Anyone fitted a Tomtom? - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > General Nissan R35 GT-R Chat
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14th April 2014, 07:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
NELLEE is Attracted to women half his age and half is weight!
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
NELLEE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Cheshire R35 DMG 2009/ 2012 Black r35
Posts: 484
Anyone fitted a Tomtom?

I fitted a small Garmin via a Vent mount to the left of the steering wheel, but after trying a couple of different vent mounts, they just arnt much good.

I dont fancy anything stuck to the glass, so thinking to try a Tomtom with there vent mount system, ideally would like it to sit close to the dash and not stick out to much.
__________________
NELLEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 04:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Julesthecat is aware that they can modify their status but just doesn't want to
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Reigate
Posts: 64
I use a older tomtom start (the smaller size one) which is mounted to the vent to the left of steering wheel. Fits perfectly using double sided tape on the closed vent stuck to the back of the holder (so can still remove nav unit)
Photo on here somewhere. Will try dig it up.
__________________
Julesthecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 04:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Julesthecat is aware that they can modify their status but just doesn't want to
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Reigate
Posts: 64
image.jpg

Photo attached
__________________
Julesthecat is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 15th April 2014, 06:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
NELLEE is Attracted to women half his age and half is weight!
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
NELLEE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Cheshire R35 DMG 2009/ 2012 Black r35
Posts: 484
Cheers Jules!

That looks neat, never thought about fixing it that way... the smaller Navs do fit the space well. Are you not worried about damage to the vent with the tape, if you ever remove it?
__________________
NELLEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 07:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Julesthecat is aware that they can modify their status but just doesn't want to
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Reigate
Posts: 64
No worries mate. I've changed the tape once in the last two years and no issues. Not sure what tape it is, but it's white, thin foam - probably 3M something-or-other. I tried clips first but they made the nav stick out too much. The tomtom holder fits perfectly into the GTR round vent - like it was designed for it! I'm sure you could try Velcro if you were worried and there would be a way to "tie" one side around the blades of the vent to avoid anything sticky.
Haven't tried it that way but thought about it!
__________________
Julesthecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 07:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Chronos is ripping up the tarmac with Godzilla ALL year round
GT-RDC Member
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Planet R35
Cars owned: R35 Black Edition
Posts: 5,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julesthecat View Post
Attachment 38185

Photo attached
what model is that? that fits?? nice job.. and what make is the tape please? does it keep it secure or bounce about?
__________________
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 07:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Julesthecat is aware that they can modify their status but just doesn't want to
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Reigate
Posts: 64
Fits very securely. Dropped off only once when I left it parked outside on a very hot day, but reattached once cooled. Because the holder fits inside the vent surround, the back of the unit is tight against it and so no jiggling even when jabbing the screen to enter addresses etc. As mentioned, not sure of the name of tape but nothing special - double-sided white foam tape that i got at local office supply shop - possibly 3m. You could use the stuff that holds on number plates also. Any possible residue can always be cleaned off the vents with a dab of petrol/white spirits/wd40 if you wanted to take it off eventually.
Model is Tomtom Start (10) I believe. Its an older model with the smaller squarish screen, so not sure if it's only available secondhand now. I've attached a (stock) picture showing the nav with the holder part that fits inside the vent surround.

image.jpg
__________________
Julesthecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 12:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chronos is ripping up the tarmac with Godzilla ALL year round
GT-RDC Member
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Planet R35
Cars owned: R35 Black Edition
Posts: 5,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julesthecat View Post
Fits very securely. Dropped off only once when I left it parked outside on a very hot day, but reattached once cooled. Because the holder fits inside the vent surround, the back of the unit is tight against it and so no jiggling even when jabbing the screen to enter addresses etc. As mentioned, not sure of the name of tape but nothing special - double-sided white foam tape that i got at local office supply shop - possibly 3m. You could use the stuff that holds on number plates also. Any possible residue can always be cleaned off the vents with a dab of petrol/white spirits/wd40 if you wanted to take it off eventually.
Model is Tomtom Start (10) I believe. Its an older model with the smaller squarish screen, so not sure if it's only available secondhand now. I've attached a (stock) picture showing the nav with the holder part that fits inside the vent surround.

Attachment 38193
thanks bud
__________________
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 12:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chronos is ripping up the tarmac with Godzilla ALL year round
GT-RDC Member
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Planet R35
Cars owned: R35 Black Edition
Posts: 5,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julesthecat View Post
Fits very securely. Dropped off only once when I left it parked outside on a very hot day, but reattached once cooled. Because the holder fits inside the vent surround, the back of the unit is tight against it and so no jiggling even when jabbing the screen to enter addresses etc. As mentioned, not sure of the name of tape but nothing special - double-sided white foam tape that i got at local office supply shop - possibly 3m. You could use the stuff that holds on number plates also. Any possible residue can always be cleaned off the vents with a dab of petrol/white spirits/wd40 if you wanted to take it off eventually.
Model is Tomtom Start (10) I believe. Its an older model with the smaller squarish screen, so not sure if it's only available secondhand now. I've attached a (stock) picture showing the nav with the holder part that fits inside the vent surround.

Attachment 38193
this the one?

TomTom Start Classic 3.5" Sat Nav with UK and Western Europe Maps: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

£71.99 not bad and has speed cameras
__________________
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 02:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Julesthecat is aware that they can modify their status but just doesn't want to
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Reigate
Posts: 64
That's the one.
__________________
Julesthecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 02:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Chronos is ripping up the tarmac with Godzilla ALL year round
GT-RDC Member
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Planet R35
Cars owned: R35 Black Edition
Posts: 5,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julesthecat View Post
That's the one.
are the speed cameras update-able bud?? and reliable? decent
__________________
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 05:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
NELLEE is Attracted to women half his age and half is weight!
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
NELLEE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Cheshire R35 DMG 2009/ 2012 Black r35
Posts: 484
That dosnt seem a bad little nav, and good to see there still available new, with the latest maps. So whats the thoughts on wide screen nav in the same position, fixed the same way? Too Big?

The Tomtoms are ideal as the power cord dosent stick out at the back like the Garmin
__________________
NELLEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 06:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
goRt is busy making lists
GT-RDC Member
 
goRt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: North Hampshire - Andover / Basingstoke / Winchester
Cars owned: 3*DBA, Elise SC, Golf Mk6r, MY10, 2*Golf R32, e46 M3, STI9 scooby, lots of other scoobies, 205 GTI, MG Maestro, Metro turbo
Posts: 1,550
I think you should pay the small extra to get traffic data - well worth it
__________________
DMG (wrapped satin black) MY14 recaro edition, Litchfield 102mm resonated exhaust, stage 4.5 + superstock intercooler ecuTek V5 (641 torques / 748 BHP)
goRt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 07:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
NELLEE is Attracted to women half his age and half is weight!
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
NELLEE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Cheshire R35 DMG 2009/ 2012 Black r35
Posts: 484
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chronos View Post
Just ordered this one from Amazon, i think the size fits quite well over the vent, and looks neat. I am happy to have something basic as it wont be used very often, but still nice have camera positions flashing up.
__________________
NELLEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 07:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Chronos is ripping up the tarmac with Godzilla ALL year round
GT-RDC Member
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Planet R35
Cars owned: R35 Black Edition
Posts: 5,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chronos View Post
are the speed cameras update-able bud?? and reliable? decent
thanks btw, forgive my rudeness
__________________
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 07:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Chronos is ripping up the tarmac with Godzilla ALL year round
GT-RDC Member
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Planet R35
Cars owned: R35 Black Edition
Posts: 5,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by goRt View Post
I think you should pay the small extra to get traffic data - well worth it
Wheres that bud? thanks
__________________
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 09:07 PM   #17 (permalink)
goRt is busy making lists
GT-RDC Member
 
goRt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: North Hampshire - Andover / Basingstoke / Winchester
Cars owned: 3*DBA, Elise SC, Golf Mk6r, MY10, 2*Golf R32, e46 M3, STI9 scooby, lots of other scoobies, 205 GTI, MG Maestro, Metro turbo
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chronos View Post
Wheres that bud? thanks
Any of the ones on the amazon page which list "traffic updates" in their features.

We've always found Garmin better than TT and I use Navigon on my Android smartphone (when not in the GT-R)

e.g.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Garmin-2545L...ref=pd_cp_ce_1
__________________
DMG (wrapped satin black) MY14 recaro edition, Litchfield 102mm resonated exhaust, stage 4.5 + superstock intercooler ecuTek V5 (641 torques / 748 BHP)

Last edited by goRt; 15th April 2014 at 09:09 PM..
goRt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2014, 09:11 PM   #18 (permalink)
Chronos is ripping up the tarmac with Godzilla ALL year round
GT-RDC Member
 
Chronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Planet R35
Cars owned: R35 Black Edition
Posts: 5,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by goRt View Post
Any of the ones on the amazon page which list "traffic updates" in their features.

We've always found Garmin better than TT and I use Navigon on my Android smartphone (when not in the GT-R)
for the vent mount tomtom we need , 3.5" screen with traffic updates

this looks ok 119.59 Traffic ready (via RDS TMC accessory)
TomTom Start2 3.5" Sat Nav with Europe Maps (42 Countries): Amazon.co.uk: Electronics
__________________
Chronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 06:14 PM   #19 (permalink)
scoooby slayer is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
scoooby slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by Julesthecat View Post
Attachment 38185

Photo attached
that is really tidy nice one, if I didn't have toucan display there id fit one myself I think in my non nav car.
__________________
scoooby slayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2014, 06:55 PM   #20 (permalink)
paulmc is looking for more power 750-800bhp is not enough
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
paulmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Aberdeenshire
Cars owned: GTR R35, 911 turbo, F10 M5, V10 RS6
Posts: 989
I was thinking of the TT GO 6000 but that a 6" screen could be a fraction too big though. Maybe go for the TT GO 5000 5" screen see how that looks and fits?
__________________
paulmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.