GTR Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All,

I've got a small problem with my R33. It seems to be that when cold it wil not pull away cleanly. This occurs for between 2 and 5 minutes depending on driving conditions. It then seems to disappear. However, occasionally the car feels sluggish above 5,000 rpm when warm too.

Just wondering whether the car needs an ECU reset or something similar. It's been serviced at Middlehursts, and last time they could not detect a fault! ;) There is definitely something amiss, but I'm not sure what.

Is it sensible to reset the ECU? How do I best go about it? If this causes no change, I suppose that new plugs and leads would be advisable.

The car is using little or no oil, and head gasket seems fine as there is no contamination that I can see.

Any advice would be gratefully received.
Cheers

Matt

·
Registered
1,885 Posts
Hi Matt,

I'm no expert but it sounds like a plug issue, how far along the tuning road are you and do you have std plugs ?

I remember someone else talking about a fault similar to this, but cannot recall the thread title, perhaps someone else will remember.

I think it was something to do with the way the ECU interpretted something when the engine was cold..... Dirty air flow meters ?

checking the AFM's is a quick job, just to see if they are covered in sh1t.
plugs are equally quick once you have them.....

Phil has posted how to reset the ECU if you wish to go down that route.

HTH

Steve

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Cheers Steve,

The car is totally standard. I'll have a look over the weekend, and see if there is a dodgy plug or something along those lines. Being naive, where is the AFM? I guess that'll be easy to diagnose once I've found it. ;)

Which plugs would you guys recommend? I imagine that mine are just the standard ones.

Cheers
Matt

·
Registered
2,580 Posts