M3 to GTR - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > General Nissan R35 GT-R Chat
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18th August 2013, 09:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
LAT
LAT is standard now
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member

M3 to GTR

Hey guys,

I'll start off with a bit of background info about myself seeing as im new around here. Im 26 and I'm a mechanical engineer in the aerospace industry. I'm orignally (when I was younger) a massive Honda Jdm scene kind of guy. Since I graduated three years ago ive been driving m3's. I've had 3 e46 m3's and I currently own a e92 v8 m3, but I've always had this niggly feeling about buying a GTR. Has anyone on this forum made this transition? If so, what do you feel about it? And did you make the right choice?

I've been lurking around the forum for a few days now and I keep coming across 'y piece exhaust system and cobbs map'? Can anyone explain in a little more detail about this? And also power outputs on a stock engine with these mods?

Before purchasing a GTR, what are the things I should be looking out for? Cracked discs? Gearbox? Sat nav etc? Again, any info would be appreciated.

Last but not least, insurance? Now I'm used to paying a pretty high premium but the GTR is more expensive than the M3 to insure, any particular reason why?

Sorry for the long post, but, I keep finding myself on this GTR forum more than the M3 forum, plus, on pistonheads quite alot.

Thanks in advance guys!!
Old 18th August 2013, 09:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
GTaaaaaarrrrrr! is thinking about ethanol
Executive GTR Owners Club Member

Cars owned: R35 GT-R, E61 535d Touring