GTR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
1,643 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How long do the OEM batteries that the car come for usually last for, mileage or age. It was dead today, got it started drove for about an hour, went to start and still dead. I changed the battery which was an interesting task and praying to god it's not the alternator!

·
Premium Member
1,550 Posts
Surely if it was the alternator then the car would die while driving?

·
Registered
1,643 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I don't know I am not a mechanic, or even slightly mechanical minded, hence I'm on the forum.

I'm just an idiot with a fast car.

·
Registered
115 Posts
£650 is the cheapest price I can find for an oem alternator, which if I remember you payed over £100 for a gtr badge and I got one for £45. I don't pay gtr tax

·
Registered
1,643 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Right anyway, I didn't ask how much an alternator cost, I wanted to know what general life people have got from the original battery for those that have changed batteries.

·
Registered
3,298 Posts
Mine died after about 2 years. But I don't drive everyday and it often sits for long periods, particularly in the winter which isn't good for the battery. Also the battery is the same as from a micro and tiny!

Got an optima yellow top and ctek charger now so all good.

·
Registered
1,643 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks *****, I got the most expensive battery I could get at Halfords at the time which the have. Upon installation the turnover on the start was incredibly fast :)

·
Registered
3,298 Posts
Dean it should definitely be your signature if you sign up to the Gtroc :)

·
Premium Member
5,888 Posts
How long do the OEM batteries that the car come for usually last for, mileage or age. It was dead today, got it started drove for about an hour, went to start and still dead. I changed the battery which was an interesting task and praying to god it's not the alternator!
I got one of these..