GTR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all just wanted your opinion on this matter.

I am currently a Nissan Master technician myself and also a semi professional race driver, I have raced agaisnt some very experianced race drivers in the past some of which are currently in F1. I have just won the Hunts kart race club for the second year on the bounce which is the most competetive and biggest grids in the uk, where we have even raced against Nissan's GTR academy driver Jann madenborough who might i ad we have always had the better of in every race. Due to financial reasons I have not been able to progress any further and was hoping that Nissan could of helped. What with working for Nissan and having a gd knowledge of how a car works and handles on/off the track and by proving my capability, I decided to contact Nissan asking for a chance to prove my ability more to them and possible the chance to become one of their proffesional race drivers. I have sent several letters/e-mails and guess what nothing. As we know motorsport is a very political and money orientated sport but by being an employee of Nissan's, I thought that they would of showed an interest and was just wondering your views on this matter.

Regards. Derek Morgan

·
Premium Member
13,356 Posts
I think you've already identified part of the cause really. Top level motorsport starts with marketability first then ability coming second. Obviously, you need some talent to succeed but it's not the first thing they look at. Look at how F1 drivers have to be PR puppets and always say the right things. Money first, sport second. Bernie was the master at creating this and CVC have taken it a step further.

That's the way I see it, anyway.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3