GTR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

It's only three weeks old and now it has got a mark on it. :bawling:

These images show the damage caused by a bird strike at about 50mph. It happened at the weekend during a short drive up to the Gaydon motor centre. We were driving along an A-road when a hawk of some kind swooped down in front of us. R.I.P.

We heard the thump but didn't feel anything. As you can see, the headlight washer has gone and the paint has hairline cracks in it. The bodyshop tells me that the bumper has deformed and then sprung back causing the paint to crack.

I have been told that this requires a new bumper because the paint damage will recur if the bumper is simply repainted.

I was susprised and had originally thought that it would be a much smaller repair. I've not had damage like this before, so I've got no experience in these matters. Now it looks like a 4-figure repair bill and the insurance company is now involved. They have authorised the repair but I'm waiting to hear when it can be done.

·
Registered
570 Posts
Ah, man that sucks. I feel for you.

I hit a bird also, though mine was a little one that got its head wedged in the raditor grille above the reg plate. Poor little thing was still warm when I got to my destination and someone pointed it out to me.

·
Registered
3,498 Posts
Bad luck mate as least your bonnet dampers didn't go off :)

·
Registered
2,710 Posts
Ah, man that sucks. I feel for you.

I hit a bird also, though mine was a little one that got its head wedged in the raditor grille above the reg plate. Poor little thing was still warm when I got to my destination and someone pointed it out to me.
pmsl :thumbsup:

·
Registered
2,710 Posts
NEWS FLASH

Owners of the new GTR are warned that there headlight washers are in danger of theft from speeding hawks.

Gutted for you mate.

Robbie

·
Registered
1,150 Posts