions, and they will be posted online as soon as Geoff returns. (he's been busy with a wedding wedged in between to race events, and this has been his project)

I wish I had more info, but we expected to have information before Geoff departed, and it seems to be residing on his laptop. We'll update you as soon as possible.

-Brett
__________________
brett is offline  
Old 3rd May 2012, 11:11 PM   #25 (permalink)
Rain is asleep
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,071
Awesome, be sure to let us know if it will work on the 32 cluster
__________________
Rain is offline  
Old 3rd May 2012, 11:51 PM   #26 (permalink)
ash911gtr is fixing the flux capacitor
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
ash911gtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 28
Losing the g sensor reading is a bit of a downer, can this
not be sorted somehow? front wheel torque should
work correctly though right?
__________________
ash911gtr is offline  
Old 4th May 2012, 12:09 AM   #27 (permalink)
brett is in the left lane.
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
brett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: US
Posts: 98
The ATTESA should work as intended, just faster and user programmable.

You can probably leave the G sensor reading to the screen intact from the OEM sensor, just not running to the ATTESA. I haven't verified that it needs to run through the MFD first. Someone may know that better than we do.

We intended for this to replace the current ECU's on most track cars for faster response and more control over the system to suit your driving style, as well as those that have built R14's (240/GTR drivetrain) It worked beautifully at our last track even on our R14.
__________________
brett is offline  
Old 4th May 2012, 07:20 AM   #28 (permalink)
worpdrive is now in a R34GTR
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
worpdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: sunderland
Cars owned: R32 GTR - R324 GTR - R32 GTR - R35 GTR - R34 GTR saved the best for last
Posts: 722
Thanks for the update brett, and congrates to Geoff

Keep me posted on the MFD i will be buying but as ash say's its a bit of a downer having to loose the MFD display g and torque.
__________________
R32 GTR - R324 GTR - R32 GTR - R35 GTR - R34 GTR - Now back in a Litchfield tuned R35
worpdrive is offline  
Old 4th May 2012, 02:51 PM   #29 (permalink)
ash911gtr is fixing the flux capacitor
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
ash911gtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 28
Yeah, after paying £630 odd to get the G meter reading in the first place I
don't really want to lose it lol.
__________________
ash911gtr is offline  
Old 4th May 2012, 03:35 PM   #30 (permalink)
Full-Race Geoff is twinscroll'd
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: arizona
Cars owned: R14
Posts: 312
Hi everyone - apologies for the delayed answers. I am in barbados right now on my honeymoon (just got married!!). Its raining like mad this morning so i wanted to pop in here and update the thread with some answers. So far Jon and Brett have tried to answer questions but this is really my pet project and I'm intimately familiar with the unit after using it extensively on my personal car. FYI this is a 6 year long project for me, and the culmination of these efforts is the ETS-PRO

First of all - the ETS-PRO is a full standalone center diff controller that completely replaces the stock ATESSA ecu and G-sensor, similar to the motec CDC but at far less cost and more user-friendly. You can leave the stock attessa ecu and sensor in place if you wish (doing nothing). In any RB26 application making some real power, this unit literally transforms the AWD system. There is no piggyback or mod you can do to the stock system that I am aware of which has this level of performance and adjustability, the ETS-PRO flat out works - especially noticeable if you have a track car and seat time, we have seen improvements from 2-4 seconds per lap compared to the older stock based atessa

Quote:
Originally Posted by tarmac terror View Post
Sorry for being thick but this utilises the standard G-sensor does it not?? TT
the ETS-Pro does not utilize the standard nissan G-sensor module for its functions.
Instead it uses it's own included G-sensor module with high resolution and high accuracy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildboy View Post
I think it replaces the standard g-sensor, there was a post on the main thread about removing the standard one
correct - When designing this unit, the decision was made to replace both the G-sensor and atessa ECU in their entirety because the stock sensor is very expensive and fragile with poor resolution and the stock atessa ecu causes the pump and transfer case to have slow response. There is no reason to work with these antiquated designs IMO, starting from scratch made far more sense.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Kindness View Post
in Auto its a much quicker RWD to 50/50 based on the G Sensor inputs and TPS to 'up' the gain when powering out of a corner?
CORRECT. Auto mode is where the ETS-PRO shines. Auto mode uses the gain knob and inputs from the g-sensor and TPS input working off the preset map to determine optimal torque split at the transfer case. Of course you can tune this map via USB, and we will offer free map updates in the future if needed, but thus far I am extremely happy with the performance and based on the track experience weve gathered have no desire to change it at this time.

Manual mode is a "fixed torque split". Meaning you turn the knob and it goes from fixed 0/100 (knob all the way down = RWD), turn it up a bit more and youre at 20/80, or turn it all the way UP and you can lock it at 50/50. There is no input from the G-sensor here, and it really only makes sense for dirt/off-road use or ice/snow racing. I have no reason to use manual mode in my car, i much prefer the Auto mode, and that is the biggest benefit of the ETS-Pro in my experience. Of course Henrik in Norway contacted me recently as he ice races his r32 GTR and would likely prefer the manual mode. Racing in the rain may also benefit from manual mode, but i prefer to use the high gain setting in auto mode currently

Also if you raise the ebrake up 1 click (so it is not engaging anything except the ebrake light) this has the same effect as 0psi in the transfer case. You can do burnouts, drift, use a 2wd dyno, etc. I personally run the ebrake cutout on a manual switch, but that is just my preference to wire it that way. I go into detail on the instructions for both options

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rain View Post
Plus, you can re-map it to act how you like Also in Auto mode (if its like his Subie based units) to can tune the amount of lock you like via the gain knob, this way it will only go so far with locking the center diff.
100% correct sir!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rain View Post
Geoff, Im interested, Always liked the DCCDPro so would be fun to try this out. Ill be flying next week and would like to place an order with you im gonna PM you my deets Willing to take 2 off your hands at that price. Check your PM Inbox.
thanks Rain - will respond to your PM shortly!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Austrian GTR View Post
Perhaps I have missed that but does this kit also replace the ATTESSA ECU???
yes leo - the kit negates the need for the stock Nissan atessa ECU. you are welcome to keep the stock parts in the car if you are concerned but they will be doing nothing afaik (it may be possible to use the stock atessa ecu for gauge output, but i do not know)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtr-loz View Post
I will have one I it replaces ecu and g sensor email sending now
thanks - shoot an email to jon@full-race.com as I am away for 1 more week

Quote:
Originally Posted by worpdrive View Post
Question for you Geoff, does the G-Sensor work correctly with an R34GTR V-Spec Nismo MFD for g-graph and also the front wheel torque display?
No, this unit is not designed to have an output to the MFD. this was my decision early on in order to keep costs low and kep cross compatibility across all the different generations of skyline - adding an MFD output will increase the cost of this system considerably and will not in anyway improve performance. You can easily connect to the unit via usb to access the map and see where you were operating, however its incredibly simple to keep the unit in AUTO mode and just turn the knob to set "gain" on the map.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ash911gtr View Post
Yh, instructions seem to be for Scooby connections
skyline specific instructions are on my laptop, ive got to make a few more edits and will have them online shortly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveline View Post
Does this work with the V-Spec cars, especially the later 34s with the display etc.? Come with instructions? Works in the Rain? Compatible with Skylab, or replaces it?
this unit will work to control all year skyline GT-R Atessa Pump. It is a huge improvement in the rain, sleet, ice and snow as it is in the dry on a prepped race track. It does not output to the stock display. Instructions will be posted online shortly. Sorry, I do not know what is skylab?

Quote:
Originally Posted by brett View Post
It DOES replace the stock sensor and computer, and it DOES NOT work with the MFD in the R34. (it may be able to be reverse engineered to send the correct information to the display, but not something Full Race has any experience with) It works rain or shine, but the purpose behind the unit is to have more control, and a more responsive ATTESA. It does come with instructions, and they will be posted online as soon as Geoff returns. (he's been busy with a wedding wedged in between to race events, and this has been his project)
Quote:
Originally Posted by brett View Post
The ATTESA should work as intended, just faster and user programmable.

You can probably leave the G sensor reading to the screen intact from the OEM sensor, just not running to the ATTESA. I haven't verified that it needs to run through the MFD first. Someone may know that better than we do.

We intended for this to replace the current ECU's on most track cars for faster response and more control over the system to suit your driving style, as well as those that have built R14's (240/GTR drivetrain) It worked beautifully at our last track event on our R14.

thanks brett, ill post up some videos of the car on the track, it never entered turns or rotated nearly as well previously... this ETS-Pro truly transformed the car. The unit works so incredibly well for me, the only thing i want to do now is experiment with the transmission/transfer case
__________________

Last edited by Full-Race Geoff; 4th May 2012 at 04:24 PM..
Full-Race Geoff is offline  
Old 4th May 2012, 04:24 PM   #31 (permalink)
Rain is asleep
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,071
Thanks for chiming in on your time off!

There are better things to be doing in Barbados on a rainy day on your honeymoon that doesn't involve coming on here ...LOL

Congrats.
__________________
Rain is offline  
Old 4th May 2012, 04:33 PM   #32 (permalink)
ash911gtr is fixing the flux capacitor
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
ash911gtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 28
Damn, any chance this can be modded to output to the mfd at an added cost?
__________________
ash911gtr is offline  
Old 4th May 2012, 06:32 PM   #33 (permalink)
Vihis is a BNR32 owner.
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
Vihis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 933
Hi Geoff.

Just two questions:

Does your unit somehow get rid of the hydraulic preload on the R33 and R34 atessa systems ?

I'd debate the use of a 2WD dyno without removal of the front propshaft when in a R33/R34 because of the mechanical preload in the transfer case. (Tyndago tested it and even with the ATESSA having no fluids in it, the front wheels were turning when the car was up in the air).

Can't wait to get my hands on your controller for my R32, amped that it's finally out.

Have a great honeymoon.

/ville
__________________
Vihis is offline  
Old 4th May 2012, 06:58 PM   #34 (permalink)
gtr-loz is cold
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
gtr-loz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Benfleet, Essex
Posts: 1,150
So by going with your answers I would guess there would be no way to get this to work with the standard torque gauge in a r33 or r32 it's just I've moved the gauge into the instrument cluster which took alot of work and it seems a shame to now have it not working
__________________
gtr-loz is offline  
Old 4th May 2012, 09:59 PM   #35 (permalink)
Full-Race Geoff is twinscroll'd
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: arizona
Cars owned: R14
Posts: 312
NOTE: we recommend shipping FedEx International Economy but if anyone would prefer USPS that is fine. HOWEVER We have had some issues in the past with USPS (whether it be slow transit times or undelivered packages) and aren't responsible for prolonged delivery times, damage, or lost items with any shipments via USPS. just an FYI since weve had quite a few questions about this

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rain View Post
Thanks for chiming in on your time off! There are better things to be doing in Barbados on a rainy day on your honeymoon that doesn't involve coming on here ...LOL Congrats.
thanks alot having a great time here, a couple drinks on the beach - no complaints )

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vihis View Post
Hi Geoff. Just two questions:

Does your unit somehow get rid of the hydraulic preload on the R33 and R34 atessa systems ? I'd debate the use of a 2WD dyno without removal of the front propshaft when in a R33/R34 because of the mechanical preload in the transfer case. (Tyndago tested it and even with the ATESSA having no fluids in it, the front wheels were turning when the car was up in the air). Can't wait to get my hands on your controller for my R32, amped that it's finally out.
thats a great question. In fact, the big improvement from R32 to R33 atessa is the hydraulic preload due to atessa pump never dropping below 25psi (that was the major cause of tq split lag on r32's). Of course if there is 0% duty cycle and 0psi in the transfer case this means we are operating at 100% rwd. I personally run a simple mechanical pressure gauge in my car, 0-300psi to monitor exactly the pressure in the transfer case. If the ebrake switch is pulled, the ETS-PRO light (LED) shuts off and pressure goes to 0psi in the transfer case immediately (0% duty cycle on the solenoid). this is truly 100% rwd. While it is a good idea to remove the front propshaft for a 2wd dynapack (only takes 2 minutes) the fact remains that this setting eliminates any transfer case pressure. you can jack up the front wheels to test this on a lift very easily. Also you can put the car on a 4wd dynapack and at 0psi xfer case pressure its easy to see that the front wheels do not spin at all

Quote:
Originally Posted by ash911gtr View Post
Damn, any chance this can be modded to output to the mfd at an added cost?
maybe in the future, but not at this time. thanks for the ideas, if the product gains popularity we will certainly consider the input for future revisions. As of now we are quite pleased with the product and it is IMHO a crucial tuning component for any track car or high power GTR, especially for an R32 GTR
__________________

Last edited by Full-Race Geoff; 4th May 2012 at 10:54 PM..
Full-Race Geoff is offline  
Old 4th May 2012, 10:08 PM   #36 (permalink)
Full-Race Geoff is twinscroll'd
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: arizona
Cars owned: R14
Posts: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtr-loz View Post
So by going with your answers I would guess there would be no way to get this to work with the standard torque gauge in a r33 or r32 it's just I've moved the gauge into the instrument cluster which took alot of work and it seems a shame to now have it not working
please understand this torque gauge is NOT accurate especially if you modify the transfer case. I believe the proper way to monitor this torque split is via pressure in the transfer case (0-230psi is what nissan specs). Datalogging the pressure via a pressure sensor or watching a pressure gauge is far more accurate than a vague torque split percentage. There is no way to calibrate the stock gauge, it just has very little accuracy IMHO thus the reason why this decision was made.
__________________

Last edited by Full-Race Geoff; 4th May 2012 at 10:22 PM..
Full-Race Geoff is offline  
Old 7th May 2012, 09:14 PM   #37 (permalink)
Ramius83 is trying to finish his R14 GTR swap
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 29
Just purchased mine at the discounted rate. Will let you all know how it works in an R14 here in a few weeks.......
__________________
Ramius83 is offline  
Old 8th May 2012, 07:44 AM   #38 (permalink)
Mwohaaahaahaa is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 146
is it possible to rig up some digital displays (even just a 2 digit display) to see what the straight line and cornering G are?
__________________
Mwohaaahaahaa is offline  
Old 8th May 2012, 10:45 PM   #39 (permalink)
DrGtr is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
DrGtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by Full-Race Geoff View Post
NOTE:



maybe in the future, but not at this time. thanks for the ideas, if the product gains popularity we will certainly consider the input for future revisions. As of now we are quite pleased with the product and it is IMHO a crucial tuning component for any track car or high power GTR, especially for an R32 GTR
i will be waiting and interested for one which it will retain the nismo readings on the mfd. keep us posted.
__________________
DrGtr is offline  
Old 9th May 2012, 02:24 AM   #40 (permalink)
ash911gtr is fixing the flux capacitor
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
ash911gtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrGtr View Post
i will be waiting and interested for one which it will retain the nismo readings on the mfd. keep us posted.
+1
__________________
ash911gtr is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Tags
attessa, gtr, r32, r33, r34

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.