Puncture - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > General Nissan R35 GT-R Chat
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15th April 2012, 03:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
petersafc is Back to the gtr.
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
petersafc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sunderland
Cars owned: Gtr, 996 turbo, e92 M3
Posts: 297
Puncture

Has any one had Nissan repair a puncture? Found a nail right in the middle of the fro t right. Tyres are brand new so don't want to pay for a new one!
__________________
petersafc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2012, 03:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
ifty is Enjoying ownership of the
Registered
 
ifty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 798
Nissan won't do it but it can be repaired without any issues from any tyre shop you can trust with your wheels
__________________
ifty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2012, 04:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
petersafc is Back to the gtr.
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
petersafc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sunderland
Cars owned: Gtr, 996 turbo, e92 M3
Posts: 297
My only problem is the car goes into Nissan tomorrow for all 4 alloys to be re sprayed. They are going to spot the nail and try and tell me that they wont repair and wont put a bad tyre back on so i buy a new one.
__________________
petersafc is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 15th April 2012, 04:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
AK-500 is .....
GTROC Member
 
AK-500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: London
Cars owned: GTR R35 DMG Black Edition, A5, 330, Freelander, Golf GTi,
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifty View Post
Nissan won't do it but it can be repaired without any issues from any tyre shop you can trust with your wheels
Yea, had mine done last year, got done very well.
Just be careful that the place you take it to will be able to take the tire off properly as the runflats are very tricky to take off without damaging the wheel.
__________________
AK-500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2012, 07:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
ifty is Enjoying ownership of the
Registered
 
ifty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by petersafc View Post
My only problem is the car goes into Nissan tomorrow for all 4 alloys to be re sprayed. They are going to spot the nail and try and tell me that they wont repair and wont put a bad tyre back on so i buy a new one.

Even better for you get the tyre of them and get it repaired and give it back to them to refit after the refurb don't listen to their nonsense had mine repaired done 10k miles no issues inc ring and back
__________________
ifty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2012, 07:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
petersafc is Back to the gtr.
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
petersafc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sunderland
Cars owned: Gtr, 996 turbo, e92 M3
Posts: 297
Now that is a good idea. Then they cant try anything.
__________________
petersafc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2012, 02:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
ossie cossie is the owner of a red GTR.
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 221
I have been told that somewhere on the bridgestone tyre it says that RFT tyre can not be repaired? also how do you reset the tyre pressure warning light on the monitor system and dash once you have pumped up the tyre again? Is it in the manual?
__________________
ossie cossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2012, 02:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
AK-500 is .....
GTROC Member
 
AK-500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: London
Cars owned: GTR R35 DMG Black Edition, A5, 330, Freelander, Golf GTi,
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by ossie cossie View Post
I have been told that somewhere on the bridgestone tyre it says that RFT tyre can not be repaired? also how do you reset the tyre pressure warning light on the monitor system and dash once you have pumped up the tyre again? Is it in the manual?
Bridgstone say you cant but you actually can and to reset warning you have to do it at either a service place (HPC, Litchfields etc) or have Cobb device.
__________________
AK-500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st April 2012, 02:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
ossie cossie is the owner of a red GTR.
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 221
Nissan it is then as im in Australia.
__________________
ossie cossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2012, 11:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
ossie cossie is the owner of a red GTR.
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 221
Checked the tyre the other day and found a screw in the middle of the tread,took it to a local tyre fitter and they were able to fix it. Thank god.
__________________
ossie cossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.