GTR Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,724 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering what the sypmtoms were when the turbos let go.. Having a play tonight and the car almost like skipped and according to the person behind me the car started chucking bits out of the rear end ( could have been stones but they say not) anyway, the car boosts OK in 1st/ 2nd/ 3rd but when its hits about 5K revs in 4th &5th there seems to be no or very little acceleration , the car just seems very flat but it only feels like this in the 2 top gears.. it doesn't smoke at the moment ( Fingers crossed), The car is my daily drive and I dont want to use it if the tubbies have gone as it could make things worse...:(

:( :( :(

G

·
According to Abbey, if the turbos let go in a big way the shrapnel enters the engine and Im guessing if this happened you would know about it in no uncertain terms.

But I am no expert at all, if it was me though I'd get it looked at, and I would definately blag a lift to where these bits were alleged to be leaving your exhaust and take a look around (if you can)

Again according to Abbey the standard GTR turbos dont give much warning about impending doom either.

As I said Im no expert, just relaying a conversation I had with Abbey.

Good luck mate,

·
Registered
1,757 Posts
First thought that came

to mind was SHED...and this confrims my appreciations...

on further analysis we hope it is the knock sensor and where the car is under heavy load, it is knocking it back maybe sensing some det.

Fingers crossed for the gaylord.

NLW

·
Registered
1,193 Posts
Paul...

you may well have checked this but I had a similar prob with mine (before it died) and it was down to a split hose and a dodgy jubilee clip on another section. The split looked very minor but once removed it was knackered... just a thought.

Luke

·
Registered
1,724 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
split