Satnav update - Page 5 - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > General Nissan R35 GT-R Chat
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance


Like Tree23Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31st May 2017, 07:22 PM   #81 (permalink)
escossie is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 35
I think it is down to the process of entering the DVD key & unit ID into the program. Hopefully we will get there in the end as it feels like we are so close its painful.
__________________
escossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2017, 10:10 PM   #82 (permalink)
cragus is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 16
Ok, I thought I would be a guinea pig with the '2017 Head Unit Software' update.

I burned the iso to disc went out to the car and put the disc in. It flashed up that the disc was unreadable for a split second and then took me to this screen.
IMG_2620.JPG by Craig Bissett, on Flickr

I wasn't really 100% whether my current version (X3E12008) or the version on the disc (X3E52007) was newer? Mine had 2008 at the end and the disc 2007 so that had me suspicious. However, I updated it and saw several screens like this.
IMG_2622.JPG by Craig Bissett, on Flickr

It seemed to put the disc's software on with no problems - took about 5 minutes.
Updated screen shows that it definitely updated (or backdated ).
IMG_2627.JPG by Craig Bissett, on Flickr


Anybody know what software version is newer? What the newest version is etc?

Not tried the Sat Nav set? Anyone had any luck? My maps are showing as 10-11 Map No.1
__________________
cragus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2017, 10:47 PM   #83 (permalink)
escossie is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 35
I've done the update as well & I would say the one we have installed is the newest version going by the last 5 numbers.
WingedBeast1968 likes this.
__________________
escossie is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 31st May 2017, 10:50 PM   #84 (permalink)
cragus is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by escossie View Post
I've done the update as well & I would say the one we have installed is the newest version going by the last 5 numbers.
Yeah, I'd say so from what I can find on the web. Did you notice any differences - my system seems very much the same.

Have tried the Nav discs mate? Do you enter the key when you put the disc into the console or do you have to burn the code into the disc in some way?
__________________
cragus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2017, 11:09 PM   #85 (permalink)
escossie is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 35
Seems much the same to me but mine is a 2014 car so not too old anyway.

Yeah I've tried the nav discs - only burned disc 1 so far & you enter the key on screen. If you get the wrong code you can backup to cancel the update.
__________________
escossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2017, 11:44 AM   #86 (permalink)
escossie is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 35
Anyone managed to make any progress?
__________________
escossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2017, 02:08 PM   #87 (permalink)
slapshot is living the dream
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
slapshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Silverstone
Cars owned: 2011 GT-R (Stage 3)
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by escossie View Post
Anyone managed to make any progress?
Nah.

Waiting for shavermcspud to run my DVD checksum and Unit ID through his java app to see if he gets the same license keys generated as me.

It's all gone a bit quiet for now ...
__________________
slapshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2017, 02:22 PM   #88 (permalink)
escossie is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 35
The bit that confused me was how the unit id fitted into the second number. The bit about padded with four byte was beyond me! All I did was substitute the first 10 numbers but the keys didn't work so obviously wasn't that.
__________________
escossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2017, 03:13 PM   #89 (permalink)
slapshot is living the dream
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
slapshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Silverstone
Cars owned: 2011 GT-R (Stage 3)
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by escossie View Post
The bit about padded with four byte was beyond me!.
The second long number you feed into the programme is simply your unit ID repeated 3 times then 4 zeros stuck on the end ... apparently.
__________________
slapshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2017, 03:50 PM   #90 (permalink)
escossie is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 35
That explains why it didn't work then - I'll give that a go but not holding out much hope seeing as yours didn't work.

Thanks for the help!!
__________________

Last edited by escossie; 3rd June 2017 at 04:16 PM..
escossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2017, 04:16 PM   #91 (permalink)
escossie is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 35
Still no good
__________________
escossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2017, 10:26 PM   #92 (permalink)
WingedBeast1968 is still here
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,730
I think E52007 is later than E12008 isn't it? I don't think it's got anything to do with a year. Possibly.

And 4 bytes added to the end of the unit ID would be 00000000?
__________________

Last edited by WingedBeast1968; 3rd June 2017 at 11:02 PM..
WingedBeast1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2017, 11:29 PM   #93 (permalink)
slapshot is living the dream
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
slapshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Silverstone
Cars owned: 2011 GT-R (Stage 3)
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by WingedBeast1968 View Post
And 4 bytes added to the end of the unit ID would be 00000000?
That's what I thought but the example that shavermcspud sent me via PM explicitly showed four zero padding characters not eight.
__________________
slapshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2017, 11:57 PM   #94 (permalink)
WingedBeast1968 is still here
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,730
That would make more sense, because unit ID repeated 3 times gives 30, and add 2 for the 128 bits for md5. He's been quite vague on key parameters. Which is odd.

Divide by zero errors most of the time too. But the keys generated are the same regardless. No need for elevated command prompt either.
Seeming a bit fishy.
__________________

Last edited by WingedBeast1968; 4th June 2017 at 12:33 AM..
WingedBeast1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2017, 04:53 AM   #95 (permalink)
WingedBeast1968 is still here
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,730
I've done some digging, and it seems you are asked for the unit ID when you order the sat nav update. Does this mean that each set of disks are specific to a satnav unit? If that's the case, we are barking up the wrong tree.

They want the vin too
__________________

Last edited by WingedBeast1968; 4th June 2017 at 04:57 AM..
WingedBeast1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2017, 05:57 AM   #96 (permalink)
WingedBeast1968 is still here
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,730
I bought the update
__________________
WingedBeast1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2017, 07:36 AM   #97 (permalink)
escossie is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 35
I tried unit id repeated 3 times with 0000 & 00 at the end - it gave exactly the same keys so it only seems to look at 32 digits.
__________________
escossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2017, 07:42 AM   #98 (permalink)
WingedBeast1968 is still here
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,730
I can confirm that there is nothing unique about the installation disks. The activation code I received in the purchase confirmation for my order is working with the disks from the link.

Being that I supplied my unit ID and my VIN, I think the activation code must be calculated from those.
__________________
WingedBeast1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2017, 10:04 AM   #99 (permalink)
slapshot is living the dream
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
slapshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Silverstone
Cars owned: 2011 GT-R (Stage 3)
Posts: 149
I've convinced myself only the unit ID is relevant when it comes to generating the 16 character license code. I don't believe the Nav unit knows your chassis VIN number or the MD5 checksum of the first map DVD when it verifies the license code you enter. I don't believe it calculates the MD5 checksum of the DVD itself either. It would take far too long.

I reckon the Nav unit uses a simple inbuilt algorithm to correlate the unit ID (which it knows) with the license key issued by Nissan. We "just" need to know the algorithm
__________________
slapshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2017, 10:47 AM   #100 (permalink)
WingedBeast1968 is still here
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,730
Could be right, however, most modules on the CAN bus have the VIN. And if they don't, they know which module to ask for it. If it is purely based on unit ID, it shouldn't be too difficult to work out, if we can get several unit ID's and activation codes. Or maybe just brute force it on one
Supra_Sanj likes this.
__________________
WingedBeast1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.