Dyno - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > General Nissan R35 GT-R Chat
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 6th February 2014, 07:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Takamo is Living the Dream... Alhumdulillah (thanks to God)
GTR Register Trader
 
Takamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Birmingham
Cars owned: R32 GTR, R33 GTR, R34 GTR, R35 GTR and many many more!!!
Posts: 6,165
Dyno

Hi guys I've heard that dynoing a gtr is bad for the diff as it puts too much pressure on it. Has anyone had any experience with this
__________________
Rabs Car Alarms 0121 771 1511 or 07973733441
Facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Official Dealers of:
Autowatch Ghost Immobiliser
Smartrack Trackers, Toad, Scorpion & Blackvue

I am a sponsor of the GTR Register!
Takamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2014, 08:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
ifty is Enjoying ownership of the
Registered
 
ifty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 798
Hope you're well Rab, take it to someone that has had experience with these cars an you won't have any issues
__________________
ifty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2014, 09:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
R35 Boxer is loving the MY17 LM900!
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
R35 Boxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Birmingham
Cars owned: LM850 GTR, Audi RS6, Range Rover Vogue, Bentley Mulsanne
Posts: 821
SRR are the best for the GTR, they've had loads of 35s on the dyno with no problems
__________________
R35 Boxer is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 7th February 2014, 06:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Takamo is Living the Dream... Alhumdulillah (thanks to God)
GTR Register Trader
 
Takamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Birmingham
Cars owned: R32 GTR, R33 GTR, R34 GTR, R35 GTR and many many more!!!
Posts: 6,165
Salaam guys, hope you guys are both well and that all is good with you, yeah I've heard from a few different people that SRR are probably the best guys for it but at the same time I've heard that dynoing the gtr in general can damage the diff as it puts too much pressure on the diff and I'm concerned about that issue. I'm keen to find out what my car is pushing at the moment because I'm thinking of getting some mods done to it in the near future so it would be nice to see the difference once moded.
__________________
Rabs Car Alarms 0121 771 1511 or 07973733441
Facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Official Dealers of:
Autowatch Ghost Immobiliser
Smartrack Trackers, Toad, Scorpion & Blackvue

I am a sponsor of the GTR Register!
Takamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 07:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Crafty_Blade is struggling with what mod to do next!
GT-RDC Member
 
Crafty_Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 824
What mods do you have on yours at the moment?
I was concerned about this issue too but have had mine dyno'd twice now. Like the guys have said take it to someone that has had known experience on GTR's and you'll be fine. In my experience at the lower end (upto 650bhp) the cars are never on the dyno for more than a couple of runs.

Btw guys did SRR move premises in the end...sorry to side track Tak
__________________
Crafty_Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 07:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Takamo is Living the Dream... Alhumdulillah (thanks to God)
GTR Register Trader
 
Takamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Birmingham
Cars owned: R32 GTR, R33 GTR, R34 GTR, R35 GTR and many many more!!!
Posts: 6,165
As far as I know my car is stock my11 with Y pipe and K&N filters but I've had a stage 4 my09 previously and the way this my11 performs I sometimes wonder if its had some mods done so I'd like to get it dynoed just to see really, I've ran against svm 650s and Lichfield stage 4 cars and beat them which can't be rite if it's stock
__________________
Rabs Car Alarms 0121 771 1511 or 07973733441
Facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Official Dealers of:
Autowatch Ghost Immobiliser
Smartrack Trackers, Toad, Scorpion & Blackvue

I am a sponsor of the GTR Register!
Takamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 08:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Spider P1g is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: East Sussex
Posts: 32
Hi, SRR are very good, had cars there quite a few times. Unfortunately i have heard that they are closing down at the end of March. Great shame.
__________________
Spider P1g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 08:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Crafty_Blade is struggling with what mod to do next!
GT-RDC Member
 
Crafty_Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 824
The MY11's do run well and with good yield when modded. If its had anything done it sounds to me no more than a stage1. Did you not ask the seller when you bought it?
__________________
Crafty_Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 08:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
willgts is USC2014 4WD Winner
GTROC Member
 
willgts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Herts
Cars owned: 330bhp Mk2 Leon Cupra, Nissan GTR
Posts: 692
You can get the FWD Clutch overheat warning come up when on the dyno. Good operators will lift off as soon as they see this warning and no damage should occur. If I ran anymore than 1.5Bar of boost on the dyno then this would happen when I went. This happens on some GTRs but not on others weirdly.

SRR are being made to vacate their current premesis but Charlie mentioned on FB that he may have a way to carry on the business, fingers crossed!
__________________
willgts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 09:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Adamantium is apparently poisonous to Wolverine - who knew?
Registered
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Cars owned: Audi S5 3.0TFSi, Audi Q5 3.0TDi
Posts: 9,073
Guys, it depends on the dyno.

SRR uses dynodynamics rollers which are free rolling and independent. This allows them to be driven separately and therefore required the centre clutch (not really a diff) to transmit some torque.

The torque transmitted is a proportion of the torque available and so the more you have, the more torque has to go through it. That's why normal torque level cars don't see a problem but as you run more and more the problems start to appear.

Other dynos have driven rollers or coupled rollers. Superflow for example have a central drive shaft that forces the rollers to spin together, this removes the centre diff as an issue.

The cream of the crop dyno wise is the maha which uses electrically driven rollers to ensure that the axles spin at the same speed, the torque loading on the rollers from the drive motors is then electronically removed so has no impact on the accuracy of the reading.

AS stated above, all this is irrelevant to 99% of owners.
__________________


Adamantium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 09:06 AM   #11 (permalink)
Takamo is Living the Dream... Alhumdulillah (thanks to God)
GTR Register Trader
 
Takamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Birmingham
Cars owned: R32 GTR, R33 GTR, R34 GTR, R35 GTR and many many more!!!
Posts: 6,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crafty_Blade View Post
The MY11's do run well and with good yield when modded. If its had anything done it sounds to me no more than a stage1. Did you not ask the seller when you bought it?
Yeah we did manage to get hold of the previous owner who had it since new because we purchased it from a showroom and the owner said that nothing was done but I'mnot sure if hhe's just saying that because he was worried about the warranty as he mentioned it a few times, he had the car wrapped in matt black and Y pipe fitted, lowered fully dynomated so I feel he may have had a stage one type of map done because who ever seems it go or goes in it and own a gtr say this can't be standard ad to be honest I sometimes feel like that
__________________
Rabs Car Alarms 0121 771 1511 or 07973733441
Facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Official Dealers of:
Autowatch Ghost Immobiliser
Smartrack Trackers, Toad, Scorpion & Blackvue

I am a sponsor of the GTR Register!
Takamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 09:20 AM   #12 (permalink)
Crafty_Blade is struggling with what mod to do next!
GT-RDC Member
 
Crafty_Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 824
[QUOTE=willgts;2451498]You can get the FWD Clutch overheat warning come up when on the dyno...
QUOTE]

Happened on mine too but resets on start up and everything is normal
__________________
Crafty_Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 09:22 AM   #13 (permalink)
Crafty_Blade is struggling with what mod to do next!
GT-RDC Member
 
Crafty_Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Gloucestershire
Posts: 824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamantium View Post
Guys, it depends on the dyno.

SRR uses dynodynamics rollers which are free rolling and independent. This allows them to be driven separately and therefore required the centre clutch (not really a diff) to transmit some torque.

The torque transmitted is a proportion of the torque available and so the more you have, the more torque has to go through it. That's why normal torque level cars don't see a problem but as you run more and more the problems start to appear.

Other dynos have driven rollers or coupled rollers. Superflow for example have a central drive shaft that forces the rollers to spin together, this removes the centre diff as an issue.

The cream of the crop dyno wise is the maha which uses electrically driven rollers to ensure that the axles spin at the same speed, the torque loading on the rollers from the drive motors is then electronically removed so has no impact on the accuracy of the reading.

AS stated above, all this is irrelevant to 99% of owners.
Good info Adam, thanks
__________________
Crafty_Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 09:53 AM   #14 (permalink)
Adamantium is apparently poisonous to Wolverine - who knew?
Registered
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Cars owned: Audi S5 3.0TFSi, Audi Q5 3.0TDi
Posts: 9,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by Takamo View Post
Yeah we did manage to get hold of the previous owner who had it since new because we purchased it from a showroom and the owner said that nothing was done but I'mnot sure if hhe's just saying that because he was worried about the warranty as he mentioned it a few times, he had the car wrapped in matt black and Y pipe fitted, lowered fully dynomated so I feel he may have had a stage one type of map done because who ever seems it go or goes in it and own a gtr say this can't be standard ad to be honest I sometimes feel like that
Remap is only going to be cobb or ecutek really, Isn't there a way you can plug an ecutek cable in and find out if it's been remapped without running it on a dyno?
__________________


Adamantium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 09:54 AM   #15 (permalink)
Takamo is Living the Dream... Alhumdulillah (thanks to God)
GTR Register Trader
 
Takamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Birmingham
Cars owned: R32 GTR, R33 GTR, R34 GTR, R35 GTR and many many more!!!
Posts: 6,165
Anyone know where there is rolling road with a Maha dyno
__________________
Rabs Car Alarms 0121 771 1511 or 07973733441
Facebook:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Official Dealers of:
Autowatch Ghost Immobiliser
Smartrack Trackers, Toad, Scorpion & Blackvue

I am a sponsor of the GTR Register!
Takamo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 10:20 AM   #16 (permalink)
Adamantium is apparently poisonous to Wolverine - who knew?
Registered
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Cars owned: Audi S5 3.0TFSi, Audi Q5 3.0TDi
Posts: 9,073
Ecutek's is a maha but it's not one of the special newer versions you really need.

If you really want the ultimate Maha set up the only one I know of belongs to a small company in Stuttgart called Porsche.

You are really worrying over nothing. Go to Surrey rolling road, you'll be fine. I ran mine there at 800bhp without a blip, believe me you'd know if you had THAT much more power than stock.

The easiest thing by far is to look at what your peak boost is, failing that stick an ecutek cable in there and send a log to any ecutek tuner, they'll know immediately if it's not running stock boost timing or fuelling.
__________________



Last edited by Adamantium; 7th February 2014 at 10:28 AM..
Adamantium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 12:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
G2GUV is Thinking about the next move
GT-RDC Member
 
G2GUV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Cars owned: R33 GTR, R34 GTR, R35 GTR
Posts: 1,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamantium View Post
Ecutek's is a maha but it's not one of the special newer versions you really need.

If you really want the ultimate Maha set up the only one I know of belongs to a small company in Stuttgart called Porsche.

You are really worrying over nothing. Go to Surrey rolling road, you'll be fine. I ran mine there at 800bhp without a blip, believe me you'd know if you had THAT much more power than stock.

The easiest thing by far is to look at what your peak boost is, failing that stick an ecutek cable in there and send a log to any ecutek tuner, they'll know immediately if it's not running stock boost timing or fuelling.

I would have thought it fairly obvious also if you were running much more power than stock???

I think this is just a case of the typical 'GTR Syndrome' that most suffer with! Your new car always will feel faster than your old car - especially if it is an 'upgraded' model!!!

WE ALL upgrade, or do a mod or 2 and then sit convincing ourselves that it was the best thing ever - where in reality it might not have had any impact what so ever!

Going by what you are saying, your car sounds like it could have had a Stage 1 tune? So a jump of approx 30-40 bhp??? Would that be enough of a difference for everyone to notice?
__________________
G2GUV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 12:53 PM   #18 (permalink)
Chronos is ripping up the tarmac with Godzilla ALL year round
GT-RDC Member
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Planet R35
Cars owned: R35 Black Edition
Posts: 5,782
if you hold down the cancel button, do you get a change map option? rev counter 1/2/3 etc

that would show its been tuned/remapped if it has multi maps
__________________
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 01:23 PM   #19 (permalink)
[email protected] is unaware they can edit their status
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Telford, Shropshire
Posts: 3,721
Simple any more than 0.9bar..Tuned !
kk
__________________

I am a sponsor of the GTR Register!
Kev@SVM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2014, 01:44 PM   #20 (permalink)
Chronos is ripping up the tarmac with Godzilla ALL year round
GT-RDC Member
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Planet R35
Cars owned: R35 Black Edition
Posts: 5,782
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Simple any more than 0.9bar..Tuned !
kk
what max bar do you put standard turbos upto? and what max bhp torque on stock rods/internals?

thanks
__________________
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.