Hicas or not to hicas thread.. - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > General Nissan Skyline Chat
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance


View Poll Results: HICAS -
HICAS still being used and feel it improves the handling 164 24.85%
HICAS locked off and preffer handling now 175 26.52%
HICAS locked off and I miss it.. 8 1.21%
Considering locking the HICAS but neeed to know more 317 48.03%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 660. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24th December 2004, 04:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
RB_26 is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
RB_26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 546
Smile Hicas or not to hicas thread..

Looking at a couple of Hicas realted posts.. just wondered how many of you locked it up!

In addition it would be interesting to see what *kit* if any you used and who supplies it.

Cheers
__________________
'Keep your friends close, your enemies closer..'
RB_26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2004, 05:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
SteveN is thinking he hasnt been here for ages
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Just off the M5/A40
Cars owned: Mazda RX7 + Golf GTI
Posts: 7,219
Ive removed my HICAS as it saves about 50kg (allegedly!) when all associated bits is removed on a R32GTR. I dont like what it does anyhow, but a big weight saving says it had to go.

Replaced with a lightweight alloy bar which cost me about 50quid.
__________________
Complete RB26 for sale, inc electrics-

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SteveN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2004, 07:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
nigel f is unaware they can edit their status
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
nigel f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: East yorkshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR V SPEC, R34 GTR
Posts: 1,651
Yeah,
I removed the Hicas, and much prefare the way the car feels now, its much better

Nigel
__________________
nigel f is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 24th December 2004, 08:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
RB_26 is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
RB_26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 546
So far I've only heard bad things about HICAS! Shame I'm sure Nissan gurus spent a fair while developing lol

How long would the job take to do in terms of labour and approx price of the *kits* available?

The £50 bar, did you have to modify and brackets or use spacers/bushes whilst doing?

Long shot..... but any pics of an actual HICAS setup both stock & *modified ?

I'm not expecting any of your to go out and lay down under the car tonight but....
__________________
'Keep your friends close, your enemies closer..'
RB_26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2004, 08:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Bassman is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Bassman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Farnham, Surrey
Cars owned: L322 Range Rover Vogue, Saab 900 2.0T SE Convertible
Posts: 1,385
Never driven the car without it so I can't comment on it good or bad... err that was a pointless post wasn't it
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
the GTR.
V-8 fix now provided by my motorised all-terrain armchair. A little more sedate, but just as thirsty!
Now with added
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2004, 08:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
RB_26 is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
RB_26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 546
Not at all, is your car MPH or set for KM's I have read that the MPH conversion can cause the HICAS to engage at the wrong speeds.... this could be b*llocks but interesting.
__________________
'Keep your friends close, your enemies closer..'
RB_26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2004, 09:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Bassman is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Bassman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Farnham, Surrey
Cars owned: L322 Range Rover Vogue, Saab 900 2.0T SE Convertible
Posts: 1,385
It reads MPH but I think it screws with the 4wd system more than the HICAS. Put it this way - I know it screws with the 4wd and I have the piece of armco to prove it
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
the GTR.
V-8 fix now provided by my motorised all-terrain armchair. A little more sedate, but just as thirsty!
Now with added
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2004, 09:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
RB_26 is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
RB_26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 546
LOL, never mind its Xmas...
__________________
'Keep your friends close, your enemies closer..'
RB_26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2004, 10:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Yunis A is unaware they can edit their status
Banned
 
Yunis A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Middlesex
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 1,758
i will never get rid of the hicas, unless its dies and its very expensive to replace. ive driven my car at speed and have felt the small corrections at the rear and they seemed to balance out the car....if it was a gimick nissan would never had fitted it... if it was useless the GTR32 would never had done a 08m:22s lap around nurbergring!

Imo its a gadget along wth the attessa that make the skyline into a great car it is!
__________________
Yunis A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2004, 10:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
nigel f is unaware they can edit their status
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
nigel f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: East yorkshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR V SPEC, R34 GTR
Posts: 1,651
Yunis The GTR is faster on the track with out Hicas, the Hicas is for Road use and to help average drivers
Many pro Races will tell you that

Nigel
__________________
nigel f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2004, 06:51 AM   #11 (permalink)
JAY-R32 is unaware they can edit their status
GTROC Member
 
JAY-R32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Herts
Cars owned: LM blue R32
Posts: 1,285
As above
__________________
JAY-R32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2004, 08:29 AM   #12 (permalink)
NigelR32 is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
NigelR32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: RB26ville
Posts: 916
Quote:
Originally Posted by nigel f
Yunis The GTR is faster on the track with out Hicas, the Hicas is for Road use and to help average drivers
Many pro Races will tell you that

Nigel
Which is why the Aussie Touring cars had a solid Bar, and all the Falken Cars have solid Bars.

In fact, I've yet to find a Race Skyline, 32,33 or 34 that uses Hicas!!

Merry Xmas everyone!!!
__________________
Nigel...........GTROC Member

Now on '32GTR No.3
NigelR32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2004, 08:56 AM   #13 (permalink)
Hayes_666 is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Devon
Cars owned: R32 Gts-T
Posts: 25
So basicly for the road its a better thing to have, as i bet there isnt many full pro racing drivers out there?,

I personally like the turn in that it gives, makes the car feel much more safer in corners when haveing to make corrections that you often have to do on the public roads,

Happy christmas
__________________
R32 GTS-TT
(Twin Turbo)
Hayes_666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2004, 09:33 AM   #14 (permalink)
nigel f is unaware they can edit their status
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
nigel f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: East yorkshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR V SPEC, R34 GTR
Posts: 1,651
I all ways felt that I was chasing the car, makeing corections or doing some tihing before it did it or to corect some thing that the car did,

I personally fell that I am more in controll and the car does what I want it to do,
It is Personal preferance, I feal that it is quicker thrugh bends and better on track days,
The only benifit I found to it was how amazingley fast you could change lanes on the motorway.

It just depend on how you want the car to feal / behave.

Nigel
__________________
nigel f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2004, 10:07 AM   #15 (permalink)
-[c0Ka|Ne]- is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
-[c0Ka|Ne]-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London
Cars owned: Mig-25 "Foxbat"
Posts: 360
Is it possible to switch HICAS on/off on a regular basis without any ill effects? For example on on the public roads then off for trackdays, etc. May be a silly question but I am still learning about the skyline so just trying to clear things up
__________________
Will swap my girlfriend for an R34 GTR, interested?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-[c0Ka|Ne]- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2004, 10:32 AM   #16 (permalink)
nigel f is unaware they can edit their status
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
nigel f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: East yorkshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR V SPEC, R34 GTR
Posts: 1,651
On the 33 you can pull the Fuse, but only when the Wheels are stright etc, But there is still some movement, so the Rack needs shimming up.

Nigel
__________________
nigel f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2004, 11:20 AM   #17 (permalink)
Yunis A is unaware they can edit their status
Banned
 
Yunis A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Middlesex
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 1,758
fair enough, its personal preference, but were not all pro drivers and we dont race our cars on tracks each day..

so how about the tomie kit that locks the hicas...with shims?

hicas there for when you need it and lock it at track days no?
__________________

Last edited by Yunis A; 25th December 2004 at 11:38 AM..
Yunis A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2004, 11:56 AM   #18 (permalink)
nigel f is unaware they can edit their status
Executive GTR Owners Club Member
 
nigel f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: East yorkshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR V SPEC, R34 GTR
Posts: 1,651
The Tomie kit, shims the Rack and the box Disables it, and also makes the Error light go out on the Dash (I beleive).

You could remove the The Lock kit and re install it, but It would become a pain.

If you are used to driving with the HICAS, then you would be slower with out it, un till you get used to it not being there, as the car would handle slightley dirfferentley.

I think you have to decided to lock it out and then try it for a few months on the road to see if you like it, if not re enable it.

Does your car have the gear driven speedo converter, as with out this (IE KMs) the Atessa works better and the whole drive is much better.

Nigel
__________________
nigel f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2004, 12:37 PM   #19 (permalink)
-[c0Ka|Ne]- is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
-[c0Ka|Ne]-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: London
Cars owned: Mig-25 "Foxbat"
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by nigel f
On the 33 you can pull the Fuse, but only when the Wheels are stright etc, But there is still some movement, so the Rack needs shimming up.

Nigel
Is that the only way to deactivate HICAS? Can't be pratical then switching it on and off
__________________
Will swap my girlfriend for an R34 GTR, interested?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-[c0Ka|Ne]- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2004, 02:04 PM   #20 (permalink)
Yunis A is unaware they can edit their status
Banned
 
Yunis A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Middlesex
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 1,758
mine reading in KMS, not a fan of bodging up with convertors etc..i can live with kms, (put a mph lable on at mot time)
__________________
Yunis A is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.