Cobb Accessport for stage 2? - GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum

Want to buy a banner ad? Find out more here.

Go Back   GT-R Register - Nissan Skyline and GT-R Drivers Club forum > General > General Nissan R35 GT-R Chat
Register Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Insurance


Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By ACspeedtech
  • 1 Post By WingedBeast1968

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12th August 2019, 01:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Bad Robot is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 17
Cobb Accessport for stage 2?

Hi guys, sorry if this has been covered before -

I'm thinking about stage 2'ing my car mainly because I want to add intakes and believe a remap is required to cope with the increased airflow.

I have no experience with tuning boxes such as the Cobb Accessport, are they safe enough to use? I know a custom map is always going to be a better bet but I'm in Aberdeen and don't have a tuner on my doorstep so thought for a couple of minor bolt-ons a Cobb might be the easier way to go?

What are everyone's experience?

Thanks

Iain
__________________
Bad Robot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2019, 03:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Skint is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,343
There should be plenty of maps off the shelf for that level of tuning.

You could go ecutek with the bluetooth plugin for remote mapping which is the way I would prefer to go as you can send logs to your tuner and he can tweak the map for you.
__________________
Skint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2019, 10:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Bad Robot is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 17
Thanks for the reply! I didn’t know remote mapping was available for Gtr’s.
__________________
Bad Robot is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 13th August 2019, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Skint is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,343
Give Litchfields a shout.
__________________
Skint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2019, 04:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
PhilEvans64 is unaware they can edit their status
GT-RDC Member
 
PhilEvans64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 80
Mine was remote mapped on Ecutek and I believe it also updated software over the bluetooth dongle a year later. It appeared to rename and uprate power on at least one of the maps? Superb if true but I'm non-technical, so not sure.
__________________
PhilEvans64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2019, 04:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
PhilEvans64 is unaware they can edit their status
GT-RDC Member
 
PhilEvans64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 80
It increased to 700ps on a Stage 4.25, plus water-methanol injection and on Tesco 99. It can run E85 with the Linney Flex Fuel Kit, 330Lph pumps, HKS Fire plugs and Ignition Projects Coil Packs. It will be interesting to see what power increase comes from E85, unless the stock turbos are already maxed out?
__________________
PhilEvans64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2019, 12:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Bad Robot is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 17
Very interesting! So how does remote mapping work?

I am assuming you buy an Ecutek dongle and a license for the software from a tuner then what happens next?

Iain
__________________
Bad Robot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2019, 07:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
PhilEvans64 is unaware they can edit their status
GT-RDC Member
 
PhilEvans64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 80
Yes, buy the Ecutek dongle and download the software free of charge. Of course an Ecutek tuner would have installed the RaceRom and tuned the GT-R first. Subsequent updates and remapping can be done remotely. Whether on the road or on a dyno.
__________________
PhilEvans64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2019, 05:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
ACspeedtech is getting bigger and faster!
GTR Register Trader
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 490
At that level of tune a remote tune would be easily done, if anything is a little awry (i.e. poor intake design so a very non-linear maf curve) then a simple swap to SD would also cater for it.
Supplying a cable/dongle/license/map can all be done remotely no problem
Bad Robot likes this.
__________________
Please call us on: 01925 830889 (if we're busy in the workshop please send an email!)

Email us at:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Visit us at: ACspeedtech, 3C Trident Ind.Park, Birchwood, WA3 6AX.

EcuTek MASTER Tuner - COBB PROtuner - 6T9 - KW suspension - SuperPro Bushes - OZ Racing - Millers Oils - AP Racing - Arai Helmets - Corbeau Seats - Luke Harnesses
ACspeedtech custom GR6 gearbox upgrades - GR6 transmission repairs and solutions
I am a sponsor of the GTR Register!
ACspeedtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2019, 07:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
miked5 is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
miked5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 38
Can remote tunes be done using the Bluetooth dongle or do you need the cable?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
miked5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2019, 07:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
WingedBeast1968 is still here
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,730
Cable required
miked5 likes this.
__________________
WingedBeast1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2019, 07:31 AM   #12 (permalink)
ACspeedtech is getting bigger and faster!
GTR Register Trader
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 490
You need a ProEcu programming kit or a Bluetooth kit PLUS a usb dongle. The key part being the usb dongle which has the protocols to allow programming via Ecutek
__________________
Please call us on: 01925 830889 (if we're busy in the workshop please send an email!)

Email us at:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Visit us at: ACspeedtech, 3C Trident Ind.Park, Birchwood, WA3 6AX.

EcuTek MASTER Tuner - COBB PROtuner - 6T9 - KW suspension - SuperPro Bushes - OZ Racing - Millers Oils - AP Racing - Arai Helmets - Corbeau Seats - Luke Harnesses
ACspeedtech custom GR6 gearbox upgrades - GR6 transmission repairs and solutions
I am a sponsor of the GTR Register!
ACspeedtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2019, 07:36 AM   #13 (permalink)
miked5 is unaware they can edit their status
GTR.co.uk posting Member - No selling
 
miked5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 38
Cheers guys


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
miked5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2019, 10:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
WingedBeast1968 is still here
GTR.co.uk seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,730
For balance, Cobb does all of that too, and you can get AccessTuner Race for free, and tune your car yourself.
__________________
WingedBeast1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2019, 11:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
gtr mart is fast and loud
GT-RDC Member
 
gtr mart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Stratford upon Avon
Posts: 5,619
I've got the Cobb V2 unit for sale if you wanted something to do clutch learns and codes etc. I believe you can download an off the shelf map for that level of tune and put it onto your car yourself. Best offer over £50 plus post if you're interested.
__________________
2017 Japanese Drag Series (JDS) street Champion
2018 GTRDC TDOAR Sprint Champion
2019 Car Culture Dyno Day Shootout Winner

Build thread:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Items for sale:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by gtr mart; 2nd October 2019 at 12:06 AM..
gtr mart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
http://www.Tyreforums.com

tyreforums

 

Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.