How to install a KMH to MPH converter chip (5 wire). - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > Nissan Skyline > Skyline and Stagea "How to" and DIY guides
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25th July 2011, 06:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Clive S-P is RB26 deficient
GTROC Member
 
Clive S-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wellington, NZ
Cars owned: GT-R34 V-Spec & Stagea 260RS
Posts: 838
How to install a KMH to MPH converter chip (5 wire).

This is basically the same for an R33 or a Stagea; the only diiference to my knowledge is the KMH input wire on an R33 is Grey/Red and on the same plug as all the other wires.

The write up below is for a Stagea, so amend as above if you are doing an
R33.

Undo 4 corner screws under steering column binacle to remove top of binacle.

Lower steering column

Undo 2 screws above speedo display

Remove speedo shroud. You will need to disconnect plugs from switches which can be a pain, but they do come out.

Remove 4 screws holding the speedo in and then remove speedo.

Unplug the 3 plugs from the back. One goes to the rev counter side and won't be touched during this procedure.

Best to invest in some proper bullet connectors or solder the joints.

So here is the wiring bit:

Red wire from chip goes to battery terminal screw on speedo
Green wire from chip goes to earth screw on speedo

ECU output wire from chip goes to green/yellow wire on larger plug behind speedo. Cut the plug end of the wire and tape it off, then connect ecu output wire from the chip to loom end of the green/yellow wire.

On smaller plug behind speedo cut the black/white wire. Loom end goes to KMH input wire on chip and the plug end connects to the MPH output wire from the chip.

I bloody hate electrics!

Hope it makes sense!
__________________
Subsides de Terra Incendere!

Or

Burning through the world's resources!

... if your Latin is a bit rusty!

Last edited by Mookistar; 25th July 2011 at 07:04 PM..
Clive S-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2011, 02:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
BNR34GTR is making moves
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Manchester
Cars owned: R34 GT-R
Posts: 134
Was this a chip without a speed limiter cut?

Also use a cloth ontop of the steering column so that you dont scratch the clocks or the plastic when removing as it can be fiddly.
__________________
BNR34GTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2011, 08:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Clive S-P is RB26 deficient
GTROC Member
 
Clive S-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wellington, NZ
Cars owned: GT-R34 V-Spec & Stagea 260RS
Posts: 838
No, it removed the speed limiter, or at least increased it to 180mph!

Good tip with the cloth, it can be fiddly, like you say.
__________________
Subsides de Terra Incendere!

Or

Burning through the world's resources!

... if your Latin is a bit rusty!
Clive S-P is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 26th August 2011, 09:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
R32 Combat is in limbo
Skyline Section Manager
 
R32 Combat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Berkshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR
Posts: 11,872
I've just removed one because it never reads 0. If I plug the laptop into the car, the speed never reads less than 4km/h, usually 6km/h. Because of this,nthe odometer rolls up whenever the ignition is on. Also, because the ECU never reads zero road speed, the AAC sometimes doesn't drop the idle to 950rpm

Also, the 4WD and HICAS work incorrectly in MPH

Apart from that, it's a great idea.

Sorry for the seemingly nevative post.
__________________
Please ensure you post your thread in the most relevant section.
R32 Combat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2011, 09:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Clive S-P is RB26 deficient
GTROC Member
 
Clive S-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wellington, NZ
Cars owned: GT-R34 V-Spec & Stagea 260RS
Posts: 838
That sounds rubbish. There does seem to be mixed reports on these things and some may work better than others.
I got mine from JDM Garage if that's any help.

Or just stay with KMH!
__________________
Subsides de Terra Incendere!

Or

Burning through the world's resources!

... if your Latin is a bit rusty!
Clive S-P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2011, 09:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
R32 Combat is in limbo
Skyline Section Manager
 
R32 Combat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Berkshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR
Posts: 11,872
I had one on my R33GTSt and that was really crap. It read 5mph on the speedo all the time.
I would think that there are some that don't do that. Electrically they are simple and I don't understand why there are sold like that.

I like KMH, I've driven like it for well over a year and don't have any problems.
__________________
Please ensure you post your thread in the most relevant section.
R32 Combat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2011, 09:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
JapFreak786 is .
GT-RDC Member
 
JapFreak786's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 8,025
i've not had a problem in the 5 wire chip that was in my old R33,ran spot on the whole time it was fitted,though i changed the clocks properly by sending them to RSP (even though they took forever to send them back!)
__________________
‘95 R33 GTR
JapFreak786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2011, 10:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
BNR34GTR is making moves
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Manchester
Cars owned: R34 GT-R
Posts: 134
The cheap ones dont do the job as they should, well you do get what you pay for! Or it could have been a bad earth causing the problem?
__________________
BNR34GTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.