GTR Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys, I'm totally new to both this forum and Japanese cars, besides I'm an Audi fanboy and been driving nothing but Audi for the last 8 years since got my licence!

Well currently have an Audi A3 V6 3.2 with 240 BHP... nothing really considerable :) but it's fine for me...

I'm currently 27 and looking to buy GT-R in my early 30s as currently can't insure this type of car as my other policies and NCD it's been used...

Anyway just want to know a little but about your experience of owning GT-R and what made you to buy one...

Also I'm not worried about MPG but curious to know what sort of MPG I'm looking about :)

Also what are the common problems, I heard from some people that GT-Rs have problem with their gearboxes that seems to fail every 10k miles... Not sure if that's true, but correct me if I'm wrong :)

I know good ones are roughly about 35k with 30k mileage but where do you recommend to buy, from private sellers or dealers with warranty!

I appreciate any help :)

·
Premium Member
8,019 Posts
Gearbox issue was Jap spec cars the year before the UK cars arrived, so early imports.
UK cars (or any from 2009 onwards) are fine.
Bellhousing is the bit that fails and gets noisy.

MPG, 18-20 sensible. I get about 4 on track.

Compared to Audi handling the GT-R will feel amazing.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Gearbox issue was Jap spec cars the year before the UK cars arrived, so early imports.
UK cars (or any from 2009 onwards) are fine.
Bellhousing is the bit that fails and gets noisy.

MPG, 18-20 sensible. I get about 4 on track.

Compared to Audi handling the GT-R will feel amazing.

Cool, yes I know an Audi is more a city driving car whereas GT-R is for racing n stuff...
I still have about year time to know loads of stuff about this beauty...