rd25det how do you set the timing to 15 deg for uk fuel - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > Nissan Skyline > Tuning: General
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 7th March 2005, 11:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
necro is unaware they can edit their status
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
rd25det how do you set the timing to 15 deg for uk fuel

ive looked on every thread that i can find and theres not an exact match to help me set up the timing to 15 deg, please someone help i dont wanna screw up my car before ive had a chance to wrap it into a lampost.
engine rb25det,, ive seen some posts but they were unclear i need some clear direct instructions to tell my friend so i can get him to do it asap.

regards
nec
__________________
necro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2005, 01:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
V1H
V1H is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: here
Cars owned: R32 GTR
Posts: 598
Hi

try the skyline owners site, they have a newbie section with FAQs on GTst (RB25det) & it looks like the ecu can be reset to run uk fuel(98ron pref) by simple procedure.
__________________
V1H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2005, 05:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
necro is unaware they can edit their status
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
thankyou, but where is this club? site etc cant see it listed lol

ta
__________________
necro is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 11th March 2005, 06:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Caoboth is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Caoboth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Cars owned: RS Four V Stagea (Dayz Edition)
Posts: 720
www.skylineowners.com
__________________
Caoboth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2005, 07:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
JasonO is absent.
New Users
 
JasonO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Here, to stay.
Cars owned: R33GTS25T
Posts: 7,274
Resetting the ecu isn't the same as setting your timing.

The reason you can't find a good explanation, is that there isn't one. It's a complicated balancing job, of idle rpm V's TPS adjustment V's CAS adjustment.........

With your idle at 650rpm (stock engine etc.) TPS should read less than 0.5V. When you have this spot on, you can adjust the timing (pickup from the pink wire sticking out of the ignitor module loom at the back of the cam cover.) for your 15 degreees. However, as you adjust the timing, the idle rpm will pickup or drop, and you'll end up chasing your tail.

Good luck
__________________
Expired....

[E&OE.....]
JasonO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2005, 10:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
RB211 is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
RB211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Torqueshire
Cars owned: R33GTS25t
Posts: 700
timing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonO
Resetting the ecu isn't the same as setting your timing.

The reason you can't find a good explanation, is that there isn't one. It's a complicated balancing job, of idle rpm V's TPS adjustment V's CAS adjustment.........

With your idle at 650rpm (stock engine etc.) TPS should read less than 0.5V. When you have this spot on, you can adjust the timing (pickup from the pink wire sticking out of the ignitor module loom at the back of the cam cover.) for your 15 degreees. However, as you adjust the timing, the idle rpm will pickup or drop, and you'll end up chasing your tail.

Good luck
Jason's right here, and it's been a while since I did mine. But if memory serves me right, to set the base timing to 15 deg btdc you can set the ecu to diagnostic mode by turning the wee screw on the side of the ecu one way, acw i think. When in diagnostic mode you dont chase your tail. Other thing you can do is unplug the iscv, ficv and tps and then set the timing. The big problem with setting the timing with the cam sensor is that it alters the injection timing as well, retard the timing and the fuel sits on the back of the inlet valves. Best practice is to get the timing set to whatever Nissan say it should be (as per the sticky label under the bonnet) and then get a aftermarket ecu to change timing and fueling requirements. Does anyone know if consult can change the timing permanently at ecu level?
__________________
If it's got boobs or wheels it'll give trouble and cost money - but we all go along for the ride.
RB211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2005, 10:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
necro is unaware they can edit their status
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
sweet thanks guys
__________________
necro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.