who's using an uprated/non OEM alternator? - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > General Nissan Skyline Chat
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance


Like Tree2Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13th July 2008, 03:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
kismetcapitan is like trees in November...
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
kismetcapitan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville TN
Cars owned: BNR32 (RIP), Audi RS6, Ducati 1299S Panigale, Ducati Multistrada Granturismo
Posts: 8,804
who's using an uprated/non OEM alternator?

my car is getting a new alternator sourced from a Hyundai parts place - fits with minimal bracket mods, and is rated at 130 amps. I wanted a little more, but that's all I could get without paying big bucks for a alternator designed for stereo competition (200+ amp monsters).

The stock alternator is probably worn out quite a bit, plus it's rated at what, 85 amps? With A/C on, the electric A/C on, and stereo (which draws over 80 amps on peak hits by itself), I've run out of power while stuck in traffic.

Anyone else upgrade their alternator to get lots of juice going in their electrical systems?

Just in case anyone didn't know (and I just recently learned), oil (which there can be a lot of in an RB26 bay) that gets into the alternator weakens and can even kill it. Furthermore, they work less efficiently when hot. Peak alternator output is generally reached around 2500-3000rpm engine speed. Past that, the regulator on the alternator limits power output.
__________________
There are only three true sports: mountain climbing, motor racing, and bullfighting. Everything else is merely a game.
kismetcapitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2008, 12:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
beaumackenzie is unaware they can edit their status
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 331
toyota prado, landcruiser alternator, works mint as
__________________
beaumackenzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th July 2008, 12:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
hyrev is dog tired
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
hyrev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Not in Japan anymore - :(
Cars owned: Top Secret built R34 GT-R
Posts: 4,230
does it just bolt straight in or need some modding?
__________________
DRive it like it's stolen
hyrev is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 15th July 2008, 04:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
kismetcapitan is like trees in November...
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
kismetcapitan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville TN
Cars owned: BNR32 (RIP), Audi RS6, Ducati 1299S Panigale, Ducati Multistrada Granturismo
Posts: 8,804
there will be some bracket modding I think, but alternators are very straightforward - as long as they're bolted in place and the belt fits, that's all it needs. Connect 2-3 wires and you're done. An alternator is about as generic a part can get.

I saw the alternator they dug up. Only 120amps, and although it was free, it looked like it had sat in seawater for years. I said no way, I'll order one.

So I just picked up a remanufactured 160 amp (stock is 90 amp) alternator for the Infiniti I30 for a measly $130. Goodbye charging problems! And if I want to add extra electric cooling fans, it should be no sweat at all
__________________
There are only three true sports: mountain climbing, motor racing, and bullfighting. Everything else is merely a game.
kismetcapitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2008, 07:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
tarmac terror is Wondering why it says 'New User' below.....*confused*
New Users
 
tarmac terror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Hampshire, but Scottish through and through!
Cars owned: Genuine R32 GTR; Genuine-ish X5 4.8iS; Completely fake BMW M6; Reasonably Genuine Peugeot 306 Rallye
Posts: 8,540
Apologies for digging this up but does anyone know of an alternator which can be sourced in the UK which has a decent output and is a direct fit for the std R32GTR alt???
Or, one which requires minimal modding to fit??

TT
__________________
R32GTR- Stage 6; Frank Baxter exhaust with K-pipe; Rick Astley cams; Dave Gahan electrics; Bjorn Ulvaeus race prep; Howard Jones gearbox upgrade; Ray Charles body mods and styling. Mapped by Glenn Medeiros.------> Beat that R35 owners with dodgy parts list sigs :)
tarmac terror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2008, 12:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
kismetcapitan is like trees in November...
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
kismetcapitan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville TN
Cars owned: BNR32 (RIP), Audi RS6, Ducati 1299S Panigale, Ducati Multistrada Granturismo
Posts: 8,804
I ended up using a remanufactured 160amp Infiniti I30 alternator from the mid-90's. It bolted straight in, and although it came with a six-groove pulley, that was easily solved by...just throwing our four-groove belt on anyways and leaving the outer two grooves empty. It all lined up, and I am getting a LOT more electrical juice

Plus, the thing cost less than $200 shipped from the US. Gotta love eBay!
__________________
There are only three true sports: mountain climbing, motor racing, and bullfighting. Everything else is merely a game.
kismetcapitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2008, 11:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
tarmac terror is Wondering why it says 'New User' below.....*confused*
New Users
 
tarmac terror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Hampshire, but Scottish through and through!
Cars owned: Genuine R32 GTR; Genuine-ish X5 4.8iS; Completely fake BMW M6; Reasonably Genuine Peugeot 306 Rallye
Posts: 8,540
Does this look like the same thing you bought Toby??

eBay Motors: NISSAN AND INFINITI I30 ALTERNATOR 160 AMP 1996-2001 (item 360091859858 end time Oct-23-08 18:55:01 PDT)

TT
__________________
R32GTR- Stage 6; Frank Baxter exhaust with K-pipe; Rick Astley cams; Dave Gahan electrics; Bjorn Ulvaeus race prep; Howard Jones gearbox upgrade; Ray Charles body mods and styling. Mapped by Glenn Medeiros.------> Beat that R35 owners with dodgy parts list sigs :)
tarmac terror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2008, 01:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Cris is enjoying the naughtiest of the three sisters
Owner of the MSNSPS
 
Cris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sussex
Cars owned: BNR32, RGV, 330i
Posts: 5,169
Please excuse the comment but wouldn't a higher rated alternator place more load on the engine (thus sap power)?

Are more modern alternators perhaps better designed (what with the investment hybrids etc) thus more efficient?
__________________
Cris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2008, 05:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
tarmac terror is Wondering why it says 'New User' below.....*confused*
New Users
 
tarmac terror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Hampshire, but Scottish through and through!
Cars owned: Genuine R32 GTR; Genuine-ish X5 4.8iS; Completely fake BMW M6; Reasonably Genuine Peugeot 306 Rallye
Posts: 8,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cris View Post
Please excuse the comment but wouldn't a higher rated alternator place more load on the engine (thus sap power)?

Are more modern alternators perhaps better designed (what with the investment hybrids etc) thus more efficient?
Thats great!! So can you tell me where I can get a straight-swap modern high output alternator to fit my GTR??

TT
__________________
R32GTR- Stage 6; Frank Baxter exhaust with K-pipe; Rick Astley cams; Dave Gahan electrics; Bjorn Ulvaeus race prep; Howard Jones gearbox upgrade; Ray Charles body mods and styling. Mapped by Glenn Medeiros.------> Beat that R35 owners with dodgy parts list sigs :)
tarmac terror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2008, 10:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Cris is enjoying the naughtiest of the three sisters
Owner of the MSNSPS
 
Cris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sussex
Cars owned: BNR32, RGV, 330i
Posts: 5,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarmac terror View Post
Thats great!! So can you tell me where I can get a straight-swap modern high output alternator to fit my GTR??

TT
????
__________________
Cris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2008, 12:57 AM   #11 (permalink)
donk_316 is unaware they can edit their status
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 366
I thought you could change the guts out on Aternators to up their output.
__________________
donk_316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2008, 02:26 AM   #12 (permalink)
kismetcapitan is like trees in November...
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
kismetcapitan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville TN
Cars owned: BNR32 (RIP), Audi RS6, Ducati 1299S Panigale, Ducati Multistrada Granturismo
Posts: 8,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarmac terror View Post
yep, same thing. Much, much cheaper than rebuilding, and although it should theoretically sap more horsepower, it doesn't. The car's electronics are definitely much happier with plenty of electrical juice for everything.

An alternator reaches maximum output around 2500-3000rpm. Beyond that, the regulator reduces output - otherwise an alternator would create crazy amounts of electricity at higher rpm.

Highly recommended mod! 85 stock amps just doesn't cut it - with the A/C on, electric fan on, headlights on, stereo on....the battery will drain and the car will stop - I know this from experience! Now I can run all my accessories, gauges, the 30 amps my fuel pumps pull, my HKS DLI ignition amp, the 80 peak amps my stereo can hit, all fans (A/C fan comes on whenever I turn on the A/C, I did that wiring mod), and voltage doesn't drop.
__________________
There are only three true sports: mountain climbing, motor racing, and bullfighting. Everything else is merely a game.
kismetcapitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2014, 08:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
cobrAA is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada.
Posts: 318
Bumping this because I never heard about the I30 swap. most people talk about the Quest alt. swap.

Anyone tried this beside Kismetcaptain ?
__________________
cobrAA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2014, 01:50 AM   #14 (permalink)
xxfr is hibernating
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 594
Am keen to hear more on this too.
__________________
xxfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2015, 09:03 AM   #15 (permalink)
jmhinkle is unaware they can edit their status
New Users
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Posts: 4
Even though no one responded, I'm taking the plunge. I just ordered one of the 160 amp rebuilt alternators for a 3.0l Maxima/I30 to fit to my R32 GTR. I'll do an actual write up on the US forum if this does work as said. I'll post the results here to whether it does swap straight in or not.
__________________
jmhinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2015, 06:19 AM   #16 (permalink)
jmhinkle is unaware they can edit their status
New Users
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Rio Rancho, NM
Posts: 4
Alternator arrived today. First thought is there is no way this is going to work. The lower mount will possibly work, but the upper mount is on the left side of the alternator (when looking from the front) vs being on the right as the stock one is. It appears this will not allow the alternator to rotate enough to tighten the belt. I'll get it mounted in the car to verify this, but the plug issue is a whole other beast to try to figure out as the 2 pin plug on the alternator doesn't match anything I can find online to make something out of.
__________________
jmhinkle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2015, 06:35 AM   #17 (permalink)
matt j is at Strawberry Racing
Following EJH#25
 
matt j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,818
I have one from here...

Alternators - Lightweight and efficient - Brise Electronics

Seems to work ok for the extra loads I have.
__________________
matt j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2015, 06:46 AM   #18 (permalink)
border1 is unaware they can edit their status. Or is he?
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
border1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Reading
Cars owned: '90 R32 GTR, R27 Clio F1
Posts: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmhinkle View Post
Alternator arrived today. First thought is there is no way this is going to work. The lower mount will possibly work, but the upper mount is on the left side of the alternator (when looking from the front) vs being on the right as the stock one is. It appears this will not allow the alternator to rotate enough to tighten the belt. I'll get it mounted in the car to verify this, but the plug issue is a whole other beast to try to figure out as the 2 pin plug on the alternator doesn't match anything I can find online to make something out of.
Get a shorter belt then piece of string and a ruler is all you need to work out the new belt length!

Don't give up yet, it'll be really useful to get this done as I'm sure there's a few of us who wouldn't mind upgrading
__________________
border1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2015, 07:35 AM   #19 (permalink)
speedingpanther is Playing with R34 RB install
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
speedingpanther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hampshire/Sussex
Cars owned: MNP R33 GTR, White Spec2 Stagea
Posts: 2,391
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt j View Post
I have one from here...

Alternators - Lightweight and efficient - Brise Electronics

Seems to work ok for the extra loads I have.

Hi Matt
Which one did you use?
Cheers
Dave
__________________
speedingpanther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2015, 07:47 AM   #20 (permalink)
matt j is at Strawberry Racing
Following EJH#25
 
matt j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedingpanther View Post
Hi Matt
Which one did you use?
Cheers
Dave
I ordered a 150A unit normally supplied to Prodrive because of the high rpm I run.
It's not listed as an on the shelf item I don't think.
Tim is quite helpful and can advise what will work best with your setup and not just supply a generic unit.
__________________
matt j is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.