GTR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, newbie here.

hope everyone is well and staying safe.

Just a quick question about how good is the standard security on the 19/20 GTR? Has anyone upgraded? Or is the standard security good enough?
I live in a pretty nice part of London, In a flat with underground car park, but I do occasionally park on the roadside across my flat.

There’s not much car crime in the area, but i will be travelling to S, SE London quite a bit as my parents live there.
Not saying S isn’t safe but it’s London so you’ll never know.

I don’t have the car yet, due to covid, but I should be getting it soon.

any advice would be great.

Many thanks.

·
Premium Member
441 Posts
I wouldn't say its crap (or worse than other OEM fitments) but its always best to have a combination of security on your car, not just the standard alarm/immobiliser.

Simple stuff like locking wheel nuts, additional immobiliser, steering wheel lock, decent tracker etc all help provide extra piece of mind and slow down anyone trying to steal and then have it away without drama. Oh, and keep the keys (both sets) in those anti-theft RFID pouch thingy's.

·
Registered
55 Posts
is the standard Nissan security crap then?
Not crap. But they are expensive cars and sought after. No matter how good the security, if someone gets your keys, they can take it. Rab (takamo) can make it so even with the keys, they’re not going anywhere 😉

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I wouldn't say its crap (or worse than other OEM fitments) but its always best to have a combination of security on your car, not just the standard alarm/immobiliser.

Simple stuff like locking wheel nuts, additional immobiliser, steering wheel lock, decent tracker etc all help provide extra piece of mind and slow down anyone trying to steal and then have it away without drama. Oh, and keep the keys (both sets) in those anti-theft RFID pouch thingy's.