GTR Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone recommend an alarm that sends you a text if your car is being broken into/stolen? I've got no experience so don't really know if they're any good.

Anyone got any experiences?

Alternatively (and this might sound stupid) can you set a camera fitted into the cabin that you'd be able to monitor via internet for example?

·
Registered
1,874 Posts
I've got the Toad text alert mobule with tracker.

I think it can be connected to most alarms as long as the alarm has a armed low output connection (negative)

Works a treat, sends you 3 types of text depending on how the alarms been triggered.

·
Registered
59 Posts
its a class wee doo-dad...
although i posted that link without reading the first post properly. this is a standalond gadget, i dont think it works with the alarm.
ive had one for about a year now and had no issues with it plus you can take it out of the car and it can run on batteries,
its very useful if you have a phone that can access google maps.
i used it on holidays last year snowboarding with my little bro, told him to keep it in his pocket and i could check where he was on the mountain anytime i wanted...

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
they on ebay for £68
UK Realtime GPS/GSM/GPRS Tracker Device Tracking System on eBay (end time 05-Dec-09 19:22:57 GMT)
i got one there really good acurate to about 15 ft
This sounds perfect. Thanks for the links guys!

Just a few questions:

If it runs off the cigarette lighter I'm guessing I can wire into a power source perminently so I can hide it and won't have to remove it again?

Have you have any issues with it?

It says that you can set it up with google maps so that you get a constant signal telling you where the car is at all times. Is that hard to set up?

Thanks again for this guys. Genuinely very pleased and will definitely be buying one! :thumbsup:

·
Registered
3,585 Posts