GTR Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
439 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi

Today I found out that my work visa for New Zealand has been approved.
This for me is the first step towards something I have been dreaming about for 7 years.
Owning my own R34 GTR!! :)
My wife has kindly agreed to let me use some profit we made selling our house to buy the GTR (silly perhaps but who am I to say no)

I have done a lot of research here over the last few months and found that as I answer one question another comes up.

My plan for the car is to keep it indefinatly and have it tuned (eventually) for
street and a bit of track use. As I wanted something special/collectable I decided that a Vspec II would be the best bet (yes I know I may never been a good enough driver to appreciate the difference). But then I found out about about the N1 block and the Nur engine in particular and this lead to another big decision. Should I try and stretch to a Nur? Bearing in mind they still sell for quite a lot more (30%) than a normal VSpec II.

Then I found out you can get a crate motor from the likes of Mines or Top Secret which would technically be just as good an engine as the Nur but with the benefit of being a 2,8 and surely you would not want to put a stroker kit in a Nur motor?

So what would be best,

Vspec II Nur, bearing in mind you would have to keep it fairly standard for it to be a collectors item
or a regular Vspec II with the view to getting a crate motor in the future?

I am tending to think that you cant get much more special than a Vspec II with a Mines stage 2 motor. I will also allow me to have more money in the bank now and do the mods at a later stage.

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated.

And yes I will be in NZ in time to see the HKS GTR in action :)

Thanks

Stretch

PS colour is also going to be another big decision, especially as I have ever only seen a real R34 twice.