GTR Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
241 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
I am thinking of having the front factory splitter on my r32 gtr repainted in the factory grey but cannot find out what paint colour code it should be. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
241 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Oh great, its painted silver does that mean it will have to remain silver or can it be stripped without damaging it, would really like it to look factory

thanks for the reply

·
Registered
189 Posts
I think you would be better off with a new one or finding a good one second hand. I don't think they are cheap new but are available afaik.

·
Registered
189 Posts
In saying the above I'm no paint expert. It may be really easy to strip with the right product. If it was me tho, getting one that's unpainted just sounds like a lot less hassle and less chance of messing up your existing painted one.

·
Premium Member
4,447 Posts
They are almost impossible to get second hand in new condition.

Last price i had for a new one was around £400 . The nissan price was quite a bit less but they are no longer made and the stock has been bought up so it is over the barrel time.

Trouble is that they break and scratch quite easily and a lot are painted because of damage as it can look perfect that way.

You can remove even quite deep scrathes but it is very time consuming starting with 40 grit and ending on 1000 or higher dependant on how anal or bored you are. Its not the same finish but you can get a plastic restorer that makes it almost perfect

The fixings break as well . To be exact the splitter fixings which are part of the splitter break because the fixing bolts are blind at one end and slide into retaining slots ithat are part of the splitter. If the nuts seize or are very tight the end of the bolt turns in the splitter and breaks or bends it. You can use nuts and bolts it is diffcult to pull the splitter in like the oem system does