GTR Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All

**newbie alert**

Just to say 'ello, and introduce the car I've been creaming myself over for the past year. I'm not a newbie to the car scene in general - aside my Xantia, I own two DeLoreans - one a show car and the other a fixer-upper. However although fun, it's still a classic and performance-wise can't hold a candle to this baby...

http://www.cix.co.uk/~mgutkowski/sisky.jpg

The owner is a really good mate of mine and he's basically waiting for me to come up with the cash to buy it. He finally let me drive it a couple of months ago and I had to have the grin surgicaly removed from my face three days later. He bought it from Nissan Motorsport Europe about 6 years ago. It was a parts car that was never used in 1986 when it was brough over from Japan in full race spec. Registered in 1988 it is one of two believed to be on the road in the UK. As far as I know (limited knowledge) it is the original inspiration for the GT-R, and is one of a run of 800 Nismo Homogolation special GTS-X's.

We have no idea what it puts out, but in race form it exceeded 500hp. It's RWD with an early HICAS system, a garrett T4 running 16psi normally, but adjustable (via variable valve in the cockpit) to 24psi+, but I believe to get the most from it you need bigger injectors which he has but doens't like running because the idle goes too lumpy. It's a 2.0 strait 6 and came from an R32 GTS-4.

Oh, 0-60 is sub 5 sec and tops out at 150 (5-speed box). Red lines at 8000 and boost comes in at 5500rpm (!). This car has the most horrendous turbo lag of anything you could ever drive, but to me it's just fun. When the boost comes in it sounds like a jet taking off.

<Martin

·
Registered
9,546 Posts
Classic car!! Still see quite a few around in Japan, and they still have all they appeal they had back in the 80's! There are many that have gone for the RB30 or RB26 conversions...maybe for the future;)