HELP!!!! AWD, ABS and HICAS lights are on - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > Nissan Skyline > Tuning: General
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd November 2016, 05:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
XashskylineX is rebuilding his dream BNR34
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
XashskylineX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,123
HELP!!!! AWD, ABS and HICAS lights are on

as above all 3 lights are on why??

there rear end isn't friendly either keeps spinning out to

i have checked the fuse under the steering wheel and by the battery they seem to be fine blended the fluid out to kept the battery disconnected 24 hours and still the same


would anyone know what would be wrong???


thanks
__________________
XashskylineX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 10:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
GOGS 2 is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
GOGS 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Aberdeen
Cars owned: R32 GTR & audi s3
Posts: 372
There is a 4wd ecu in the boot of the r32 gtr that has a flashing red led the number of light flashes can be used to find a fault code. Not sure if the r34 gtr has this but worth a check
__________________
GOGS 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th November 2016, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Cris is enjoying the naughtiest of the three sisters
Owner of the MSNSPS
 
Cris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sussex
Cars owned: BNR32, RGV, 330i
Posts: 5,169
I would guess an earthing problem. I can only suggest looking for a wiring diagram to give you a clue where to start.
__________________
See my thread in Pictures and Videos for details of the Midnight Stealth Ninja Super Pointed Stick Stage 3.141592654 -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Cris is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 24th November 2016, 10:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Jayman is Owner of R34 GTR 720 hp
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 924
To check what has caused the fault, you can bridge two of the pins on the OBD port and it will flash the EML ( Engine management light) there are numerous threads on here that tell you what each flash of the EML mean.

If you have an R34 there is NO light in the boot on the HICAS ecu and you have to use the above method.

Have you moved your TPS lately? i found that if i moved that it messed up the signal on the ecu and threw up all the lights mentioned.

James
__________________
Jayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2016, 12:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
XashskylineX is rebuilding his dream BNR34
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
XashskylineX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,123
sorry guys forgot to mention its BNR32


Quote:
Originally Posted by GOGS 2 View Post
There is a 4wd ecu in the boot of the r32 gtr that has a flashing red led the number of light flashes can be used to find a fault code. Not sure if the r34 gtr has this but worth a check
Theres no light flashing there!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cris View Post
I would guess an earthing problem. I can only suggest looking for a wiring diagram to give you a clue where to start.
i think that can be the problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayman View Post
To check what has caused the fault, you can bridge two of the pins on the OBD port and it will flash the EML ( Engine management light) there are numerous threads on here that tell you what each flash of the EML mean.

If you have an R34 there is NO light in the boot on the HICAS ecu and you have to use the above method.

Have you moved your TPS lately? i found that if i moved that it messed up the signal on the ecu and threw up all the lights mentioned.

James
the fault tbh can be any where as i have had the car totally strip and put back together
__________________
XashskylineX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2016, 02:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
XashskylineX is rebuilding his dream BNR34
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
XashskylineX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,123
PLUS

would this have anything with the power steering?

mine isn't working
__________________
XashskylineX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2016, 08:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
R32 Combat is in limbo
Skyline Section Manager
 
R32 Combat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Berkshire
Cars owned: R33 GTR
Posts: 11,872
The HICAS system also controls the speed related power steering.
__________________
Please ensure you post your thread in the most relevant section.
R32 Combat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2016, 01:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
XashskylineX is rebuilding his dream BNR34
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
XashskylineX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by R32 Combat View Post
The HICAS system also controls the speed related power steering.


thanks combat.

guess i need to replace both ecu


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
XashskylineX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2016, 05:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
XashskylineX is rebuilding his dream BNR34
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
XashskylineX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,123
update

I have changed the ECU's still the same
__________________
XashskylineX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2016, 06:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
AlexJ is as AlexJ does
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
AlexJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: West Sussex
Cars owned: BNR32 HCR32
Posts: 2,145
Std engine management ecu?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AlexJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2016, 06:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
XashskylineX is rebuilding his dream BNR34
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
XashskylineX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,123
yep


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
XashskylineX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2016, 06:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
XashskylineX is rebuilding his dream BNR34
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
XashskylineX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexJ View Post
Std engine management ecu?


yes everything standard


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
XashskylineX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2016, 06:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
AlexJ is as AlexJ does
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
AlexJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: West Sussex
Cars owned: BNR32 HCR32
Posts: 2,145
The ecu sends a tacho signal to the ets/abs ecu and the hivas ecu. You could scope the pins on the two ecus to check that is getting through.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AlexJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2016, 06:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
XashskylineX is rebuilding his dream BNR34
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
XashskylineX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexJ View Post
The ecu sends a tacho signal to the ets/abs ecu and the hivas ecu. You could scope the pins on the two ecus to check that is getting through.
like how sorry how is that done
__________________
XashskylineX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2016, 08:10 PM   #15 (permalink)
AlexJ is as AlexJ does
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
AlexJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: West Sussex
Cars owned: BNR32 HCR32
Posts: 2,145
By checking the pinouts and probing the appropriate pins on the ecus (ECCS pin 7,ATTESA/ETS pin 31,HICAS pin 12) with a scope or multimeter - if there is no signal with the engine running then you need to trace back the break in the chain.

If everything is stock then you may find you can use a consult tool to read the errors.

It may well be an earth and you should check them, but with all the warning lights on and the car having been totally stripped and reassembled without getting elbows deep in the service manual and wiring diagrams you are just taking shots in the dark I suspect.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AlexJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.