GTR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
1,069 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
yes must admit a pain getting in and out but thought white with it being a black car stands out more cheers

·
Registered
1,613 Posts
nice, very similar to my cage, not sure about the door bars though....I must be getting old but getting in and out of mine is a chore..

·
Registered
1,144 Posts
i assume you are doing some club-level circuit work? I guess that style of cage is ok... mostly cheap and easy to install/remove, but as a roll-cage builder, I really dislike that type of cage. They break almost all of the fundamental rules of cage design - and personally I wouldn't trust my safety to one. it's like the old saying $10 helmet for a $10 head. Sorry, don't mean to rain on your parade!!

Your 32 is very nice btw!

·
Registered
1,613 Posts
i assume you are doing some club-level circuit work? I guess that style of cage is ok... mostly cheap and easy to install/remove, but as a roll-cage builder, I really dislike that type of cage. They break almost all of the fundamental rules of cage design - and personally I wouldn't trust my safety to one. it's like the old saying $10 helmet for a $10 head. Sorry, don't mean to rain on your parade!!

fair enough, but if my car rolls in the future...I think I'll be happier with it...
Not sure if it's just the photos but the cage itself looks quite far from the dash..mine really hugs it..

·
Registered
3,585 Posts

whats so bad about the design of theses cages? is it due to the fact they dont go through the dashboard or some other reason?

·
Registered
1,329 Posts
i assume its because its a bolt up type cage and therefore flex isnt really compensated for, although it looks ok, and is safer than no cage, it wont hold flex and has weaker breaking points. as i understand it!
i do hope frostmotorsports replies though, i am interested in the experts point of view.
where was the cage done mate?
kev
:thumbsup:

·
Registered
1,613 Posts