TPMS - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > General Nissan R35 GT-R Chat
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18th March 2013, 08:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
R35 Boxer is loving the MY17 LM900!
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
R35 Boxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Birmingham
Cars owned: LM850 GTR, Audi RS6, Range Rover Vogue, Bentley Mulsanne
Posts: 821
TPMS

I'm getting a new set of wheels and tires for my car and was wondering how do I pair up the new set of TPMS with the car or will they just work automatically?
__________________
R35 Boxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2013, 09:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
andrew186 is GTR crazy
Registered
 
andrew186's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Singapore/Malaysia
Cars owned: R34 GTR, BMW M4, BMW F10 528i, Audi Q7, BMW F30 330e
Posts: 1,426
if its a brand new set it will not work automatically

the pairing needs to be done with a consult 3 and a TPMS pairing tool

long story short the easiest way to do it is at Nissan .. if they are feeling nice they might do it for free (takes a 1-2 minutes!) but I know some places want £80

whats wrong with your old set of TPMS?
__________________
deviant.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

R35 GTR built by R-Engineering/AMS
Audi R8 V10 DMS Tuned | Larini 610bhp SOLD
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
R
(635bhp/640lbft) SOLD
andrew186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2013, 09:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
RizzyGTR is spending all his spare time looking at mods!
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London
Posts: 327
Another option is to use ecutekcable and tpms tool which Iain has at litchfield (he kindly posted it to me so I could reset mine after I had some work gone with him, i had bought a ecutek cable already but needed the tool to pair the wheels) its very easy to do, literally take like 2 mins
__________________

Last edited by RizzyGTR; 18th March 2013 at 09:27 PM..
RizzyGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 18th March 2013, 09:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
andrew186 is GTR crazy
Registered
 
andrew186's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Singapore/Malaysia
Cars owned: R34 GTR, BMW M4, BMW F10 528i, Audi Q7, BMW F30 330e
Posts: 1,426
Yes all the big indies will be able to do it too

SVM/Litcho etc
__________________
deviant.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

R35 GTR built by R-Engineering/AMS
Audi R8 V10 DMS Tuned | Larini 610bhp SOLD
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
R
(635bhp/640lbft) SOLD
andrew186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2013, 11:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
R35 Boxer is loving the MY17 LM900!
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
R35 Boxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Birmingham
Cars owned: LM850 GTR, Audi RS6, Range Rover Vogue, Bentley Mulsanne
Posts: 821
I'll just get it done at Litchfields when I put the wheels on. Thanks guys.
__________________
R35 Boxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 07:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
TEAM_KHAN is enjoying the new MR17 GTR
GTR Register Trader
 
TEAM_KHAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Birmingham
Cars owned: R32 GTR, R33 GTR, R33 GTST, R34 GTR, R35 GTR
Posts: 317
It can be done from the ECUTEC software, i would have done it for you but the lead went with the car! i would strongly recommend that you buy a ecttec lead and software as things will play up on your car and you don’t want be going to Litchfield’s all the time when you can fix it in 2 minutes on a laptop. It helps with so many things and if you get one I will show you how to use it
__________________

I am a sponsor of the GTR Register!
TEAM_KHAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 10:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
R35 Boxer is loving the MY17 LM900!
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
R35 Boxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Birmingham
Cars owned: LM850 GTR, Audi RS6, Range Rover Vogue, Bentley Mulsanne
Posts: 821
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew186 View Post
if its a brand new set it will not work automatically

the pairing needs to be done with a consult 3 and a TPMS pairing tool

long story short the easiest way to do it is at Nissan .. if they are feeling nice they might do it for free (takes a 1-2 minutes!) but I know some places want £80

whats wrong with your old set of TPMS?
Nothing is wrong with the old set, I'm selling them along with the wheels and tires as the new wheels already have the sensors.
__________________
R35 Boxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 10:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
R35 Boxer is loving the MY17 LM900!
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
R35 Boxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Birmingham
Cars owned: LM850 GTR, Audi RS6, Range Rover Vogue, Bentley Mulsanne
Posts: 821
Quote:
Originally Posted by TEAM_KHAN View Post
It can be done from the ECUTEC software, i would have done it for you but the lead went with the car! i would strongly recommend that you buy a ecttec lead and software as things will play up on your car and you don’t want be going to Litchfield’s all the time when you can fix it in 2 minutes on a laptop. It helps with so many things and if you get one I will show you how to use it
Yes we've got that lead, I'll do it once we put the wheels on.
__________________
R35 Boxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 10:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Takamo is Living the Dream... Alhumdulillah (thanks to God)
GTR Register Trader
 
Takamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Birmingham
Cars owned: R32 GTR, R33 GTR, R34 GTR, R35 GTR and many many more!!!
Posts: 6,160
Ecuteck lead kit... Worth every penny and iain at Lichfields sells them
__________________
Rabs Car Alarms 0121 771 1511 or 07973733441
Facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Official Dealers of:
Autowatch Ghost Immobiliser
Smartrack Trackers, Toad, Scorpion & Blackvue

I am a sponsor of the GTR Register!
Takamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 10:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Paul Whiffin is has a 1000bhp GTR
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Paul Whiffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North London
Cars owned: Supra & R35 GTR
Posts: 1,164
You need a TPMS scanner as well though to activate the sensors. Still trying to find a suitable one at the right price myself!
__________________
Paul Whiffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 11:09 AM   #11 (permalink)
EAndy is unaware they can edit their status
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,647
From what I was told someone was designing a sensor that could have the ID cloned so would read the same as the existing sensors on your car should you switch wheels but this is a way off being launched.

Iain was looking into the devices around the £60-£80 mark I questioned him whilst there and think even others were phoning in during the day with same questions about availability.

I'm probably going to buy the Autel TS401, I know the 301 does the learn and everything required but like the fact the 401 is much more visual and also stores 5 sets so it's piece of cake once you've got the device to learn the sensors to press 1 button to learn when changing wheels.

Autel

Cheapest I can find that delivered however is £165 will keep looking to see if can find it any cheaper.
__________________
EAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 05:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
R35 Boxer is loving the MY17 LM900!
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
R35 Boxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Birmingham
Cars owned: LM850 GTR, Audi RS6, Range Rover Vogue, Bentley Mulsanne
Posts: 821
So will Litchfields be able to do it or will it have to be done at a HPC?
__________________
R35 Boxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 05:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
RizzyGTR is spending all his spare time looking at mods!
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London
Posts: 327
Iain can do it no probs, what i meant in my post above was that i used my ECUTEK cable that i bought from Iain and he sent me the tool so i could do it at home. They can do it there no issues.
__________________
RizzyGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 05:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
R35 Boxer is loving the MY17 LM900!
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
R35 Boxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Birmingham
Cars owned: LM850 GTR, Audi RS6, Range Rover Vogue, Bentley Mulsanne
Posts: 821
Oh that's fine then. I'll be getting it done next week
__________________
R35 Boxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2013, 05:57 PM   #15 (permalink)
_shaun_ is unaware they can edit their status
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
_shaun_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sussex
Cars owned: At the moment R35, JDM S14, EVO X
Posts: 1,438
You can always swap the TPMS. Put your old ones on the new wheels (aftermarket wheels?) so you know they work etc.

Whoever buys your stock wheels will have to pair them up anyway
__________________
_shaun_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2013, 12:41 AM   #16 (permalink)
Paul Whiffin is has a 1000bhp GTR
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Paul Whiffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North London
Cars owned: Supra & R35 GTR
Posts: 1,164
I've just ordered a TPMS scanner so will be able to set these up here soon, if anyone needs it doing that is.
__________________
Paul Whiffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.