GTR Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,066 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well finally done it, booked today for a few of us to go to spa Tuesday 9th sept and we are going to nur on the Sunday for a few laps.

Any tips as I'm a newbie to this lark. Need to check my insurance and get breakdown cover, need to buy a go pro with a good mounting for some footage.

Any other advice?

·
Super Moderator
31,250 Posts
It's not all about the laps at The Ring. Take time to spectate from as many places as possible as well. It's a huge waste to spend the whole time in the car park.

·
Premium Member
2,925 Posts
As has been said, take the Ring slowly for the first few laps and don't go for a time - just enjoy the atmosphere and understand the demands that this circuit places on a driver as well as the car.

As far as Spa is concerned, this is all about carrying speed when you knowledge of the circuit is clear. Eau Rouge cannot be taken flat in a GT-R whatever people tell you.

·
Premium Member
372 Posts
As far as Spa is concerned, this is all about carrying speed when you knowledge of the circuit is clear. Eau Rouge cannot be taken flat in a GT-R whatever people tell you.
Dead right...you gain so much speed downhill towards eau rouge that it would take balls of steel to even try it....it would end up a massive fail as well.

·
Premium Member
3,066 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I'm new to spa and nur and still got alot to learn on track period.

Spoken with ants and won't do many laps at all at nur but will take some slow and then just enjoy spectating

·
Registered
777 Posts
This might sound like a stupid question but, have you checked the Touristenfahrten dates and times for when you want to go? Assuming you're not going on a closed circuit track day.... They aren't as obviously available as some people think nowadays.

Have a great trip.

Edit; sorry, I've just noticed you said Nordschleife on the Sunday, normally open all day. Until it gets closed!

·