How to 3D print annoying parts (ac mode actuator rod clip) - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > Nissan Skyline > Skyline and Stagea "How to" and DIY guides
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Evosnipe

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10th April 2018, 06:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Evosnipe is derp
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling

How to 3D print annoying parts (ac mode actuator rod clip)

this is my first attempt at an online guide, i figured theres probably alot of people out there that are having similar issues sourcing little bits and "bobs" (my attempt at old-world english there, feel free to correct me haha).

so quick back story, ac vent actuator crapped itself, sourced a new part, but as i was removing the old actuator i noticed the AC shop had broken the actuator rod retaining clip:

so after some internet searching through the MFG parts diagrams i could not find this little piece, and to make matters worse they apparently threw the other half away so i have to do a bit of reverse engineering (and hopefully make it better in the process)

Required materials:
1. Calipers (i prefer digital type for speedy measurements)
2. 3D printer ( i use the FlashForge Finder, its cheap and easy to use for small parts not exceeding 5.5x5.5x5.5 inch dimensions, prints PLA type plastic only)
3. CAD software (for something simple like this, i use the web browser based Free to use TinkerCAD. you can even model on your smartphone, its amazing!)

STEP 1: source a picture of the original actuator clip, a quick googling yielded this: