GTR Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,968 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to RB26 business but I did a lot of cam testing on my turbo charged Honda B18C6, with the final conclusion that on this engine the best results can be achieved with a long duration in and shorter duration ex cam. We achieved a slight hp gain (compared to equal duration cams) but a big gain in torque.
Reason was with the shorter ex cams we where blowing less fresh air fuel mixture out of the exhaust and therefore got a better cylinder filling (don't know if this is the correct technical term in English).

I did some research reagrding the RB26 on camshafts durations and there I came across that some people are using longer duration cams on the ex than on the in.

What's the advantage???

Why not also use longer in and shorter ex cams???

Anyone ever tested different lift on in and ex cams???

please comment...

·
Registered
3,171 Posts
Turbine back pressure is one of the main deciding factors on exhaust cam duration, plus whether fuel economy and emissions have any importance to you.

·
Registered
1,968 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Turbine back pressure is one of the main deciding factors on exhaust cam duration, plus whether fuel economy and emissions have any importance to you.
So longer ex means better economy and emissions???

Found out yesterday that Mine's Stage II Engine also uses a longer in with more lift and a shorter ex with less lift (260°/10,2 IN 252°/9,5 EX), so basically such a setup should also be a good idea in a RB26.

Anyone any other experiences with different setups???

·
Registered
720 Posts
So longer ex means better economy and emissions???

Found out yesterday that Mine's Stage II Engine also uses a longer in with more lift and a shorter ex with less lift (260°/10,2 IN 252°/9,5 EX), so basically such a setup should also be a good idea in a RB26.

Anyone any other experiences with different setups???