GTR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello to all,

I'm a newbie to this forum. I'm considering a tuned R32 Skyline GTR as my next performance car.

I currently drive a Westfield SeIW with just over 300 bhp per tonne. I'm looking to advance upon that to a car of 400+ per tonne.

I did think about a tuned Impreza or Lancer but I figure the Skyline GTR's are better suited to taking greater power both by engine and chassis? Can anyone compare or comment.

I don't know much about Skyline GTR's, I've had look around this site info seems good. I'd like to know if the GTR's have any inherent faults or engineering problems which repeatedly present themselves?

I'm looking to use the car around 3K miles per year, no track usage. I have a fair amount of mechanical sympathy, and don't intend on driving the car ten tenths everywhere. But I'm worried that a 600-700 bhp GTR will require engine rebuilds or refreshes more frequently than I can financially cope with. Is this the case?

ALL info appreciated, many thanks.:D

·
Registered
5,726 Posts
Just a few initial thoughts off the top off my head for you, Im sure others will join in.
Standard brakes on an R32 GTR arent the best, (although some seem to get on fine with them). GTR oil pumps seem to be a weak point on the car when you start tuning. Most will go for an uprated one. The rear wheel steering, (HICAS) seems to be a "marmite" love it or hate it thing, allot of people take it off their cars and lock out the rear end with a lock out bar, sort of an upgrade, downgrade if you know what I mean. There have been occasions where the HICAS has done unpredicatable things due to its age.
R32 GTR lights arent great to be honest, but HID kits can be had for very little cost wise.
They are fantastic cars, very addictive once you start tuning them, you wont be sorry, Ive had both Impreza's and Evo's and much prefer the R32 GTR in every way!!!
;)
bob

·
Registered
12 Posts