TPMS reset when changing tyres? - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > General Nissan R35 GT-R Chat
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd May 2017, 09:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
danielhoworth is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 119
TPMS reset when changing tyres?

I have 2 new rears waiting to go on the car but I'm not sure if the TPMS will need resetting?

I have a cobb v3 unit if it does require a reset and is capable of doing so?

Thanks,

Dan
__________________
danielhoworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2017, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Stealth69 is touching himself furiously in a desperate bid to get warm
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cambs
Posts: 3,180
Won't need resetting it will be fine
__________________
Stealth69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2017, 09:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
charles charlie is chasing a Veyron from 30-130mph
GT-RDC Member
 
charles charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North West
Cars owned: E36 M3 Evo, Mini Cooper S, 996 Boxster S, Caterham Super 7, Merc Tractor :(
Posts: 7,627
As above nothing needs doing.

You're confusing two TPMS scenarios...

A reset - done by Cobb or Ecutek when a flat tyre warning has been triggered by a tyre pressure below 14 psi (don't confuse with a low tyre pressure warning which resets upon refilling tyre and driving)

A relearn - require after installing a new TPMS sensor in a wheel. Also requires a TPMS wake up tool to activate the sensor before using a Cobb etc to start the cars process of relearning the new sensor.
__________________
Arrived 29/5/09 Reborn 12/1/17
______________________________________


Engine built @ RiversideRacing
Litcho rods/pistons/RaceIC/BOVs/oil cooler/susp+handling kit/front diff
Race Developments ported manifold/AT Power TBs
RF street zorst+DPs
RacingBrake BBK
Xtreme18 Clutch/Dodson 1st gear+shaft/trans brace
2015 alloys/nav upgrade/Nismo cluster
DSC susp controller
DBA front/Varis CF bonnet/2016 Lights
TTE7XX turbos = >900bhp 700lbsft 30-130mph in 8.19s



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
charles charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 22nd May 2017, 10:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
danielhoworth is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by charles charlie View Post
As above nothing needs doing.

You're confusing two TPMS scenarios...

A reset - done by Cobb or Ecutek when a flat tyre warning has been triggered by a tyre pressure below 14 psi (don't confuse with a low tyre pressure warning which resets upon refilling tyre and driving)

A relearn - require after installing a new TPMS sensor in a wheel. Also requires a TPMS wake up tool to activate the sensor before using a Cobb etc to start the cars process of relearning the new sensor.
Response screen shotted for my own future reference. Thank you
__________________
danielhoworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.