Oil cooler fitment - description and pics - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > Nissan Skyline > Skyline and Stagea "How to" and DIY guides
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 5th August 2008, 12:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Day VG is worrying V8s and sheep
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member

Cars owned: R34 GTR
Oil cooler fitment - description and pics

I thought this might be useful....

This is a description of how I fitted a GReddy 10 row oil cooler to my R34 GTR. It is not a ‘How To’ guide as I am no mechanic, so if you decide to copy any of the things I did, then it is your decision and I cannot accept any responsibility for any damage or injuries to persons or property howsoever caused.

So, this is the GReddy kit as it comes out of the box and it includes everything needed to fit and mount the cooler.

The GReddy coolers come in two sizes: 10 and 13 rows. I chose the smaller 10 row unit as this will be ample for the occasional track day that I do and my 420 bhp. There is also a choice of mounting positions: in front of the radiator or in the nearside bumper, and this determines the brackets and length of pipes that are included in the kit. I chose bumper mounting, as I didn’t want the oil cooler to restrict airflow to the radiator, and because I have a Nismo front bumper which has the air holes specifically to flow air to the cooler location.

I was well impressed with the quality of the kit and it looks great in with the anodised blue finish. Unfortunately, the instructions were in Japanese and an extensive search of the web was not fruitful in finding an English version. Luckily there were pictures…

So first, I assembled the brackets onto the cooler following the instructions.