GTR Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Afternoon gents I'm Joe and I'm in process of building a Datsun 240z and placing an RB25DET NEO in there. I'm not experienced with the RBs and there is a huge amount of conflicting information on various forums which I'm trying to get to the bottom of. I'm after advice on the following:

I'm unsure which ecu to choose from and I've never dealt with a standalone ecu before. I think I've narrowed it down to a Link g4 xtreme or Haltech Elite 2500 after countless hours trawling the Internet and YouTube. I'm leaning towards the haltech as there seems to be a lot more support and information online. The ecu needs to be able fully control the engine, run DBW, able to do flex fuel, launch control and potentially traction control. Would I have any issues with getting either of these mapped in the UK? Preferable North Yorkshire.

The engine I bought has little to no history so I'm want to freshen it up and paint it. How far do I go? Just check compression, new oil pump, water pump and change all gaskets and timing belts? Or should I be going the whole hog and putting in new piston rings, headgasket and bearings? Clearly this will involve a hone and skim the head and block.

The car only weights 1100kg roughly fully built so I don't really plan on having the engine produce more than 300-350hp which should be plenty. I'm looking to have a nice fast spooling and responsive engine.

In order to fit the engine in the car and make plumbing it in easier I'll be ditching the over the top intake manifold and going with a Plasmaman intake manifold and bosch 68mm DBW throttle body.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
197 Posts
My vote goes with a Link G4+.
Have had two now the first in my 34 gt-t (with neo engine) the second in my r.
In brief - after f***ing around with the factory exhaust the gt-t had a bunch of flat spots all through the rev range - things weren't smooth.