GTR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
223 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Shortly I will be replacing my tyres and I can see a lot of you guys switch to the Michelin Pilot super sports and just wondered why? I'm currently running the dunlops which came with the car and they seem pretty good!

I'm no tyre expert so just wanted your opinions please, and also why people suggest going from the standard setup to 275/305!

Thanks,

Jon :thumbsup:

·
Premium Member
7,641 Posts
I had 1 set of dunlops that came with my car back in 2009 then switched to bridgies. Ran those on road and track until I put on the MPSS this time last year.

Overall the RFs provide superior feeling and steering as the MPSS feel bouncy and a bit vague. However the wet road handling is night and day difference. For me given the small propensity for a little rain here in the UK I'd struggle to go back to the RFs now.

Btw I run 285 square.

·
Premium Member
2,145 Posts
My car had bridge stones on it at first and they were ok, but not great in the wet. I always had the car in comfort mode.

With the MPSS the ride quality is very much improved, you do need to tweet the tyre pressures at first. And the performance in the wet is a huge improvement

·
Registered
2,374 Posts
Much of the reason most owners change to MPSS is simply down to price, IMO.

I've tried all 3 common options, Dunlop, Bridgestone and MPSS, and prefer the Bridgestones. Most people though say the MPSS are far better in the wet, but I can only speak as I find, and that wasn't the case for me.

People use over sized MPSS to compensate for the lack of sidewall rigidity that the RF's have i.e. standard size MPSS are prone to understeer.

·
Registered
521 Posts