Sat nav solutions for gtr? - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > General Nissan R35 GT-R Chat
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd July 2013, 03:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
ASH-R35 is Lusting after an my11 gtr
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 429
Sat nav solutions for gtr?

My gtr is a non-nav model....it's the first car in the last say 7 years which hasn't got nav...

I don't really use the gtr to go anywhere in particular but would like to start discovering some new roads so nav would certainly be handy

I'm interested to hear what you use for your sat nav if you have a non nav car...

-tomtom...if so which one and where and how do you fit it?
-mobile phone ...I've got the Galaxy s3 with the freely nav free which is ok, but I don't like using phones as nav devices as its a grey area as far as the law re using mobile phones is concerned, and also calls annoy me when driving so I prefer to keep the phone off!

I'd love to hear your solutions!

Thanks, Ash
__________________
ASH-R35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2013, 06:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ja5on is GTRless
Registered
 
Ja5on's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bonny Banks
Cars owned: Clio 182, EVO IX FQ MR360, Leon TDI FR. Now: R35 GT-R MY10 Gunmetal Premium
Posts: 2,072
Garmin sat nav. With live traffic and camera updates.

Got a good function where u can search google for locations too.
__________________
Ja5on is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2013, 06:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
donski D is unaware they can edit their status
GTROC Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Glasgow
Cars owned: R34 GT-v, E46 M5, E60 M5, Black GT-R black edition
Posts: 243
I use Waze on my iPhone 5, I use the Brodit system to fix it to my dash without drilling holes.
__________________
donski D is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 23rd July 2013, 08:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
davidm is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Scotland
Cars owned: R35 GT-R
Posts: 55
I know you don't want the phone switched on, but I was using Google Maps and worked great. I believe the latest update also gives automatic re-routing based on real time traffic info.
__________________
davidm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2013, 08:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
alloy is SVM Stage 6!
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
alloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,540
TomTom live mounted on the air vent works great for me
__________________
GT-R Black Edition | SVM | GTC | VM
alloy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2013, 10:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
David.Yu is adjusting to life without a GT-R...
GT-RDC Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Surrey, UK
Cars owned: R35 GT-R, BMW M135i 5 dr manual, 190hp Abarth 500 (wife's)
Posts: 5,040
TomTom Live on windscreen mount on the right hand side works better than any in-car nav I've used, especially the GT-R one.
You can route the power cable around the movable dash section down to the convenient power socket on the dash.

Although I love the higher res screen of the later models, it would bother me not to be able to simultaneously see the MFD instruments and sat nav display.
__________________
David.Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2013, 10:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
ASH-R35 is Lusting after an my11 gtr
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 429
What's the difference between a Tomtom live and any of the other Tomtoms?

Thanks for the tips so far...
__________________
ASH-R35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2013, 01:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
_shaun_ is unaware they can edit their status
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
_shaun_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sussex
Cars owned: At the moment R35, JDM S14, EVO X
Posts: 1,438
Can maybe retro fit?

https://www.gtr.co.uk/forum/181641-uk...tnav-unit.html
__________________
_shaun_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2013, 02:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
ASH-R35 is Lusting after an my11 gtr
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by _shaun_ View Post
Im assuming this would be a lot more involved than a simple plug and play upgrade.....
__________________
ASH-R35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2013, 02:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hashlak is macking it out
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Hashlak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: London
Cars owned: GTR R35 - C63 AMG - MP4-12C - Range Vogue+Sport - GTCW12 - G55 AMG
Posts: 644
First and best choice would be the UK R35 Satnav but i believe it would be more costly to fit and install..

If you dont wish to do that i highly suggest you use Google maps on Android (if you have an android phone)..

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidm View Post
I know you don't want the phone switched on, but I was using Google Maps and worked great. I believe the latest update also gives automatic re-routing based on real time traffic info.
The android/google maps sat nav is 10/10.. Makes tom toms look like old tech lol..

Gmaps satnav will give you live feed on traffic and a lot more information on the area.. Works all around the world so its quite a good choice if you decide to get a phone mount to support it
__________________

Last edited by Hashlak; 23rd July 2013 at 03:08 PM..
Hashlak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2013, 03:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Hazza is deciding what next
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
Hazza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ibiza
Cars owned: R35 - sold.
Posts: 833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hashlak View Post

Gmaps satnav will give you live feed on traffic and a lot more information on the area.. Works all around the world so its quite a good choice if you decide to get a phone mount to support it
I thought google maps needs data on constantly unlike TomTom app and standalone units that have the full maps pre-installed. If using google maps abroad data charges could be significant.

I havent found it that good to use over tomtom/garmin etc either.
__________________
Hazza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2013, 03:40 PM   #12 (permalink)
Hashlak is macking it out
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Hashlak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: London
Cars owned: GTR R35 - C63 AMG - MP4-12C - Range Vogue+Sport - GTCW12 - G55 AMG
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hazza View Post
I thought google maps needs data on constantly unlike TomTom app and standalone units that have the full maps pre-installed. If using google maps abroad data charges could be significant.

I havent found it that good to use over tomtom/garmin etc either.
Yea if your outside of the UK thats true, data will be costly.. However i like the interface a lot though, very clear and concise.. Also when you add layers on you can get quite a bit of information if you are in an unfamiliar area.. Its a relatively good, cheap alternative to getting a full on satnav if you plan to use it within the UK
__________________

Last edited by Hashlak; 23rd July 2013 at 03:43 PM..
Hashlak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2013, 04:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
alloy is SVM Stage 6!
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
alloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASH-R35 View Post
What's the difference between a Tomtom live and any of the other Tomtoms?

Thanks for the tips so far...
Live includes live traffic monitoring/updates etc so if your route becomes congested the TomTom suggests quicker less congested routes
__________________
GT-R Black Edition | SVM | GTC | VM
alloy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2013, 08:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
Julesthecat is aware that they can modify their status but just doesn't want to
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Reigate
Posts: 64
image.jpg

i used an older Tomtom start as it has a smaller screen and fits perfectly onto the air vent (using some double sided tape). The wire tucks into the side of the instrument binnacle and plugs into the 12v outlet by the steering wheel using a small USB adapter.

Photo attached
__________________
Julesthecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2013, 10:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
misters3 is loving the torque in the E70!
Registered
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Glasgow
Cars owned: BMW 335D, R35
Posts: 2,752
Google maps on mobile phone.

Use a 1amp charger.

Got a great holder with dual 1 amp charging from Alibaba.

It's in X5 at moment. But blank holder could be used or installed in GTR.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg uploadfromtaptalk1374617617807.jpg (194.1 KB, 5 views)
__________________
misters3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2013, 10:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
charles charlie is chasing a Veyron from 30-130mph
GT-RDC Member
 
charles charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North West
Cars owned: E36 M3 Evo, Mini Cooper S, 996 Boxster S, Caterham Super 7, Merc Tractor :(
Posts: 7,610
Dension Ice link ONE hard wired through FM aerial.

Tune radio to 88.7

Use copilot live and cameralert app on iPhone.

Get tunes, camera alerts through car audio flawlessly. iPhone pauses music when a call comes in and restarts once ended.
__________________
Arrived 29/5/09 Reborn 12/1/17
______________________________________


Engine built @ RiversideRacing
Litcho rods/pistons/RaceIC/BOVs/oil cooler/susp+handling kit/front diff
Race Developments ported manifold/AT Power TBs
RF street zorst+DPs
RacingBrake BBK
Xtreme18 Clutch/Dodson 1st gear+shaft/trans brace
2015 alloys/nav upgrade/Nismo cluster
DSC susp controller
DBA front/Varis CF bonnet/2016 Lights
TTE7XX turbos = >900bhp 700lbsft 30-130mph in 8.19s



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
charles charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2013, 11:45 PM   #17 (permalink)
ASH-R35 is Lusting after an my11 gtr
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julesthecat View Post
Attachment 10561

i used an older Tomtom start as it has a smaller screen and fits perfectly onto the air vent (using some double sided tape). The wire tucks into the side of the instrument binnacle and plugs into the 12v outlet by the steering wheel using a small USB adapter.

Photo attached
That looks really neat.....do you leave it permanently attached or does the tape allow you to detach and remix as required....I think a Velcro fastening would be ideal here.....
__________________
ASH-R35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2013, 04:41 AM   #18 (permalink)
Julesthecat is aware that they can modify their status but just doesn't want to
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Reigate
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASH-R35 View Post
That looks really neat.....do you leave it permanently attached or does the tape allow you to detach and remix as required....I think a Velcro fastening would be ideal here.....
Actually the tomtom holder is stuck with double-sided foam tape to the vent so I can unclip the nav unit if needed. The holder is circular and fits neatly into the vent leaving the nav unit flush when attached.

Velcro would still be an option if you wanted to be able to take the holder itself off regularly I suppose. But I don't think the Velcro pads are as sticky as the "number plate" double sided foam tape that I've used.
__________________
Julesthecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th July 2013, 07:39 AM   #19 (permalink)
misters3 is loving the torque in the E70!
Registered
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Glasgow
Cars owned: BMW 335D, R35
Posts: 2,752
Meant to say although I use a pen drive I can also use Bluetooth audio from my phone.
__________________
misters3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.