GTR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 101 Posts

·
Registered
621 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Afternoon everyone,

Quite frankly I would like to know as I am extremely new to everything skyline, what points I should look out for when viewing a car at the end of the week.

I am aware of rust around the front shock struts and rear arches but other than that I am unsure? (other than normal stuff like crash damage etc).

If that could include anything whilst the car is moving e.g. brakes juddering or what ever a common occurrence is then that would be great.

Also I am sorry if this has been covered before, I have been trying to do some research on it and of course I am sorry if this is in the wrong section.

Nick.

·
Super Moderator
16,093 Posts
Rust, rust and rust most importantly! How much MOT has it got and what sort of price is he looking at. I am sure people on here could advise.

Perhaps you could take a few photos when looking round it?

·
Registered
3,618 Posts
Check it makes good oil pressure both hot and cold, do a compression test too if you can

·
Registered
4,573 Posts
as above. Rust, but not just the arches or struts. Look under the car along the sills and run your hand along the inside of the rear qtr at the bottom. Plus all the normal stuff as well. Test drive it and change through all the gears 1-5 then 5-1.

·
Registered
621 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Rust, rust and rust most importantly! How much MOT has it got and what sort of price is he looking at. I am sure people on here could advise.

Perhaps you could take a few photos when looking round it?
MOT unsure of as we haven't spoke much about it as the guy is busy with work for a little while. Rust will definitely be on the cards as a main thing to look for.

·
Registered
621 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Is it modified?