GTR Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I changed my bnr32's oils into Motul 300V 20w-60 and oil pressures raised quite a bit. Now when cold start the engine oil pressure is around 7bars. It also pushes 7bars when driving at full throttle. I think this is too much and it also shows when oil filter can't take this amount of pressure. I have nissans original oil filter and it works well when drivin nice or little bit faster but when driving hard there is a nice oil spray.
Idle pressure is about 2.2bar and normal drivin ~3.8bar.
I have new bearings inside the motor (if someone is interested)
Is this 20w-60 oil way too thick or what is happening in my motor?

·
Registered
613 Posts
im no expert but i wud say oil is abit on the thick side
also have u changed oil pressure sensor? just changed mine see thread in general

·
Registered
1,995 Posts
NikWilson said:
I use Castrol RS oil which is 0W40 in my GTR, so I suspect your oil is way too thick

Nik
I was advised that 0W40 would burn off to quick, by mechanic at local garage, so then asked Oilman from here, he agreed, keep your eye on the dipstick.

·
Registered
936 Posts
leggus said:
I was advised that 0W40 would burn off to quick, by mechanic at local garage, so then asked Oilman from here, he agreed, keep your eye on the dipstick.

Thanks for that. But 2 light track days and no oil loss at all. I do keep an eye on the oil level very carefully - just in case!

0W40 is very light, I did use last year Mobil 5W40 but have found the Castol RS oil to be fine. I think Castol RS oil has now been discontinued and has been replaced.

Nik

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I just changed my oils to Motul 8100 5w-40 and oil pressures dropped into something around 4bars when floored. But now it looks like it drops into 2 bars at high rpm.
Is this normal?