R34 MFD into R33 - Page 2 - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > Nissan Skyline > Skyline / Stagea Projects
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28th August 2009, 02:43 AM   #21 (permalink)
harry154 is unaware they can edit their status
New Users
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Looking at wiring diagrams, getting it working in the car doesnt look too hard - all the sensors are there, they just arent shown to the driver in a 33. The only ones that wont work will be the intake temp, which can be wired to show ambient temp instead, also the steering/yaw rate and the G-Force meters wont work unless I buy sensors. All the rest is there in some form or another.
__________________
harry154 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2009, 06:44 AM   #22 (permalink)
ru'
ru' is is meh!
New Users
 
ru''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SE UK
Cars owned: M3 'Vert & X90
Posts: 3,803
great post harry...
__________________
Quote:
...Even now, when eating cereal out of the bowl I expect it to shatter and take out the rest of the building !:eek:
ru' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2009, 06:46 AM   #23 (permalink)
steveyturbo is developing
GTROC Member
 
steveyturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: N.Ireland
Posts: 618
cant wait to see the outcome.... subscribed!
__________________
steveyturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 28th August 2009, 08:19 AM   #24 (permalink)
DeanN is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
DeanN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lancashire
Cars owned: Masa Stagea S2
Posts: 312
Good to see you got it working. I bought one, probably off the same person as you, that wasn't working and fixed mine too.
Just fitted it in my R34, but I've yet to make the connections to the ECU side. I think I will need the different boost sensor though. The mfd sees the boost sensor, but isn't registering anything.

__________________
DeanN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2009, 08:24 AM   #25 (permalink)
Ant GTR is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Ant GTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Liverpool
Cars owned: R33 GTR
Posts: 452
Does the MFD make use of any of the ODB outputs or are they all directly picked up from the various sensors?

I only ask as I know the ODB output is not avialable when an Apexi PFC is fitted (as I have) and cannot connect certain information systems (eg. HKS CAMP)

Would be interested in doing this if will work with the Apexi.
__________________
Ant GT-R


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ant GTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2009, 08:32 AM   #26 (permalink)
DeanN is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
DeanN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lancashire
Cars owned: Masa Stagea S2
Posts: 312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ant GTR View Post
Does the MFD make use of any of the ODB outputs or are they all directly picked up from the various sensors?

I only ask as I know the ODB output is not avialable when an Apexi PFC is fitted (as I have) and cannot connect certain information systems (eg. HKS CAMP)

Would be interested in doing this if will work with the Apexi.
No, it uses all the vehicles sensors and some inputs from the ECU (speed,throttle position,inj duration and tach)
__________________
DeanN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2009, 09:32 AM   #27 (permalink)
archaeic_bloke is www.skylife4ever.com
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
archaeic_bloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 736
wow this is incredible.

how possible would this be to fit into a R32? i know that the 32 and 33 are quite close in terms of ECU management as you can actually use a 33 ecu in a 32 and vice versa (PFC anyways..)

so, would this also be posisble to do for a 32?

can you post pics of the back of your mfd? and show us how you did this exactly? and a wiring diagram would be the bees knees.

are you an electrical engineer?
__________________
archaeic_bloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2009, 09:44 AM   #28 (permalink)
ChristianR is rallying
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
ChristianR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,563
you will also need to calibrate the mfd, its on here somewhere on how to do it.
__________________
R34 GTR VSpec MP2 - Zele International Nismo Demo Car
Remapped to uk fuel by Tweenierob/Perfect Touch



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ChristianR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2009, 10:47 AM   #29 (permalink)
ru'
ru' is is meh!
New Users
 
ru''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SE UK
Cars owned: M3 'Vert & X90
Posts: 3,803
Useful calibration info etc.:

https://www.gtr.co.uk/forum/94390-mfd...tion-info.html

https://www.gtr.co.uk/forum/813-r34-mfd-tv-dvd.html

https://www.gtr.co.uk/forum/82749-problem-nismo-mfd.html
__________________
Quote:
...Even now, when eating cereal out of the bowl I expect it to shatter and take out the rest of the building !:eek:
ru' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2009, 10:50 AM   #30 (permalink)
clarky_gtt is get the car ready for the feature
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
clarky_gtt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Swindon
Cars owned: R33 GTR V-spec
Posts: 1,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ant GTR View Post
Does the MFD make use of any of the ODB outputs or are they all directly picked up from the various sensors?

I only ask as I know the ODB output is not avialable when an Apexi PFC is fitted (as I have) and cannot connect certain information systems (eg. HKS CAMP)

Would be interested in doing this if will work with the Apexi.
thats where i'm coming from aswell, i love the camp system but run a pfc.
__________________
clarky_gtt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2009, 11:47 AM   #31 (permalink)
dan-hipgrave is Gtr-less
GTROC Member
 
dan-hipgrave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hampshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR v-spec
Posts: 1,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeanN View Post
Good to see you got it working. I bought one, probably off the same person as you, that wasn't working and fixed mine too.
Just fitted it in my R34, but I've yet to make the connections to the ECU side. I think I will need the different boost sensor though. The mfd sees the boost sensor, but isn't registering anything.
Yes, your boost gauge is reading upto 2.0bar, so you will need the 2bar sensor as someone mentioned earlier in the thread.

As has been said, the MFD runs using the cars various sensors and it doesnt matter if you have an aftermarket ECU it will still work. Yes it would be possible to put one into an R32, the wiring will be almost identical to the wiring for an R33, as they can share ECUs and im guessing gauge pinouts will be similar too. The only thing with the 32 is the dash shape, though on my various searches on the internet, I saw a picture where somebody had mounted the screen where the centre gauges/radio would go and had the MFD motherboards in the glovebox, so it can be done.

Pics of the back of the MFD will be put up later so you can see how ive done it, its really not hard and I would be more than happy to help others out with this conversion if needed.
__________________
dan-hipgrave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2009, 12:06 PM   #32 (permalink)
clarky_gtt is get the car ready for the feature
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
clarky_gtt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Swindon
Cars owned: R33 GTR V-spec
Posts: 1,135
i raise my cap to you, if one ever pops up for sale one day i may call upon you hehe
__________________
clarky_gtt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2009, 12:58 PM   #33 (permalink)
Tarmac Attack is a driving addict.
New Users
 
Tarmac Attack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, US
Cars owned: BNR32
Posts: 288
I would love to put one in my 32. Can't wait for more pictures.
__________________

bee.en.ar.thirty.two.
DRIVING BALANCE.
Tarmac Attack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2009, 04:54 PM   #34 (permalink)
dan-hipgrave is Gtr-less
GTROC Member
 
dan-hipgrave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hampshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR v-spec
Posts: 1,589
Poor quality pic below of the back of the MFD. Each wire has just had a motherboard pin crimped on and then heat-shrinked to avoid shorting. White plug houses all the grounds and powers, brown is all the sensors.



Ive been doing some more research regarding what sensors will and wont work and I believe the R33 intake temp sensor will work with the MFD

Spent this afternoon looking at how the cover is going to fit on the dash. After cutting a hole in my mockup dash to see if the cover could simply sit in place, the contours didnt line up exactly, so Ive had to take the drastic measure of starting to fibreglass the edges of the MFD cover to suit the 33 dash. No pics im afraid as it looks rubbish at the moment, not been sanded to shape. Pics tommorrow hopefully when ive gotten it shaped on the mockup dash, or if you dont hear back from me, its because ive screwed up and am waiting another 3 weeks for a new cover
__________________
dan-hipgrave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2009, 09:07 PM   #35 (permalink)
rockabilly is wondering how to win the lottery
New Users
 
rockabilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: whittle-le-woods
Cars owned: bmw e36 m3 evo 4 door
Posts: 2,780
this my help you all..bernie

Hong Kong Skyline Club Forum: R34 MFD in other Skyline
__________________
rockabilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th August 2009, 09:38 PM   #36 (permalink)
ru'
ru' is is meh!
New Users
 
ru''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SE UK
Cars owned: M3 'Vert & X90
Posts: 3,803
Question - how does the MFD get injector readings? Reason far asking is I run FCon VPro, so any figures from the stock ECU would be useless. Any ideas?
__________________
Quote:
...Even now, when eating cereal out of the bowl I expect it to shatter and take out the rest of the building !:eek:
ru' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2009, 07:22 AM   #37 (permalink)
dan-hipgrave is Gtr-less
GTROC Member
 
dan-hipgrave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hampshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR v-spec
Posts: 1,589
For an R33 GTR the MFD reads injector duty from the ECU, pin 17. I dont know how an FCon VPro works, so cant answer that question sorry.

Rockabilly - thats the guy who inspired me to put the MFD in mine. Ive been working from his wiring diagram - though have since found a couple of bits im not sure are entirely correct. Its sods law that his pics of mounting it in the dash are no longer hosted so im working blind from here on really.
__________________
dan-hipgrave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2009, 12:01 PM   #38 (permalink)
Sean is truly staggered
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan-hipgrave View Post
For an R33 GTR the MFD reads injector duty from the ECU, pin 17. I dont know how an FCon VPro works, so cant answer that question sorry.

Rockabilly - thats the guy who inspired me to put the MFD in mine. Ive been working from his wiring diagram - though have since found a couple of bits im not sure are entirely correct. Its sods law that his pics of mounting it in the dash are no longer hosted so im working blind from here on really.
Keep up the good work - When you pull this off you have my vote for 33 owner of the year
__________________
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2009, 12:17 PM   #39 (permalink)
ru'
ru' is is meh!
New Users
 
ru''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SE UK
Cars owned: M3 'Vert & X90
Posts: 3,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan-hipgrave View Post
For an R33 GTR the MFD reads injector duty from the ECU, pin 17....
Cheers. Does pin 17 have a label you know about? I don't have an ecu pin-out drawing to hand.
__________________
Quote:
...Even now, when eating cereal out of the bowl I expect it to shatter and take out the rest of the building !:eek:
ru' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th August 2009, 12:34 PM   #40 (permalink)
rockabilly is wondering how to win the lottery
New Users
 
rockabilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: whittle-le-woods
Cars owned: bmw e36 m3 evo 4 door
Posts: 2,780
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan-hipgrave View Post
For an R33 GTR the MFD reads injector duty from the ECU, pin 17. I dont know how an FCon VPro works, so cant answer that question sorry.

Rockabilly - thats the guy who inspired me to put the MFD in mine. Ive been working from his wiring diagram - though have since found a couple of bits im not sure are entirely correct. Its sods law that his pics of mounting it in the dash are no longer hosted so im working blind from here on really.
no probs mate, pics do load just not the top few, you have tow ait its slow but they do come one ..
__________________
rockabilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.