GTR Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi guys, just a bit of advice , im new to the r34 gtr scene and have neither owned one nor driven one untill this one , its standard and in mint condition, i wouldnt say i had trouble exactly getting used to the getrag 6 speed box but its obviously different to my gtt, i am however finding on the odd occasion that getting it in to first and second can be a bit awkward Ie) your not 100%that it is in and when you try and pull off it clearly wasnt , this is not consistent . the car pulls beautifully like a train in all gears and once its in gear it never pops out or anything (once its in its in so to speak) so at the moment im just in the "should i be concerned stage " any advice would be appreciated .

·
Registered
1,348 Posts
I would say first thing to so is change the oil. Make sure the right type of oil is used. The Getrag gearbox uses ATF fluid type llD or lll. Do not use conventional gear oil.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I would say first thing to so is change the oil. Make sure the right type of oil is used. The Getrag gearbox uses ATF fluid type llD or lll. Do not use conventional gear oil.
Ok thanks, would you say from my description it could be a disaster or would there be more signs if is was something to fret about ?

·
Registered
451 Posts
Castrol Transmax Z is one of the handful of oils that most owners are using. I've yet to change mine for it...
That's right.

You can also use confidentely the Royal Purple Synchromax. It's approved Toyota V160 which is what the Getrag Toyota wants ... and the Toyota gearbox is the same as the BNR34.
And from my understanding the Mobil Multi ATF is probably the direct replacement for the original oil recommanded by Nissan (Mobil Multi-Vehicle ATF)

·
Registered
9,736 Posts
If you have changed the oil then the likely cause would be a syncro. Be prepared to get it rebuilt. May as well do the whole lot while your at it.

·