GTR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've picked up my friends fresh import R32 GTR - I'm in Southampton he's in Coventry. I need to drive it up to Coventry at some point in the next few weeks and obviously its not registered so would be illegal to drive there, and as I dont have trade insurance I dont know how about getting insurance for 1 day so I'm thinking of just risking it and doing the drive without insurance as its only 2ish hrs worth it driving.

I've never done it before so I dont know what the risk of getting pulled over is, and if I did get pulled over what would happen? so I'm asking if its actually worth the risk or just find another means of getting the car there?

Thanks

·
Registered
341 Posts
I would imagine its not worth the risk, the thoughts of explaining to your mate how his car was impounded, not good!!
Surely the costs of transporting it wouldn't be any more than £200? Well worth it IMO

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
lol yea we've chatted about it and hes fine with me driving it up uninsured, hes done it before with quite a few fresh imports and has never been pulled over so he thinks I should be alright, especially if I drove late at night like 1am. What would be worst case scenario you think? a fine and some points in my licence?

·
Registered
451 Posts
. What would be worst case scenario you think? a fine and some points in my licence?
1 year ban probably then wont get insured when you try too. car prob be crushed and if you crash and hurt anybody prison. Dont be stupid and risk anybody lives doing something like that and get it transported or pay someone with traders to drive it to your home cant belive your even thinking of doing such a stupid thing :flame:

·
Registered
251 Posts
Im sure they would impound it for a bit till they got all the info on who owns it, and suspended your licence for 90 days, maybe more.

·
Premium Member
4,447 Posts