GTR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
3,636 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had hoped I would never experience this - especially as I drive my car with a lot of respect, but its happened....

Earlier this evening my car went "bang". I don't mean a nice overfuelling pop or anything like that - I'm talking a full-on Uncle Buck style explosion.

All power gone, car trundles to a halt.

I try and restart car, it struggles badly. It eventually starts and dies instantly. Start it again, it dies again. Eventually it starts and manages to stay running for about 10 seconds, all the while black smoke is pouring out the back, a lot at first but then a steady puff-puff-puff of blackness out the exhaust. I switched the car off soon after this.

Any ideas on what might've happened? Couldn't see any oil, water or similar coming out of the car, and everything in the bay looked "normal" (but then Im not a mechanic)

It never rains but it pours..

·
Registered
3,636 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I forgot to mention (not sure if this is relevant) but the car was mapped recently and has been known to show 1.3 bar (1.31, etc) on the hand commander when previously - as far as I was aware - with the stock Abbey ECU I had on there the max was 1.2.

This is on steel turbos.

·
Premium Member
7,806 Posts
I will keep my fingers crossed for you but is does not sound good:( I would ask an expert, I always say that now) but a compression test should show if a piston(s) has holed. I think they usually use an endoscope to have look down the plug holes. The turbos should have been able to cope with the boost and I do remember Scott having a bad misfire and smoke out of the pipe at Kemble and all that was wrong was a loose intercooler pipe. Our cars are finely tuned so little things going wrong can make them run badly.
Who does the tuning work on your car?

·
Registered
3,636 Posts
Discussion Starter #4