GTR Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,724 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I used my R33 heavily over the weekend and found that the car suffered really ( and I mean reeally ) bad brake fade.. to the point I had to upset a few driver on the roundabout by finding a gap and hoping they would stop because i couldn't, very Frightening . It has happened before but not to this degree... can any one suggest a brake upgrade that wont break ( scuse the pun) the bank... I have not yet tracked the car but if i get this sorted I will do next year so I have to take that into concideration.. but budget is a priority at the moment..

TA!

Paul J

·
Registered
2,881 Posts
Fade

I'm no expert on this, but R U sure it's only the pads? The front pads on mine were very worn, and the braking was poor, but not lethal. Anyway, Abbey just put Ferodo road pads on mine and the next time I braked I had to prise my head from the windscreen.

Depends on where you are, but give Abbey a call.

·
Registered
2,061 Posts
Brakes

If you haven't already done so upgrade the pads to Ferodo DS2500 all round. This helps a lot.

After that it's bigger brakes I'm afraid and they aren't cheap, but worth it.

Some cooling ducts to the rotors properly made would help, but I've not seen a decent set made yet.

Guy

·
Registered
1,724 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Pads

I think I have those Pads already.... I know about hot... the wheels on the car were hot enough to cook on :smokin: :eek:

and the discs were glowing with the heat .. and it all smelt burnt... the passengers were not happy either...:D

·
Registered
1,670 Posts
If they're getting as hot as you make out and fading then could be the fluid boiling.

Sorry, that was meant as a question:)

·
Registered
404 Posts
Paul.

Looks as though your boiling the brake fluid try Castrol SRF brake fluid, the Ferodo DS 2500 have been the best suited pads for the standard rotors I’ve used so far.

I’ve been looking into replacing my rotors with these: