GTR Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I recently had to remove the intake on my GTR to reseal the coolant bypass tube on the bottom. I'm a ceritifed nissan tech in canada so i'm not ignorant to fixing cars.... just my skyline... lol. While it was apart I thought i'd clean the butterflies, they were carboned up pretty badly. after reassembling the intake and the car it Idled at 1100-1200 when cold, then as it warms up the idle goes up to 1600 rpm. I thought it was a simple vaccuum leak. I took a smoke machine and pressurized the entire intake with smoke, no leaks anywhere. I used a consult scan tool to monitor the readings and everything seems to be fine, TPS is good, aac is ay 2 % and if i go in to manualy open it the idle does increase. the only thing i can see is that the alpha is at 80%,. Which seems far too lean. I removed the intake once again to double and triple check everything. The only thing i can fugure is that either the air regulator is faulty or I read a post where it was said the butterflies have a special sealant on them... I've checked the throttle linkage to make sure the butterflies are actually closed. i have the whole assembly laying on my work bench and to look at them they look perfect, all adjustments and the position of the butterflies inside the chambers are good. Any help or suggestions would be greatl appreciated!!!

·
Registered
1,092 Posts
Would it not just need time for the ECU to reset itself and set the idle again?

It may be letting slightly more air in now you have cleaned the butterflys when they are closed?

·
Registered
4,894 Posts
IIRC the throttle plates actually have some material on them from the factory to help them seal properly when they close. If you've been a vit vigorous when cleaning you might've removed this and the plates aren't closing properly. Like you said - already covered in a previous thread.