ATTESA Rapid start pressure demonstration - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > Nissan Skyline > Tuning: General
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance


Like Tree3Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12th September 2013, 08:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
R32 Combat is in limbo
Skyline Section Manager
 
R32 Combat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Berkshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR
Posts: 11,872
ATTESA Rapid start pressure demonstration

A while ago I fitted a pressure gauge to the R32 GTR ATTESA actuator cylinder on the rear of the transfer box. This was done as part of the Skylab Fusion development. If quickly became apparent what the ATTESA rapid start feature was all about and that hydraulic pressure and the torque split gauge didn't show the same thing.
I have mentioned before that between 0 and 20kph the ATTESA hydraulic pressure is proportional to TPS.
I have just fitted a gauge to a R33 GTR and video'd this feature.
It's also worth noting that the R32 has 0 psi line pressure at rest and the R33 GTR has 25 psi.



To do this test, i unplugged the TPS and plugged in a spare one so I could easily increase the TPS voltage without annoying the neighbors too much but revving the engine.
I started the engine, notice how the pressure drops from 85psi to 30 psi. The pressure rises when the engine is turned off. Perhaps to assist the handbrake?
I then turned the TPS to max and back to 0. The laptop shows the TPS voltage and the gauge shows the line pressure. All the time the torque split gauge showed nothing.
__________________
Please ensure you post your thread in the most relevant section.
R32 Combat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2013, 08:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
fourtoes is milk monitor
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
fourtoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wiltshire
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 5,726
That's wicked that is Andy!

Bob
__________________
Blue 30 TWO............................GTR :)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Like us on Facebook ZEALOU5 turning cars into heroes.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


ZEALOU5

Please Whatsapp me on 07970699470.
(^^^best way to get in touch tbh^^^).
Contact: Bobby Proctor
Mobile: 07970699470

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Website:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
fourtoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2013, 08:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
matt j is at Strawberry Racing
Following EJH#25
 
matt j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,824
Well done Andy, does that mean the fittings are now available as I'd like to put a sensor in to send the pressure to the motec?
__________________
matt j is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 12th September 2013, 10:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Conrad is taking a break from cars...
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Singapore / Halifax, Yorkshire
Cars owned: AE86.... Sometime in the future
Posts: 1,316
Nice work Andy, I wonder if the torque split output only goes to the gauge once the ATTESSA ECU detects wheel speed?
__________________
Conrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2013, 10:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
R32 Combat is in limbo
Skyline Section Manager
 
R32 Combat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Berkshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR
Posts: 11,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt j View Post
Well done Andy, does that mean the fittings are now available as I'd like to put a sensor in to send the pressure to the motec?
They are all turned and heli coiled (12 off). I've not milled the hex on them or drilled/tapped the 1/8 npt holes yet.
I wanna run for a few days and check for leaks etc.
__________________
Please ensure you post your thread in the most relevant section.
R32 Combat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2013, 10:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
R32 Combat is in limbo
Skyline Section Manager
 
R32 Combat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Berkshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR
Posts: 11,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conrad View Post
Nice work Andy, I wonder if the torque split output only goes to the gauge once the ATTESSA ECU detects wheel speed?
You are right, but I wonder why.
__________________
Please ensure you post your thread in the most relevant section.
R32 Combat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2013, 11:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
matt j is at Strawberry Racing
Following EJH#25
 
matt j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 6,824
What's the voltage to the centre torque gauge again Andy? 0-5v?
__________________
matt j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2013, 11:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
R32 Combat is in limbo
Skyline Section Manager
 
R32 Combat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Berkshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR
Posts: 11,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt j View Post
What's the voltage to the centre torque gauge again Andy? 0-5v?
I think so, I'll have a dig around tomorrow to confirm.
__________________
Please ensure you post your thread in the most relevant section.
R32 Combat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2013, 11:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
AlexJ is as AlexJ does
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
AlexJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: West Sussex
Cars owned: BNR32 HCR32
Posts: 2,145
Very cool stuff.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AlexJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2013, 07:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
R32 Combat is in limbo
Skyline Section Manager
 
R32 Combat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Berkshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR
Posts: 11,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt j View Post
What's the voltage to the centre torque gauge again Andy? 0-5v?
.5-4.5v ideally. Gauge will run either PWM @ 5v or analogue 0-5v.

Basically, fit a .5-4.5v 0-300psi sensor in the adaptor, cut the wire on pin 50 of the ATTESA C/U. Wire the output of the sensor to the gauge and you will have a reading of sorts.
__________________
Please ensure you post your thread in the most relevant section.
R32 Combat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2013, 10:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
yahoo1 is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 68
Just out of curiosity, is the atessa driven by a pump or how does it make pressure exactly? An actuator in a cylinder or some such system?
__________________
yahoo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2013, 10:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Conrad is taking a break from cars...
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Singapore / Halifax, Yorkshire
Cars owned: AE86.... Sometime in the future
Posts: 1,316
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by R32 Combat View Post
You are right, but I wonder why.
It would appear that torque split is more than just a % of the pressure range for clamping pressure to the transfer box, is there some form of load cell in there?
__________________
Conrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2013, 10:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
R32 Combat is in limbo
Skyline Section Manager
 
R32 Combat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Berkshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR
Posts: 11,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conrad View Post
It would appear that torque split is more than just a % of the pressure range for clamping pressure to the transfer box, is there some form of load cell in there?
There are no load cells, what do you mean?
__________________
Please ensure you post your thread in the most relevant section.
R32 Combat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2013, 06:03 PM   #14 (permalink)
Conrad is taking a break from cars...
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Singapore / Halifax, Yorkshire
Cars owned: AE86.... Sometime in the future
Posts: 1,316
Ignore me that doesn't make sense, I was thinking the gauge reads torque which needs a load cell or torque arm rather than torque split which is just % of clamping pressure. Ignore me, I was having a moment
__________________
Conrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2013, 06:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
R32 Combat is in limbo
Skyline Section Manager
 
R32 Combat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Berkshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR
Posts: 11,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conrad View Post
Ignore me that doesn't make sense, I was thinking the gauge reads torque which needs a load cell or torque arm rather than torque split which is just % of clamping pressure. Ignore me, I was having a moment
The gauge reads in kg/f not %.
__________________
Please ensure you post your thread in the most relevant section.
R32 Combat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2013, 06:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
Corsa1 is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Corsa1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: chesterfield
Posts: 955
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conrad View Post
Ignore me that doesn't make sense, I was thinking the gauge reads torque which needs a load cell or torque arm rather than torque split which is just % of clamping pressure. Ignore me, I was having a moment
But your an Evo man lol
__________________
Corsa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2013, 07:07 PM   #17 (permalink)
Conrad is taking a break from cars...
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Singapore / Halifax, Yorkshire
Cars owned: AE86.... Sometime in the future
Posts: 1,316
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
But your an Evo man lol
A bit of everything Andy, if it has an engine I'm on it
__________________
Conrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2013, 07:11 PM   #18 (permalink)
Conrad is taking a break from cars...
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Singapore / Halifax, Yorkshire
Cars owned: AE86.... Sometime in the future
Posts: 1,316
Quote:
Originally Posted by R32 Combat View Post
The gauge reads in kg/f not %.
Yes.. Force applied which must be derived from the pressure applied to the transfer case hydraulically.
__________________
Conrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2013, 07:28 PM   #19 (permalink)
R32 Combat is in limbo
Skyline Section Manager
 
R32 Combat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Berkshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR
Posts: 11,872
I am looking pressurising the system and putting a torque wrench on the front wheel output and seeing how accurate it is.
__________________
Please ensure you post your thread in the most relevant section.
R32 Combat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th September 2013, 07:31 PM   #20 (permalink)
Conrad is taking a break from cars...
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Singapore / Halifax, Yorkshire
Cars owned: AE86.... Sometime in the future
Posts: 1,316
Yeah that would be interesting, theoretically if you know the pressure and the area it is being applied to (transfer clutch area) then it could be calculated and compared.

I will be interested in seeing the results Andy.
__________________
Conrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.