GTR Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So, running quite a big turbo and even with exhaust gas temperatures looking normal I'm getting a hell of a lot of heat soak. I do the tuning myself with datalogit but I'm no expert.

If I drive around on boost, the intake temperatures stay down - 35-43 being the average but stuck in traffic or just motorway driving tends to raise the air temperatures (as one would expect). What seems to happen though is that once it reaches temperatures such as 48+ the air fuel mixture is very unreliable and hard to tune even when the temperatures return to normal. Alternatively, parking up at the supermarket and then leaving the car to stand for 15 minutes results in massive surging at idle.

A bit of research shows that PFC does have quite a few heat soak problems and I've kind of solved the idle surging by changing the water temp adjustments to be quite rich when not at 80degC. This results in quite a rich condition if the heat soak hasn't occurred, i.e. start from cold. I've also tried modifying the air temp vs inj which I've played with but the values, although interpolated are not giving me very much accuracy to play with. I'm not inclined to just heuristically punch numbers in, especially when the values are 30deg and 50deg to enrichen the map.

So, is the solution to just get a better ECU or is it possible to move air intake temperature sensor or insulate it somehow?

Cheers!

Edit: In normal circumstances the tune is perfect for what I need, I've got the TPSvsINJ set up according to my style and the temps vs inj are set overly safe. No problems with the ignition timing

·
Registered
32 Posts
This is the problem of Nissan stock air temp sensor location.
I had same problems with link ECU until i put a sensor right after intercooler exit near the bov and connected it to the ECU, i left the sensor at stock location for plumbing purpose only.

·
Registered
207 Posts