R34 MFD into R33 - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > Nissan Skyline > Skyline / Stagea Projects
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26th August 2009, 07:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
dan-hipgrave is Gtr-less
GTROC Member
 
dan-hipgrave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hampshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR v-spec
Posts: 1,589
R34 MFD into R33

For years i've loved the look of the LCD screen in the R34, and a couple of months back I saw a picture on the net of a purple R33 in Hong Kong where someone had retro-fitted the MFD. Since then, I knew I had to do the conversion myself..

Finding an MFD in itself is a hard job. These things cost over a grand from Nissan, and even second-hand command a price of around £700 when working which would be way more than I could spend on one.

A few weeks back, there were a pair of non-working MFDs for sale on here, and even though it was a gamble, the price was so low I couldnt let it get away, so I was the owner of a non-working MFD for £125!

When I got the MFD it was worse than I had imagined (in my head I saw myself swapping a blown fuse, and the unit springing into life!). The fuse had indeed blown, but before it had done, the backlight inverter circuit had also been taken out. The main screen ribbon was missing and the screws that held in the buttons were missing so somebody had siliconed them in place, but jamming the buttons in the process

Over the past couple of weeks ive been working on fixing the problems one by one, and then this afternoon a miracle happened -



It was finally working I spent quite some time playing with all the functions, and I think this unit is from a V-Spec II (please correct me if im wrong), because it has the RS232 on the back, the boost reading is different from other MFDs ive seen and it has the lap timer function -



Note all of my homemade wiring - PC motherboard pins fit the MFD connectors perfectly

I have a cover on order with Nissan (only £80), which will be here in less than 2 weeks. Im still unsure of how to mount it on the dash - ive seen 2 retro-fits on the internet, one looked like it was glued on top and one looked like they had cut a section from the top of the R33 dash and slotted the MFD in...

Oh and anybody out there who has a broken MFD, dont hesitate to contact me - ive been working non-stop on mine for weeks (during lunch hours only, honest) and know pretty much every aspect of them by now.

Updates to come hopefully this weekend, when I plan to make the loom inside the car.
__________________
dan-hipgrave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2009, 08:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
anotherskyline is aka gtrzilla
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
anotherskyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: California, USA
Cars owned: R33 GTR V-spec
Posts: 23
Looking forward to the outcome I would love this in my r33 too.
__________________
anotherskyline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2009, 08:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
G40tee is loving boost once more
New Users
 
G40tee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bucks
Cars owned: Duke R33
Posts: 2,849
fair play to you mate!

id love one of them in my car!

find another one and fix it for cheap ill have it lol
__________________
Duke Built R33 road destroyer

RIP TweenieRob
G40tee is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 26th August 2009, 08:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
ian turbo is Driving a R33 GTR, V-SPEC . 600R 2.8 hks stroker. Corsa 1.8 as 2nd car .
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
ian turbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: basingstoke
Cars owned: skyline gtr
Posts: 746
Hi Dan.. ive always loved the look of one of these in a 33 would be great to see it working in one..
__________________
ian turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2009, 08:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
dan-hipgrave is Gtr-less
GTROC Member
 
dan-hipgrave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hampshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR v-spec
Posts: 1,589
I knew this would be a hit with the 33 owners.

Looking at wiring diagrams, getting it working in the car doesnt look too hard - all the sensors are there, they just arent shown to the driver in a 33. The only ones that wont work will be the intake temp, which can be wired to show ambient temp instead, also the steering/yaw rate and the G-Force meters wont work unless I buy sensors. All the rest is there in some form or another..
__________________
dan-hipgrave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2009, 08:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Tarmac Attack is a driving addict.
New Users
 
Tarmac Attack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, US
Cars owned: BNR32
Posts: 288
Very interesting, and great work! Can't wait to see it completed and functioning in the car.
__________________

bee.en.ar.thirty.two.
DRIVING BALANCE.
Tarmac Attack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2009, 09:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Stachi is looking for a BCNR33 in QM1 again...
GTROC Member
 
Stachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Heilbronn, Germany - Kraut and Proud :)
Cars owned: QM1 R33 GTR
Posts: 1,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan-hipgrave View Post
The only ones that wont work will be the intake temp, which can be wired to show ambient temp instead,
Dan, there's an IAT sensor, it's in front of your intake plenum Very interesting project!

Marc
__________________
---
Stachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2009, 09:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
walnuts is precisely as funny as I think I am.
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
walnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 25
I`ve got a Nismo/UK spec MFD with hood waiting to go into my 33.

Had it for two years, just not got around to fitting it.

There`s a fair bit of info on SDU about this. In fact, I think Canman has posted links here.
__________________
walnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2009, 10:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
ru'
ru' is is meh!
New Users
 
ru''s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SE UK
Cars owned: M3 'Vert & X90
Posts: 3,803
Be very interested in the connection details etc. when you do them, plus how you end up fitting it.
__________________
Quote:
...Even now, when eating cereal out of the bowl I expect it to shatter and take out the rest of the building !:eek:
ru' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2009, 10:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
dan-hipgrave is Gtr-less
GTROC Member
 
dan-hipgrave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hampshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR v-spec
Posts: 1,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stachi View Post
Dan, there's an IAT sensor, it's in front of your intake plenum Very interesting project!

Marc
Thats interesting, thanks for the info. I will have to look into it, and if the voltages it gives out are the same as the sensor in the R34, its a good result..
__________________
dan-hipgrave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2009, 10:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
Stachi is looking for a BCNR33 in QM1 again...
GTROC Member
 
Stachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Heilbronn, Germany - Kraut and Proud :)
Cars owned: QM1 R33 GTR
Posts: 1,327
I never checked it, but I'm almost sure that all 3 IAT Sensors (R32, R33, R34 GTR) are the same. Mine was never faulty, so I didn't need to change it. Therefore it never bugged me. But I can't see why they should be different?

I have a spare dash lying here which waits for Alcantara Wrapping... Arggg.. Don't bring up Ideas

Edit: Do you have the part-# for the cover? :P

Marc
__________________
---

Last edited by Stachi; 26th August 2009 at 10:30 PM..
Stachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2009, 07:11 AM   #12 (permalink)
dan-hipgrave is Gtr-less
GTROC Member
 
dan-hipgrave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hampshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR v-spec
Posts: 1,589
Its not arrived yet, but the part I have ordered is 68411-AA400.
__________________
dan-hipgrave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2009, 07:28 AM   #13 (permalink)
MrGT is think I might want a r32 gtr
GTROC Member
 
MrGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: in the fast lane
Cars owned: series 2 R33 GTR (cold climate spec)
Posts: 1,553
excellent thread i have been searching for info on how to do this to my r33 please please please do a full write up on the fiting and mounting of the mfd.

i need this mod!
__________________
Behold a white GTR, and the man who sat in it was Death and hell followed with him.
MrGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2009, 07:39 AM   #14 (permalink)
Moff is Trackdays !
Registered
 
Moff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wokingham
Cars owned: R33 Race Car, Series 3 R33 GTR, Stagea RSFour, Concourse R33 GTS-t, Track R33GTS-t, R32 GTR
Posts: 3,248
Good work !

I reckon on cutting down in to the dash above the air vents to seat it nicely.

How are you going to wire it into the ECU ?
__________________
Moff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2009, 07:52 AM   #15 (permalink)
Sean is truly staggered
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,304
Well done for tackling this one - Its the one mod I would love to have in my 33
__________________
Sean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2009, 10:25 AM   #16 (permalink)
clarky_gtt is get the car ready for the feature
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
clarky_gtt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Swindon
Cars owned: R33 GTR V-spec
Posts: 1,135
excellent thread! i look forward to seeing the outcome of this, i've always wanted to do this or buy the nismo clocks with the lcd screen in the middle. Just never been able to justify the money to do it!


let us know how "easy" it is and if the sensors talk to the mfd correctly. can't wait to see the final result.
__________________
clarky_gtt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2009, 02:50 PM   #17 (permalink)
blue34 is in a Fujimura Auto 32GTR
GTROC Member
 
blue34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hampshire
Cars owned: R34GTR
Posts: 3,226
That one has the tv button which you can use to allow you to play video on the screen while it's out (if you search there's quite a bit of info on the mod to do this on here). I used an Hitachi portable DVD player and also a video camera that output in NTSC and they both played a treat on the MFD if I connected them through the inputs on the original cd/satnav system.

But i've since took all that out and changed the MFD to a Nismo 2.0bar boost one, not sure if that's what you've got.

You'll need the underbonnet 2.0bar sensor too. Matty32 got me one of those.

Your a clever guy!
__________________
blue34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2009, 05:57 PM   #18 (permalink)
dan-hipgrave is Gtr-less
GTROC Member
 
dan-hipgrave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hampshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR v-spec
Posts: 1,589
Well got some good news today - the MFD cover on order with Nissan arrived early and I picked it up today. I then went to my garage where I just happen to have a spare R33 dash to see what sort of cutting will be required..







Fitment isnt bad at all. The contours are almost matching, so im thinking trim off the lugs, cut a hole in the top of the dash for the MFD to sit in and then glue the cover on top. There is just under an inch between the dash and the heater venting underneath which should be enough to fit the MFD in without having to lose the 2 top airvents.


To answer some of the questions -

I dont have the Nismo 2bar boost upgrade, but I read somewhere that if the vacuum side of the boost gauge reads in mmHG it means you have the MFD2 upgrade, which mine does.

For wiring into the ECU, I will just cut and splice my extra wires in. There are only 3 ECU wires that need tapping into from what I can see. The rest comes from the speedo cluster, the 3 centre gauges and then wherever you want to source your powers/grounds and illumination source from (radio harness in my case).
Ive already made my own plugs coming out the back of the MFD itself using motherboard pins (better than paying Nissan £170 for the 2 plugs).

Ive also looked up about the intake temp sensor and in the R34 its a sensor just after the intercooler..I dont think the sensor before the inlet manifold will work with the MFD, but I shall try and find some specs for it.

When its all in and working, i'll sort out a decent wiring diagram for people as there are quite a few interested in this conversion obviously.
__________________
dan-hipgrave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2009, 06:00 PM   #19 (permalink)
JapFreak786 is .
GT-RDC Member
 
JapFreak786's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 8,042
add me to the list of people interested,would much prefer this over the Nismo LCD cluster
__________________
‘95 R33 GTR
JapFreak786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2009, 11:57 PM   #20 (permalink)
Stachi is looking for a BCNR33 in QM1 again...
GTROC Member
 
Stachi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Heilbronn, Germany - Kraut and Proud :)
Cars owned: QM1 R33 GTR
Posts: 1,327
I think this might look quite good!

I'm very interested in you finished version!

Marc
__________________
---
Stachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.