(R33 GTR) Oem boost gauge stopped working??? - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > Nissan Skyline > Tuning: General
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18th March 2014, 03:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
"Clarkey" is on the redline
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
"Clarkey"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Croydon - South London
Cars owned: R32 GTST / R32 GTR N1
Posts: 91
(R33 GTR) Oem boost gauge stopped working???

Hey peeps, this has baffled me...

The car is running a apexi fc and avcr, the boost is controlled through the avcr (so no oem solenoid). The oem boost guage has randomly stopped working, but the oil temp and power distribution still work...

Any ideas?

Where does the oem guage get its feed as it appears its electronic..?
__________________
"Clarkey" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2014, 08:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Sub Boy is a nana driver
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Sub Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ChCh NZ
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 4,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by "Clarkey" View Post
Hey peeps, this has baffled me...

The car is running a apexi fc and avcr, the boost is controlled through the avcr (so no oem solenoid). The oem boost guage has randomly stopped working, but the oil temp and power distribution still work...

Any ideas?

Where does the oem guage get its feed as it appears its electronic..?
It gets it's electrical signal from a small MAP sensor style box on the drivers side of the firewall, there is a vacuum hose the feeds from under the plenum
__________________
Sub Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2014, 11:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
ITSt is now retired and loving every minute of it !
GT-RDC Member
 
ITSt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Scotland
Cars owned: R33 GTR
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sub Boy View Post
there is a vacuum hose the feeds from under the plenum
... which over time can crack, either at the plenum end or at the sensor end where it is stretched over the connection point. I had to replace mine a couple of years back.
__________________
ITSt is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 19th March 2014, 12:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
"Clarkey" is on the redline
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
"Clarkey"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Croydon - South London
Cars owned: R32 GTST / R32 GTR N1
Posts: 91
Cheers gents, i think a cracked pipe is the problem as ive just noticed its been blocked off by RK when the engine was rebuilt
__________________
"Clarkey" is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.