GTR Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

this is my first time posting here, i've never owned a skyline in my life

i just got back from test driving one at a dealership. all i have to say is wow what a car it is.

I have actually found one for a great price and would actually buy it next week now that i know what they drive like. alas there is one problem.

This car i would buy is a 1990 Skyline GTR and has an exhaust gasket leak and is very loud because of so. I work as a bike mechanic so i'm quite mechanically inclined.

so my question for all of you guys is how hard would it be to replace an exhaust gasket? and what would all be required to get to said gasket to replace.

also his front valence was broken ( someone backed into the car) are those hard to find and replace?

Anything would be helpful.

Thanks,
-B

·
Registered
1,311 Posts
Well on the exhaust gasket side that will be very easy to sort as long as its not a gasket at the manifold as they look like a right pig i have been told its turbos off job as i really need to get mine done.

With regard to the front valance you will pick one of those up very easy there a few people breaking cars at the min or you could pick up a new one of the traders on here im sure.

Good luck they are awesome cars and you will never look back

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hmm, well I'm going to check out the car tomorrow and car trailer it back. So heres hoping its not the manifold gasket :nervous:

Turbos out hey? Would I have to drop the engine to do that? or is it pull the engine? I am going to have to pick up a service manual asap.

Thanks for the info.

·
Registered
889 Posts
turbos can be taken off with the engine in situ,
its a bit off a pain to do, take pics as you go along to remeber were things go back,
i remove the rear tubby first, then the front one you can do it in a weekend if you havent done it before.
use the search on here it has been coverd.

·