Telephone Microphone replacing/upgrading - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > Nissan GT-R > R35 - "How to" and DIY guides
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance


Like Tree3Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 5th November 2012, 11:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
hambroski is map switching!
GTROC Member
 
hambroski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 164
Question Telephone Microphone replacing/upgrading

Morning,

Has anyone tried to replace/upgrade the telephone microphone that comes with the GTR?

No one can ever hear me on the phone and I was told that the standard mic is designed to pick up sounds reflected off the front screen. If so, it is badly placed!

Any ideas welcome - the car is currently being insulated with Dynamat Extreme which I hope will make some difference too!

Thanks,
H
__________________
hambroski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2012, 12:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mookistar is so happy to be out of Skyline ownership
Site Admin.
 
Mookistar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Autoguide.com
Cars owned: Mookiwagen Passat and a good nights sleep
Posts: 31,164
do a search, its a common issue and there is a simple solution
__________________
Autoguide.com
Mookistar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2012, 12:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mookistar is so happy to be out of Skyline ownership
Site Admin.
 
Mookistar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Autoguide.com
Cars owned: Mookiwagen Passat and a good nights sleep
Posts: 31,164
https://www.gtr.co.uk/forum/152628-st...rect-side.html
__________________
Autoguide.com
Mookistar is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 5th November 2012, 12:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
hambroski is map switching!
GTROC Member
 
hambroski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 164
Thanks - I must have missed it. I will get Middlehurst to swap it over while the car is stripped down.
__________________
hambroski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2012, 01:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
perrin21 is Loving my Tesla.
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Preston
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by hambroski View Post
Morning,

Has anyone tried to replace/upgrade the telephone microphone that comes with the GTR?

No one can ever hear me on the phone and I was told that the standard mic is designed to pick up sounds reflected off the front screen. If so, it is badly placed!

Any ideas welcome - the car is currently being insulated with Dynamat Extreme which I hope will make some difference too!

Thanks,
H
What? sorry will you speak up?
__________________
perrin21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2013, 03:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Satan is skint, but with a stupidly big grin !!
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Satan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: North Wales
Posts: 924
Quote:
Originally Posted by hambroski View Post
Thanks - I must have missed it. I will get Middlehurst to swap it over while the car is stripped down.
Did you say something about "getting a middle-aged Nurse to strip down"?

Call me off the landline.
__________________
Satan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2013, 08:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Adamantium is apparently poisonous to Wolverine - who knew?
Registered
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Cars owned: Audi S5 3.0TFSi, Audi Q5 3.0TDi
Posts: 9,073
Middlehurst won't swap it for you. You need to cut holes in the wrong side to receiver the mic. Can't imagine they'll want to do that.
__________________


Adamantium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2013, 10:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
dinny is CLUB MEMBER
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
dinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CORK IRELAND
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by hambroski View Post
Morning,

Has anyone tried to replace/upgrade the telephone microphone that comes with the GTR?

No one can ever hear me on the phone and I was told that the standard mic is designed to pick up sounds reflected off the front screen. If so, it is badly placed!

Any ideas welcome - the car is currently being insulated with Dynamat Extreme which I hope will make some difference too!

Thanks,
H
Hi hambroski, you were right first time about upgrading the mic,cutting holes and moving mik is a waste of time,would like to hear from somebody who has gone on to upgrade the system
__________________
dinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2013, 04:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
CelticWebs is debating further upgrades
GT-RDC Member
 
CelticWebs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: S.Wales
Cars owned: Evo VI, Skyline GTT, 200sx S14a, Supra Twin Turbo
Posts: 548
After moving my mic and originally thinking it was better I've now been at the other end when somebody was using my Bluetooth kit I realised that while it was louder, the quality is awful. When you're on the move, the distortion is terrible and you just can't hear anything.

All that happens now is I just don't use it, I've even considered having an aftermarket parrot Mki 9200 fitted. I've had them in many cars and the difference for a relatively small cost is amazing.

Id happily pay to get the stock mic replaced if possible . So any details anybody has about getting a better mic in the car would be great.

Has anybody ever successfully managed to do it?
__________________
CelticWebs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2013, 11:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Arcam is still into Track Days
Registered
 
Arcam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Rochdale
Cars owned: Many & Various
Posts: 2,403
I would defo be interested in a replacement high quality mic, I am just amazed that this has not been addressed in all of the GT-R's minor revisions so far.
__________________
Arcam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2013, 09:23 AM   #11 (permalink)
Adamantium is apparently poisonous to Wolverine - who knew?
Registered
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Cars owned: Audi S5 3.0TFSi, Audi Q5 3.0TDi
Posts: 9,073
Brilliant idea if someone wants to do it.

I'm gonna point Brian to this post.
__________________


Adamantium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2013, 09:26 AM   #12 (permalink)
Adamantium is apparently poisonous to Wolverine - who knew?
Registered
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Cars owned: Audi S5 3.0TFSi, Audi Q5 3.0TDi
Posts: 9,073
edited because my link suggestion not going to work, requires usb plug in to power soundcard.
__________________



Last edited by Adamantium; 22nd August 2013 at 09:34 AM..
Adamantium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2013, 08:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
ROG350Z is Nismo
GT-RDC Founder Member
 
ROG350Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London
Cars owned: GT-R R35 Spec V, GT-R Nismo, Zenos E10R
Posts: 3,721
Would love a higher quality mic maybe with TV style foam cover to prevent back ground/wind noise and only the higher level speech....then maybe get the speakers o work and play sound properly it be perfect.

Ok am gonna stick with wired headset after all...
__________________
ROG350Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2013, 10:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
nick_moss is GTR Club Member
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 60
I just tried changing the mic to a Parrott mic - but it was a mis-match and the other end of the call could hardly hear me. Just put it back to standard whilst I search for an alternative better mic - the standard one is either poor, or the background noise in the cabin is way too loud for any electronics noise reduction to cope with. I use the mobile a lot and the standard setup on bluetooth is terrible.
__________________
nick_moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2013, 08:04 AM   #15 (permalink)
CelticWebs is debating further upgrades
GT-RDC Member
 
CelticWebs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: S.Wales
Cars owned: Evo VI, Skyline GTT, 200sx S14a, Supra Twin Turbo
Posts: 548
The issue I have and I've just discovered a friend has it with his r35 too is that sometimes a phone call is ok whilst other times there is serious poor quality and distortion. I wonder if the oasis is with some kind of feedback software / electronics or just simply as mentioned before that the mic needs some padding around it to help with vibration issuess?
__________________
CelticWebs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2015, 04:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
DEMETRIXXX is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
DEMETRIXXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 78
Any solution to this problem yet?
__________________
DEMETRIXXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2015, 06:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
perrin21 is Loving my Tesla.
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Preston
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by DEMETRIXXX View Post
Any solution to this problem yet?
Yes some people have swapped for an Audi.
dinny, shavermcspud and DEMETRIXXX like this.
__________________
perrin21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2016, 04:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
dudersvr is A Legend
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
dudersvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Sussex
Cars owned: Albins Trans, 20 plate clutch,102mm exhaust / Intakes, Syvecs AWD BL FMIC,GT3282, Forged engine, GTR Perf map.1101whp
Posts: 2,392
Just swapped mine and called SWMBO and she said it was night and day difference, about the same as my Range Rover Vogue with Parrot fitted.Took 15 mins inc melting slots to accept the mic like factory fit.
__________________
I came into this world screaming and covered in someone else's blood, I have no problem leaving the same way !
dudersvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2017, 11:19 AM   #19 (permalink)
chrisgtr35 is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 78
Just swapped mine and the difference is noticeable although still not great
__________________
chrisgtr35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2017, 08:42 AM   #20 (permalink)
GTRZOOM is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
GTRZOOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London
Posts: 97
just did mine too only slightly better for the person on the other end!
__________________
GTRZOOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bluetooth, telephone

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.